Ratings based on 1,238 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in downtown Phoenix

Posted May 18, 2017
Old historic hotel but very well kept and clean. Friendly staff and helpful. We had a lot of fun going floor to floor to see the old time movie star suites. Also, the interesting stories of the guest who now haunts the hotel. I would recommend a stay at the San Carlos Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your four-star review! We are happy to see you liked your stay, and appreciate your comments on our friendly staff, and clean hotel. Thank you for posting the pictures! -David L. (Front Desk)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OC, California

next to everything but hotel isnt much of anything

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The internet, the service, the valet and shower water temp.
Location: Convention center, movie theater, restaurants
Valet guy never showed after hanging out for multiple times for 10-15 minutes each time, the internet was terrible, the shower water temp hovered between luke warm to scalding hot with nothing in between and always a surprise as to which one you would get, front desk wasn't very helpful and unless you are just really excited about a haunted hotel I'd stay away. The best part of the hotel is it's location which is close to everything and that's why I stayed there. Everything else nearby was pretty much sold out. Not sure I would ever go back. I travel mostly for business and was going to the convention center. Decent Wireless Internet now days is a must!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not have a good experience at Hotel San Carlos. Our General Manager and Owner read these reviews, so they will know about your complaints. We are currently working on our plumbing. We hope to have that fixed soon. We hope you enjoyed our state, and hope you give us a second chance. -David L. (Front Desk)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from Canada

Nice hotel with challenge

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: not very much
Cons: wifi, room door.
Food in the first floor is good. Staff are good. But the total hotel condition is not really considerable. One can clearly hear the noise made from other room. The wifi signal from the 4th floor was very very poor for all the time. Yes, even worse than the one from airport. I agreed that this is a very historical building. But the manager should think about the update right now. the big leak from the door, wifi quality, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
John, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you liked the staff, and you liked the Rice Paper restaurant located inside the hotel's lobby. We are sorry you were not happy with the wifi or the hotel condition. The General Manger and owner reads these, so they will be able to read your opinion. We hope our location and value make up for the things you didn't like. The Hotel San Carlos is very appreciative of your business. -David L. (Front Desk)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Deco Charm

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING! After I posted pictures online, I already heard that many of my friends want to stay there.
Cons: Less modern decor.
Location: There were a good amount of nightlife features, but hardly any available for breakfast. But, overall, fine.
I love this place, hated to leave and can't wait to return. It was everything I hoped it would be. I loved the old doors, tile, mirrors, decor and hallway charms. The only problem I had was the second story restrooms. I suppose they were being remodeled, but they were unlocked, smelled like paint and had boxes everywhere. It seemed to be in process, so it didn't really matter to me. I also lovelovelove the pool area. It is so quaint and secluded. I am hoping to have my birthday party there in June. The staff were so polite and even had the car waiting for us at checkout. Thank you all so much!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your five-star review. We are glad you liked EVERYTHING! That makes us very happy. We hope to see you and your friends again. We're also happy to hear you liked the staff. We only try and hire the best! -David L. (Front Desk)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice older hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017
we stayed for three nights Was very nice except for the last night,there was a concert going on downtown. Was very noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your four-star review! We appreciate your business. We are glad you liked your stay. David L. (Front Desk)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Historic hotel in a convenient location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The hotel is in a great location. You can walk to lots of bars, restaurants, the athletic complexes, and the convention center. There are no refrigerators in the rooms and the shower will suddenly get very hot intermittently while showering. The gym is big and although there are no free weights it has an all in one machine and three aerobic machines. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Pete, Thank you for your four-star review.We are glad you liked the location of the hotel. Everything important downtown is within a 10 minute walk! We are sorry about the shower changing temperature so quickly. We are working on our plumbing. We are especially glad to hear you would stay here again. We appreciate your business, and are happy that you appreciate the value this hotel gives in a crowded hotel market. -David L. (Front Desk)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice Location and reasonable price. Bathrooms had minimal counterspace and rooms were old. Bed comfy. Thin walls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the location and value of the hotel. We appreciate your business, and hope to have you back as a guest another time. -David L. (Front Desk)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not all change is for the better.

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed here for four nights on a business trip. The PHX convention center is a short walk from the hotel. This is an older, smaller boutique type hotel with a lot of local history and art displayed on the walls. I have stayed here previously at a much cheaper nightly rate. The rooms are small and a bit cramped. The main doors are thin and wall vents let light in from the hallway. The bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. Annoyingly, there wasn't enough free power outlets to plug in all of my electronics. I chose this hotel because of the excellent French Vietnamese restaurant located on the premises that I had enjoyed in my previous stay. The restaurant only services lunch and dinner. There's no breakfast at this hotel but several closeby restaurants are in the area. Unfortunately, the restaurant changed its style to an over priced purely Vietnamese restaurant. The food was good but you can find cheaper and better Thai food a block away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Angela H General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your four-star review! We are glad you liked the room and the location. We're sorry you didn't like the new branding of the restaurant. They are separate from us, but are on property. We will let them know what you think. We hope to have you come back. During the summer, the rooms are half off! -David L. (Front Desk)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very dated hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Hotel has very outdated decor, room carpet was sticky, bath didn't drain well, the bed had springs you could feel when lying down, and the walls are so thin you can hear every word from the neighboring room. There is also no room service food option.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. When you book a historical hotel, you will indeed get a dated hotel with old decor. We are sorry to hear about your dislike of the room. You can always ask for a new room. Our staff would be more than happy to give you a different one. We don't have room service because we are considered "limited service". That is why we can charge $189 while Hyatt charges $375. Although I am sure they have excellent mints they put on your pillow. -David L. (Front Desk)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Small room with poor wifi, no fridge or microwave as there is hardly any space, old hotel with lot of history. Check in was slow, didnt know why she was having issues and had to ask someone else how to process while next guest came and got check in by different person while I was still waiting. Also, I was locked out 1 day and had to go down to get new key.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Angela H General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry the wifi was not up to your standards. We will let our maintenance know so they can check on our system. We are glad we were able to get three-stars from you. Our goal is to always get four or five. We hope you give us another chance. -David L. (Front Desk)