Ratings based on 575 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the freeway

Posted Apr 27, 2017
It was a good stay even tho I did see a little of the wrong crowed hanging out in the lot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Terrible experience at the mesa location, I would not recommend it , front office was rude. Couldn't add the extra person. On top of that she kept my Driver license and when I called the police she lied she didn't have it. Overall my 1st worst experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take these matters very seriously and will take the necessary actions to ensure this is properly addressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, CA

Spring Training Stay

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Provide a coffee pot inside room. Let your guest know there's no daily maid service.
Location: Location for us was perfect. 10 minute drive to Tempe Diablo Stadium. A few minutes to Albertsons, Walgreens, Dollar Tree, Longhorn Restaurant
It was a nice stay, except they don't have daily maid service. Only if you're stay is 7plus days. I wasn't told that at check-in, but they did provide clean linen when we asked on the 2nd day. Plus, even though the room has a kitchen, no utensils or cookware is provided, not even a coffee pot. Overall, it was a nice place. I'll know next time what to expect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Mesa - West for your visit and for sharing your comments. We are glad that you liked our convenient location which was perfect for your needs. However, we sincerely apologize our housekeeping services were not shared with you at check-in and that you were disappointment with the in-suite amenities. To ensure cleanliness of kitchenware upon check-in, brand standards require us to make these items available at the front desk rather than leaving them in the suites. It was our pleasure serving you, and we look forward to serving you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean,Easy access to everything in town

Posted Mar 28, 2017
I like how accommodating the hotel staff is. The facilities and the room are clean and well decorated
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your delightful review of Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Mesa - West. We are glad our location was perfect for your needs and your positive comments about our staff and facilities are greatly appreciated. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you are already planning another trip our way. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

M

Posted Mar 26, 2017
It made sense to not have the room cleaned daily and save money, but it was a little strange to have to carry our wet & dirty towels to the office, ourselves, to exchange them for clean ones. It was very nice to have the kitchenette with stovetop, larger fridge, dishes, pans, etc. The "continental breakfast" was a joke. All they had was a small cabinet full of granola bars, prepackaged mini muffins, and oatmeal packets (along with hot water and coffee). The staff was very nice. There were fruit flies or gnats in the room- maybe because the door didn't have a great weather seal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Posted Mar 26, 2017
It would've been perfect if the receptionist wasn't rude. When we checked in & checked out, you couldn't find one smile on her face. She just wasn't nice & that bothered me a little bit because she just acted like she didn't want to be there. Anyways, everything else was great. The room was better than I expected. It is very comfortable & I love how there's separate buildings for the rooms. The free breakfast they tell you about really is just muffins, granola bars, oatmeal, & very few coffee options, but it was fine since I don't really eat breakfast. I would definitely come here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
The team and I appreciate your remarks. First, thank you for letting us know that one of our staff members was not friendly. The proper customer service will be addressed with our staff. However, we are pleased that your room accommodations and your overall experience at our hotel was to your liking. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
No pool . They dont cleen your rooms everyday. No fresh towels everyday
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Convenient location

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Due to flight being delayed, we arrived much later than expected to check in and the clerk told us there were no rooms available. We had a guaranteed late arrival and ended up with a very lengthy and aggravating experience. Once the clerk called the general manager she was advised to actually go and visually inspect whether or not 2 rooms were available for us and they were. Also if I had been aware that this property was not covered, I would not have booked here. Every room had to be entered from the outside. Their Continental Breakfast is a joke - frequently out of coffee, only provide granola bars and packaged muffins.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Convenient location

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Our check in experience was very aggravating and much longer than necessary. Our flight was delayed which caused us to arrive at the hotel much later than scheduled. We had guaranteed late arrival with our reservation but was still told there were no rooms available. After calling the general manager and being advised to visually go inspect whether 2 rooms were available, the clerk finally got my party of 4 into the 2 rooms I had reserved. Also if I had know that this property wasn't enclosed, I would have NEVER booked here. You have to enter each room from the outside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night before an early flight iut

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Our room was clean. We did not have a cup or glass to use. There was not a hair dryer and a bulb was missing from one of the bedside lamps.