Ratings based on 1,218 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in downtown Phoenix

Posted May 18, 2017
Old historic hotel but very well kept and clean. Friendly staff and helpful. We had a lot of fun going floor to floor to see the old time movie star suites. Also, the interesting stories of the guest who now haunts the hotel. I would recommend a stay at the San Carlos Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your four-star review! We are happy to see you liked your stay, and appreciate your comments on our friendly staff, and clean hotel. Thank you for posting the pictures! -David L. (Front Desk)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OC, California

next to everything but hotel isnt much of anything

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The internet, the service, the valet and shower water temp.
Location: Convention center, movie theater, restaurants
Valet guy never showed after hanging out for multiple times for 10-15 minutes each time, the internet was terrible, the shower water temp hovered between luke warm to scalding hot with nothing in between and always a surprise as to which one you would get, front desk wasn't very helpful and unless you are just really excited about a haunted hotel I'd stay away. The best part of the hotel is it's location which is close to everything and that's why I stayed there. Everything else nearby was pretty much sold out. Not sure I would ever go back. I travel mostly for business and was going to the convention center. Decent Wireless Internet now days is a must!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not have a good experience at Hotel San Carlos. Our General Manager and Owner read these reviews, so they will know about your complaints. We are currently working on our plumbing. We hope to have that fixed soon. We hope you enjoyed our state, and hope you give us a second chance. -David L. (Front Desk)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from Canada

Nice hotel with challenge

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: not very much
Cons: wifi, room door.
Food in the first floor is good. Staff are good. But the total hotel condition is not really considerable. One can clearly hear the noise made from other room. The wifi signal from the 4th floor was very very poor for all the time. Yes, even worse than the one from airport. I agreed that this is a very historical building. But the manager should think about the update right now. the big leak from the door, wifi quality, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
John, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you liked the staff, and you liked the Rice Paper restaurant located inside the hotel's lobby. We are sorry you were not happy with the wifi or the hotel condition. The General Manger and owner reads these, so they will be able to read your opinion. We hope our location and value make up for the things you didn't like. The Hotel San Carlos is very appreciative of your business. -David L. (Front Desk)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Deco Charm

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING! After I posted pictures online, I already heard that many of my friends want to stay there.
Cons: Less modern decor.
Location: There were a good amount of nightlife features, but hardly any available for breakfast. But, overall, fine.
I love this place, hated to leave and can't wait to return. It was everything I hoped it would be. I loved the old doors, tile, mirrors, decor and hallway charms. The only problem I had was the second story restrooms. I suppose they were being remodeled, but they were unlocked, smelled like paint and had boxes everywhere. It seemed to be in process, so it didn't really matter to me. I also lovelovelove the pool area. It is so quaint and secluded. I am hoping to have my birthday party there in June. The staff were so polite and even had the car waiting for us at checkout. Thank you all so much!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your five-star review. We are glad you liked EVERYTHING! That makes us very happy. We hope to see you and your friends again. We're also happy to hear you liked the staff. We only try and hire the best! -David L. (Front Desk)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice older hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017
we stayed for three nights Was very nice except for the last night,there was a concert going on downtown. Was very noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your four-star review! We appreciate your business. We are glad you liked your stay. David L. (Front Desk)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Historic hotel in a convenient location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The hotel is in a great location. You can walk to lots of bars, restaurants, the athletic complexes, and the convention center. There are no refrigerators in the rooms and the shower will suddenly get very hot intermittently while showering. The gym is big and although there are no free weights it has an all in one machine and three aerobic machines. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Pete, Thank you for your four-star review.We are glad you liked the location of the hotel. Everything important downtown is within a 10 minute walk! We are sorry about the shower changing temperature so quickly. We are working on our plumbing. We are especially glad to hear you would stay here again. We appreciate your business, and are happy that you appreciate the value this hotel gives in a crowded hotel market. -David L. (Front Desk)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need to be updated. Staff needs to be more knowledgable about area and restaurants in the area.
Location: Good downtown location but staff did not know area or make recommendations of restaurants, etc.
Room only had two towels but reservation was for three people. Hotel over priced for the quality. Adjoining restaurant and bar no longer open and for lease.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Rich, Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the location. We are sorry you weren't happy with the room. Our hotel is a historical hotel, and we are proud of that. There is so much history and character with the building and the rooms. Just knowing that Marilyn Monroe, Spencer Tracy, Clark Gable, and many other people walked these hallways makes us a special place to be. We are never going to change being historical. It's a point of pride for us. Sorry you didn't like it. -David L. (Front Desk)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, a little run down, but good value.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Location, value, friendly staff.
Cons: Needs a good refurbishment, feels a little old.
Very conveniently located in the heart of Phoenix, walking distance from everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by angela , Hotel Management
Thank you for your time and review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Excellent Location but old facility. Affordable.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: They charged me an early check in fee ($25 at 1 pm before 3 pm check in...the room was already ready.)
Location: I was there for work but it is in the the heart of downtown Phoenix (Central and Monroe)
I attanded a major event in downtown Phoenix and this hotel was the only one that still had rooms. Very outdated facility. Central AC system. Modest work out area. Unable to print aboarding pass from the business office. Noise isolation from other rooms nonexistent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Vince, Thank you for your review! We are glad you liked the location, right in the heart of Downtown! We are also happy to hear you liked the affordable value of our hotel. It is true, our building is old. With old buildings come old rooms. Sorry they were too outdated for you. We hope the value and location made up for that. -David L. (Front Desk)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walls are paper thin. No mention of haunted hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
There was no mention of the hotel being haunted in anything I reviewed. I booked this for one of our reps. to attend a conference. To my surprise he came back from this trip to inform me that the hotel was haunted. Not a deal breaker but it would have been nice to know. Additionally he would not recommend this hotel Walls are paper thin, too much noise and distractions abound. He did comment on how pleasant the staff was. I was instructed to take this one off the list of plaes to stay in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! The "haunted" aspect of our hotel is something that is a legend and has no official proof. No ghost is going to "get" you in your sleep. They just say that because it's an old building. Don't worry, with our nighttime security, you won't have to worry about a thing. -David L. (Front Desk)