Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, uncomfortable bed

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: location, staff, pool area
Cons: upgrade beds
We have stayed at this HIE several times in the past and not had a problem. On this particular trip, my wife and I both woke up w/ back pain. The mattress was too soft so it might be time to update. If this is not an issue for you, then this is a great hotel to stay at while in Scottsdale. You can walk to Old Town or Scottsdale Stadium and Fashion Center is an easy 10 minute drive. Breakfast was decent, thought we would have like to see cooked oatmeal instead of instant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Az

Very nice. Convenient to eating places/hospital

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Very clean, comfortable and parking was easy. The breakfast and hot coffee and tea was good. Hot drinks available all day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Pleasant, comfortable hotel with extra touches

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Everything (staff and amenities) was convenient, pleasant, clean, helpful.
Location: Loved the McDowell Sonoran Preserve gateway area! Beautiful desert scenery not too far away and trails for walks up to major hikes!
It was really nice to have a suite- it gave us the space to spread out. I like having a couch to sit on instead of only the bed. The counter with microwave and fridge is handy for travel snacks and bringing home restaurant leftovers. There even was a plastic bag with paper plates, napkins, and silverware. Downstairs the breakfast buffet has a lot of variety including hot options. The happy hour includes snacks, wine and beer. After 7:30 you can enjoy milk and cookies. The entire hotel was fresh and modern looking. The beds were very comfortable. I felt this hotel had everything needed to be comfortable while on vacation in Scottsdale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sheffield meeting

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: big rooms, had a microwave, had free breakfast and coffee and tea
Great experience - we were referred by the Sheffield Group who sends all their clients there, it is near their offices
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located and totally awesome

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Expedia
Location: Everything Old Scottsdale
I love this hotel because it is so close to everything in Old Scottsdale. Also the complimentary breakfast is pretty good and I love the evening cocktail social. Rooms are big and clean and balconies are nice. I have stayed in this location several times and never been disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location. comfortable base

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Location. friendly staff. basic facilities good. Basic breakfast, happy hour, cookies and milk later. room size. value for money
Cons: Breakfast was basic to start the day but surprised to even have this at the rate offered.
Location: we drove into old scottsdale centre but you could walk it at a push.
Hotel appeared well run and was perfectly acceptable. Not a place to laze around in though there is a gym and pool but a good location for whilst out and about sight seeing. Rooms are a little jaded but this is made up for by their size - the ones we used had a sitting area separate to the sleeping area which was helpful as we had large suitcases from flying long haul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Holiday inn express seems to have consistent standards everywhere. Quiet, modern, like their breakfast, and will be our choice for lodging in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Great hotel with attentive staff. The location is within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Breakfast is good and afternoon happy hour Monday thru Thursday. The rooms are large making it good for families. Staff always had a smile. All in all a good value for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Very friendly hotel staff. Close to Old Town Scottsdale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morgantown, WV

Nice hotel in old town

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Everything I expected...clean, comfortable, and close to all the restaurants and shops in old town. I recommend for a quick overnight stay!