Ratings based on 1,768 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fourth of July

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Family getaway poolside relaxation. Fourth of July celebration
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel, Great location

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Location, Great swimming pool
Very clean and nice rooms. Nice pool and friendly staff. This is a huge hotel. We loved staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Erica Tiffany, Hotel Management
Thank you for the lovely review! We appreciate your feedback and hope you visit again soon. Erica Tiffany Digital Communications Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Lots of activities going on.my kids had a ton of fun
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Erica Tiffany, Hotel Management
Dear Tony Montana, Thank you for your splendid review. We are so pleased to hear your children enjoyed all of the amazing activities we offer guests during Summer Beach Party at the Princess. We look forward to the next time we will be able to serve you at the Princess.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what you would expect of a 5 star resort.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Very little.
Cons: Customer service.
Location: Kind of isolated. We did rent a car and drove up to Sedona. That was a great experience and beautiful drive.
Generally when we visit Scottsdale we stay at the Phoenician but thought we would try Fairmont Princess to get a comparison. What we learned is there is a stark difference between a real 5 star resort and one claiming to be. Probably the two best things Fairmont has going for it was the Wellness Spa and La Hacienda. But it ends there. The customer service, especially at the pools was terrible. Our first full day onsite was Friday, May 28th. We rented a cabana which, was not inexpensive. Normally when you rent one they have a sign out with your name on it and everything set up so that you can relax and enjoy it. This was not the case. In fact they did not even know which one was ours. It took them some time to look it up and figure it out. No towels, you had to go get your own. But the worst part of it was we went to order a drink from the staff that comes around to take your order and the two staff members tell us sorry, we don't start taking orders until 11am, you will have to go up to the bar. The time was 10:50am. To me when you have someone renting a cabana and spending a fair amount of money to stay at your so called 5 star resort you provide customer service. Next day they tell us we could not enter the main pool area bc we did not have our wrist bands that we forgot in our room. Really? They offered us a $50 dollar credit toward our mini bar to make up for the poor customer service. We accepted that only to find out they never applied the credit. Terrible service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great facilities, tired building

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: The room set up was great - the bathroom was near the entrance but the bed was down a corridor and this allowed space and privacy.
Cons: Cleanliness of the facility and pool
Location: Relatively easy access (10-20 minutes) from most of the main walking trails in the area. Close to very nice malls, grocery shops, old downtown
Told to wait for room at checkin and that staff would call once the room was ready. We waited 3 hours and no one called. When we went back to the desk to find out what had happened, we were told the room was ready, but no one had called. The first room we were given smelled strongly of some sort of air freshener. When we opened the balcony door, cigarette smoke from the neighbouring balcony streamed in. The Hotel staff told us that smoking is allowed outside anywhere on the property and that they could stop the neighbour from smoking. They moved quickly to find us another room and although there were no guarantees, we were lucky that no neighbour smoked. The room was very comfortable and much better situated than the first, and overall we were very pleased with the Hotel, its staff and the facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2016 by Erica Tiffany - Digital Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anthony, Although we are disappointed to hear your stay did not begin with the smoothest of starts, we are pleased to hear you were happy with our AAA Five Diamond facilities, helpful colleagues and hotel overall. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tupelo

An oasis in the desert

Posted May 10, 2016
Location: And if you want to venture off the hotel grounds, they will provide a shuttle or locate other transportation for you.
I've stayed here two times, ten years apart. The Fairmont Princess continues to improve. The staff is great, facilities are great, and the food is wonderful. They think of everything. They are opening a "beachside " pool later this month.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2016 by Erica Tiffany - Digital Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sipsey, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us in your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for a beachside vacation?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2016
Luxurious comfort, excellent service and attention to detail, beautiful setting and clean and comfortable rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2016 by Erica Tiffany - Digital Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our desert oasis. We hope to welcome you back to sunny Scottsdale very soon!
5 out of 5
by Elaine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

North Scottsdale visit

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
This is a stunningly beautiful resort, that has a wonderful pool area with fire pits and an open bar that stays open after dark. The night lighting, is stunning. People often come to play and hence make some noise. If you want to get to a quite room, then you are going to have to stay in a part of the resort where you will walk for some distance. The Bell Hop service is outstanding and there is always a bellman nearby it seems. The rooms are large and comfortable with a nice balcony. However, It was a long walk to get to the onsite Starbucks for coffee. I rate their breakfast buffet as disappointing and ordering off the menu didn't give a better result. There was lots of help standing around and seemed to be doing very little. I didn't try their other restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los gatos

awesome time

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Great what to wrap up our adventure to the Grand Canyon and Painted Desert.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2016 by Erica Tiffany - Digital Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Dear jl, Thank you for sharing your lovely photos with us. It looks like you had a great time on our water slides at Sonoran Splash pool! We hope you enjoyed the Grand Canyon just as much, and look forward to welcoming you back to our desert oasis very soon.