Ratings based on 1,202 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Restful and Energizing

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: See above.
Location: On our drive there we had lunch at Bryan's Black Mountain Barbecue on Cave Creek Road which is less than 2 miles from hotel. Food was fantastic.
My husband and I were there for a conference, over just one night. The setting is lovely, both inside and out. It's an older property but I so appreciate while keeping it current, they have kept it charming. We had just a standard king standard room but it was very large with a lovely patio. As we sat there we were struck by the silence and beauty of the outdoors. We enjoyed watching a wedding reception celebrate in the Opera House. And although it was a stones throw from our room, the festivities did not interfere with our enjoyment. The bathroom was big enough, although nothing special - it was clean. We highly recommend this resort. Seems like a real value for the money. I read the Spa menu - they offered about everything one could want. However, I did not have a chance to see the Spa. It is one of those places where you feel comfortable and welcome. The food was good as well as the service. We were thrilled to be served breakfast and lunch on the patio overlooking the lovely pool. And they satisfied all our needs for the conference.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Jane, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and I loved reading about your experience at our resort. Come see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
I had a lot of billing problems. They charged my credit card for over $600 of charges I didn't make.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant , Hotel Management
Hello, I would like to help you resolve your issue. Please give me a call at the resort and I'd be happy to assist you. Thank you for your review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unauthorized charges put on our credit card

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing!!!
Cons: Stop stealing .... unauthorized charges are fraud!
Unauthorized credit card charges to our credit card. Took three calls to get an answer, no one from Carefree Resort would call back. Then I was told t was up to me to call the bank and get the funds back .... WHAT??? These people are thieves!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, I'm glad we were able to help you resolve your issue. Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Farmington MN

Nice pool area but poor service and uncomfortable

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The rooms don't look anything like in the pictures. The food was decent at the restaurant but the service was terrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Josh, We have passed on your notes to our staff. I'm sorry your stay wasn't to your liking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: the price was good and the pool and hot tub were very nice
bit of a ways to get to downtown Phoenix but if that isn't important nice shops and restaurants nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello James, Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you got to head into town for some local shopping. Hope to see you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite Oasis

Posted Apr 1, 2017
An excellent place to just relax around the pool without the noice of traffic or large crowds. Never had to rush for a spot around the pool. The botanical gardens is a fantastic feature for those that doesn't get to see dessert plants on a regular basis. The restaurant had great tasting food and lots of choices. The supper menu was quite expensive but learned quickly to ask for the lunch menu at supper time. The restaurant staff struggled if there were more than 5 tables occupied. Would go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the pool, and our botanical gardens. I'm happy to hear your were able to eat at our on site restaurant. We look forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Nice resort with a great views.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms and the great views!
Cons: Laundry facilities added would be wonderful.
Location: Many things to do in the Carefree and Cave Creek area. Scottsdale nearby is a bonus as well!
Everything during our 5 night stay went well! Check-in was extremely efficient. We requested a small refrigerator and it was brought promptly to our room----great service! The on-site restaurant was very accommodating and delicious. Swimming pools, tennis courts, a spa~~~~everything you could want is on site. My family of four plan to return in the future!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Suzy, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you got to eat from our on site restaurant. We look forward to your next stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Desert oasis!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Loved the room, comfort, decor , views and beauty of the resort!
Cons: Only once did the maid service not change the bed and towels when we wanted.
Location: Location is great.. Beautiful, quiet desert location. Many quaint shops and gallerys to explore in little Carefree.AZ with a short drive to Scottsdale
Stayed 10 nights in the Senoran suite and it was wonderful! A real hidden gem about 10 miles out of Scottsdale. I had neck surgery so room amenities and comfort was a must.. Staff, free shuttle, room and resort was great! We had a family emergency and had to leave 2 days early and they were great about it... sad to leave. We will defiantly be back for a real vacation!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Laura, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - from the location, to the staff - and I'm also glad you got to use our complimentary shuttle service. We look forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Had a very nice stay, nothing that really put it over the top. Decent food, nice pool area, friendly staff. Would stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bonsall, California

Difficult to find in the dark

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Old fashioned architecture
Cons: Staff
Location: Golf
Staff was very slow and not that helpful with bags. Just watched us trying to lift bags up a step. Food was good in restaurant but service was very slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Barrie, I apologize for the inconvenience. We will make sure this doesn't happen again in the future. We appreciate your feedback.