Ratings based on 790 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central California

Memorable hotel close to everything downtown

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Memorable hotel close to everything downtown The nostalgia on every floor is absolutely wonderful don't miss Marilyn Monroe's suite....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

A pleasant surprise!

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: My favorite things about this hotel were the staff and the wifi.
Cons: Room was very clean but had a perception of being dated based on colors and furniture options. I also would like to be able to control my own ac.
Location: Great location - easy walk to the Convention Center as well as LOTS of great restaurants in downtown.
I was doing work this week with the Phoenix Convention Center and wanted to stay at the Hyatt but it wasn't available to stayed here. My first impression was mixed as the rooms are small and you can't control your own ac. However, I had a great stay and wouldn't mind going back if needed without hesitation. The staff and the wifi were the best! The staff was great - very friendly and always took the time to say "welcome back" when I came back to the hotel. The wifi was easy to connect to and never had any issues using it. Room was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Great Histotical Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Had a great night at the Hotel San Carlos! I wish I had time to go floor by floor and read the stories on the walls about the great history of this place. Great location! Excellent service!!!! Awsome pool! Being an older hotel, the bathroom was a little small. But that just added to the charm!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient downtown location

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Quaint. On the historic register. Has touches of the old hotel. Good price for what you get. Fantastic location for any downtown activity.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Juncos, PR

Historical hotel at Downtown Phoenix

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Location and historical value. Stars walkway.
Location: Located at downtown near the convention centers and the Sports facilities
The San Carlos is an historical work of art of early 20th century full of memorabilia. If you are willing to exchange some confort for the chance of been in a hunted hotel, this is for you. If you are traveling with family, forget it! The rooms are disined with 1928 style and space in mind, so they are little and the bathrooms are "complicated" to deal with (almost like airplane bathrooms). On the other hand, its location is perfect for convention travellers. It's in the middle of downtown and you can use the City Light Train to travel the city without rentiong a car.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donald from Prescott

Nice Historic

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Walls a bit thin for noise but its a Historic so not really unexpected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Luis from Tempe, AZ

Late May 2015 stay (for Phoenix Comicon)

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
POSITIVES: Beautiful decor, really interesting historical posters on each floor, great price, friendly staff, amazing rooftop pool NEGATIVES: No thermostat in our room so it was somewhat hot, we were given really itchy blankets when we requested extra blankets
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tim from Mesa, AZ

Quaint downtown hotel.

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Quaint hotel in the heart of downtown Phoenix. And upgrade to the mattresses would be wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Beautiful, historic hotel.

Posted May 31, 2015
The property is full of wonderful history, and you can walk to many downtown Phoenix attractions. Light rail runs right outside, so lots of other fun is within a reasonable distance. Staff is personable and accommodating. Paper thin walls, though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chelsea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels