Ratings based on 1,193 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need to be updated. Staff needs to be more knowledgable about area and restaurants in the area.
Location: Good downtown location but staff did not know area or make recommendations of restaurants, etc.
Room only had two towels but reservation was for three people. Hotel over priced for the quality. Adjoining restaurant and bar no longer open and for lease.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Rich, Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the location. We are sorry you weren't happy with the room. Our hotel is a historical hotel, and we are proud of that. There is so much history and character with the building and the rooms. Just knowing that Marilyn Monroe, Spencer Tracy, Clark Gable, and many other people walked these hallways makes us a special place to be. We are never going to change being historical. It's a point of pride for us. Sorry you didn't like it. -David L. (Front Desk)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, a little run down, but good value.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Location, value, friendly staff.
Cons: Needs a good refurbishment, feels a little old.
Very conveniently located in the heart of Phoenix, walking distance from everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by angela , Hotel Management
Thank you for your time and review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Excellent Location but old facility. Affordable.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: They charged me an early check in fee ($25 at 1 pm before 3 pm check in...the room was already ready.)
Location: I was there for work but it is in the the heart of downtown Phoenix (Central and Monroe)
I attanded a major event in downtown Phoenix and this hotel was the only one that still had rooms. Very outdated facility. Central AC system. Modest work out area. Unable to print aboarding pass from the business office. Noise isolation from other rooms nonexistent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Vince, Thank you for your review! We are glad you liked the location, right in the heart of Downtown! We are also happy to hear you liked the affordable value of our hotel. It is true, our building is old. With old buildings come old rooms. Sorry they were too outdated for you. We hope the value and location made up for that. -David L. (Front Desk)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walls are paper thin. No mention of haunted hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
There was no mention of the hotel being haunted in anything I reviewed. I booked this for one of our reps. to attend a conference. To my surprise he came back from this trip to inform me that the hotel was haunted. Not a deal breaker but it would have been nice to know. Additionally he would not recommend this hotel Walls are paper thin, too much noise and distractions abound. He did comment on how pleasant the staff was. I was instructed to take this one off the list of plaes to stay in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! The "haunted" aspect of our hotel is something that is a legend and has no official proof. No ghost is going to "get" you in your sleep. They just say that because it's an old building. Don't worry, with our nighttime security, you won't have to worry about a thing. -David L. (Front Desk)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tucson, az

nice historical hotel close to talking stick arena

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: all of it
Cons: better pillows
Location: prime location to enjoy night life and talking stick arena
wonderful place to stay. staff was very friendly and helpful. rooms were small but it's an historical hotel so that was par for the course. very convenient to venue and night life. would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others. pool area is secluded. overall, fantastic experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Angela , Hotel Management
Dear Kat! Thank you so much for staying with us and we appreciate your time and the wonderful review. We enjoyed accommodating you and missed you already! Looking forward seeing you Again! Best Wishes! Angela Hentz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It is an old hotel- pretty funky- but staff is gre

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Location: You are in heart of downtown pheonix, so all events are really close, and mass transit is a block away
Great stay- took lite rail from airport, walked to dinner and event- staff was great- room is old and kind of funky- but great feeling overall
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your four-star review! We are glad you liked the staff, and the room. The owner of the hotel has this saying: "The city of Phoenix likes Hotel San Carlos so much, they built the rest of the city around it". That's because everything important downtown is within a 10 minute walk! -David L. (Front Desk)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a nice hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything beginning with Expedia's advertisement about the room.
hotel is older than me, not very clean. the beds are so hard it is like sleeping on the cement floor. my husband had to leave one night early so he lost the $198.00 (which was too much for the room rate) and the room and the beds were very tiny, they were not double beds but twin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Angela Hentz General Manager , Hotel Management
Dearest Guest of the Historic Hotel San Carlos! Thank you so much for your comments and we are very sorry for making you unhappy. We will take your valuable review into our consideration and we try to fix the items you pointed in your review. Please understand, our goal is to make our guests as comfortable as possible and we learn from guests like you about our mistakes. Warm wishes to you and your husband. Kindness Regards, Angela Hentz
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive for what you get.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: This hotel has a good downtown location with easy access to transit and downtown attractions. Nice that it had a pool that was conveniently located.
Cons: The room, hallways and decor are tired. Definitely time for an upgrade given the price!
The stay was fine for a business trip. Lack of breakfast place was a weakness.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the location, and glad you liked the pool. As for the decor, we have not changed it on purpose. We are a historical hotel and we plan to keep it that way. Although, with our free wifi and cable tv, we let people enjoy modern amenities. We are proud of our history, and glad to give the people of Arizona and tourists a good value for their stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Not nice hotel close to Phoenix Convention Center

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: It was within close walking distance to the Phoenix Convention Center and to our co-workers who stayed at the Hyatt Regency.
Cons: Lighting needs to be brighter in the room, buy new mattresses, and invest in a new AC/Heating system and place ice machines on every floor for guests.
Location: It is close to everything downtown, which is nice and plus, and we could park all day.
Parking and check in was fine. The front desk check in did not tell us the rooms were cold. We overheard another guest stating the rooms were cold but we could ask for a heater and we did. The bed was really old and uncomfortable. The mattress must have been an old spring mattress and it stabbed me in the back. I used all my pillows to lay down on and was able to sleep. This was a terrible hotel for the price we paid. Dim lighting. Only 3rd floor had ice, we were on 5th floor; an inconvenience. No in-room sugar/sweetener for coffee. No directory and no emergency exit information in a binder, if it was by the door we didn't notice it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not have a good experience. We are glad you liked the location. Unfortunately, you came at one of the coldest weeks of the year, and our historical building has a central boiler. Our hotel was built in 1928, and we have kept things pretty much as they were back then. We keep it that way on purpose. You can stay at a Hyatt anywhere. But you can only stay at Hotel San Carlos in Phoenix. With our value and our location, our hotel is the place to be. -David L. (Front Desk)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Good for price

Posted Jan 25, 2017
The bed was harder than my liking, bath was quite small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Vyn, Thank you for your 4-star review! We are happy you liked the value that our hotel provides. I always ask people why pay $400 for a room you'll only sleep in one night? Sorry the bathroom was too small for you. As a historical hotel, we don't change much to give people an authentic 1920s experience. As for the bed, we use the same beds as other hotels. We hope the central, walkable location and the value makes it worth it to come back. We look forward to seeing you again. -David L. (Front Desk)