Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pacific Grove, CA

Motel 1!

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: burn the place and start over!!!
This place was an absolute dump. Dirty, terrible service, the "full kitchen" turned out to be just the shell of a kitchen and if you needed anything (a fork, spoon, coffee pot, a plate, or anything else you had to go to the office to get it. The bathroom was filthy, the breakfast was a Costco muffin or a nut bar! I guess it could have been worse but I can't imaging how.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that your stay didn't have the felling of a home away from home. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will continue to push our efforts to make sure your experience is not repeated. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no room service

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: the price and location
Cons: true pic in advertising
no lobby, no daily room service. what they advertise, not real
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review recently caught our attention. Please accept our apologies that our lack of some amenities did not meet your expectations. We will work on better communicating what we offer at our property, which is different from others. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

the rooms are very dirty

Posted Nov 22, 2016
very dissapointment, the rooms are poorly cleaned, "the breakfast "is poor,
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that the room was not satisfactory to your needs when staying with us. To prevent this from happening again, our team is taking the comments you have left for us and we are going to strive for a home away from home feel for all the other guests. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good place to stay

Posted Nov 15, 2016
First off, the staff is not very friendly. One employee tells you something and other employee tells you something else. Here they are not trying to do anything for you at all. So called grab n go breakfast and coffee was a joke. Never had any coffee, creamer, they would say Oh, I have to make some coffee and that wouldn't happen. Not willing to help u print out boarding passes, but yet other employee said yes! But no one helped you. Your lucky to get one washcloth, bedding is horrible, BRING A REAL PILLOW or your screwed. Rooms are grimey, you can tell they do not like their job and don't want to be their. Rooms smell, overall trashy, dirty, grimey, not friendly, bad experience, I would not recommend this place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that you didn't feel this was your home away from home and that you would not like to stay with us in the future. To prevent this from happening again, our team has read over these comments you have left and are going to be making a better effort. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location was great, close to restaurants and the mall, well iluminated, quiet, staff was helpful, office hrs till 10pm so if you have a late check up contacted ahead of time. Room was clean, no daily house keping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to see our location was suitable and our staff suitable during your stay. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nothing to brag about

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Nice full kitchen, a couple of lights didn't work.
Cons: Night desk clerk was new, didn't know how to locate my reservation. Took forever and I was tired at 3am
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. First, allow me to apologize for the long check in. We will make sure our staff is better trained. Overall, I am glad you favored the fully equipped kitchen in your room and that you had a peasant stay. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location not clean

Posted Oct 31, 2016
The bathroom sink was filthy as of someone had just shaved there face and didn't clean up afterwards. Also it did not drain well at all and would fill up when you would wash your hands are brush your teeth. The bathroom door had brown spots on it as if someone had shaken up a soda and it exploded. The floor was sticky and so are the counter tops. BAC was loud and very noisy hard to sleep through the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you sharing your review. I am concerned about the multiple cleaning issues you mentioned. Our housekeeping staff have been addressed on these issues and will be making sure to double check all rooms for cleanliness. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nothing in room- no cups, dishes, hairdryer.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Must go to lobby to get anything, lobby opened after my breakfast meeting. Not a great set up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review recently caught my attention. I am disappointed at reading how our policies were an inconvenience for you during your stay. While your review is being sent to corporate, we will do a better job of making sure guests are fully aware of our amenities and policies. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wouldn't recommend

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The rooms are old and outdated. Air conditioning leaked non stop. Stains all over the blankets. Room smelled bad. Staff was friendly, location was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the AC issues and the odor in the room. I will work closely with our staff to fix these issues and come up with better preventive measure to make sure guests are having a pleasant stay at our hotel. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Wedding in Arizona

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Supposed to be smoke free, had to sign ridiculous paper about not smoking and every time I left room or returned, there were people smoking right outside their rooms. AC units pulled smoke odor into rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please know that we are sincerely sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. To prevent this from happening again, our team will be more proactive in making sure guests are off the property if they want to smoke. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.