Ratings based on 890 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Hotel was okay .. Staff could be more helpful.. Location is good though
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Aug 19, 2016
First room , lock didn't work so got another room, 2nd room , the bathroom water in toilet ran all night..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Downtown, accessible, bordering on very bad areas.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
There are good and bad things about the hotel. It's location is fairly decent as it's close to downtown, light rail and easy access. Price is reasonable and the staff is always very accommodating within what they have to work with. On the negative side, there are a fair number of low income and VA patients that stay in the hotel, many with pain management issues and who use medical marijuana so be prepared for your entire floor to reek of it. There are also a lot of lesser than desirable types that hang around the hotel as there is a bar next door and a fair population of homeless. They typically don't bother much but they do panhandle some. My stay was in August and the building doesn't have central A/C so elevator, halls, etc were very hot. The room relies on a window A/C unit. I would say buyer beware. If you stay here do it at your own risk. The price and location are right but for a few more dollars and miles you can be in much better accommodations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dreadful Hotel, how does it even have 3 stars

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Teh wifi was free and worked and the location was near where I wanted to be
Cons: virtually everything, but especially the condition
Where to start, maybe the drug deal in the parking lot when I arrived, to the dingy hallways leading the the room, the broken toilet and busted shower curtain rod. The ice machine did not work. I had such a bad feeling being in that hotel. It was like one of those seamy and seedy dilapidated hotels you see in the movies. I couldn't wait to leave. I still cant believe this place has 3 stars.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place, great rates

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Very quite, clean and comfortable. The most comfortable. Bed i have ever slept in.staff was great ! With the exception of the desk clerk on the graveyard shift , he is a condescending. Ass hole
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Parker, AZ

Not far from VA Hospital

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The pool was very nice
Cons: More attention by the house keepers and maintanence.
Location: I come for the VA Hospital. Therefore the location was good for me.
The room had not been vacuumed. Getting hot water took forever. One employee, a male, was rude and unfriendly. The two female employees were friendly, polite and helpful. I will consider staying again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Incredible surprise!

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: The remodeled rooms were like the NYLO lofts. The pool was incredible, and the free breakfast everyday made this Hotel 502 a return destination!
Cons: The homeless people in the morning by Starbucks would not approach and people, but they were not pleasing to look at.
It was amazing to take the train from the airport terminal to the 7th and Camelback Station and get off and the 502 was right there! Fry's Grocery Store, Starbucks, McDonald's, and the hip gay bar, "Charlie's", were all right within 10 steps of the hotel. This recently remodeled hotel was a diamond in the rough! The pool was huge with a TV and bar, The staff was amazing! Myra checked me in and was so accommodating the entire stay during Memorial Day! Will definitely be back for some fun. Amazing stay! Amazing staff! AND--complimentary sausage, scrambled eggs, yogurt, cereal, and waffles everyday for breakfast!
3 out of 5
by michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

GREAT LOCATION & ACCESSIBILITY TO THE CITY

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: I loved the access this gave me to the entire city because of the train and buses being across the street. You can't really get lost here.
Cons: My room did smell like smoke though it was a nonsmoking room, and sometimes they locked the front door to the lobby and you had to walk to the side.
Location: I loved the food around it, trains, buses, even if you want to ship something theres a ups store not to far away, and a book store right next door. :)
I don't think people know that this hotel is literally right across the street from the city transit train, and if they fly in from the airport they can get a $4 All-Day pass on the train to avoid an expensive uber or taxi ride to the airport. Trains run until 2am on weekdays and 4 am on weekends so if you just want to have fun you can in this place. Just get on the train at the airport and this literally drops you off at the door. I loved the convenience of this being not to far from really great restaurants. St Lucia Italian food, Applebees, Southern Rail, and Shake Shack Burgers are just west (to the left of the hotel when you walk out.) between camelback and central, and Mcdonalds, Starbucks, and a Fry's Grocery Store (to the the right when you walk out of the hotel.) My room had a small fridge and microwave which I loved because if i had leftovers i was able to reheat them. The bed was nice and comfy, with great access to the pool.
2 out of 5
by William from Mesa

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Older hotel that is in some need of some serious matenaince. My tub wouldn't drain, found a used condom stuck in it! Old tvs that make you feel like you are at your grandmother's. Breakfast in the morning is good and the beds are comfy and we're clean. Nice pool as well. Price is low so attracts a loud crowd with thin walls, if not a deep sleeper pick somewhere else.