Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coolidge, AZ

Historic Hotel in the midst of downtown

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The architecture and history made my eyes bounce with glee.
Cons: Parking! But if anyone knows downtown phoenix, that is a must for every building.
Location: The hotel San Carlos is right on the edge of Van Buren and Central. All the ballbarks are blocks away, Irish pub, government buildings, shopping, etc,
Out of all my options around downtown phoenix, The San Carlos Hotel jumped out at me. The building wasn't like the building's around it. It chose me, while skimming through choices online. The hotel makes you feel like you are back in the 1920's. The rooms are quaint, but luxurious. If you are looking for space, this hotel is probably not the one for you, but if you like history this hotel is a must stay. Great staff, walking distance to almost everything, talking stick arena..etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by David L. (Front Desk Agent), Hotel Management
Amy, Thank you for your five-star review! We are so glad you liked the architecture and history! Sorry you did not like the parking situation. We are thankful you are so understanding! It's one of those things we cannot control when we are downtown!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful locaton

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Within walking distance of all the places I wanted to see. This hotel might not appeal to all- not a lot of amenities, small lobby. But the history and decor of the hotel would be a hit for those interested in historical buildings. Loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by David L. (Front Desk Agent), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review five-star review! We are glad you liked the history and the decor of the hotel. We are also happy to hear you liked the centralized location of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Everything worked, the bed was nice and firm, and housekeeping was very good. It was quiet.
Cons: The only negative is a small, but still adequate bathroom, but that may not apply to all rooms.
Location: Location was within 6 blocks of the Convention Center and other meeting hotels. Several good restaurants are within the same distance.
This is an enjoyable, older hotel for those who appreciate such things. Essential infrastructure, such as elevators, have been tastefully modernized for reliability. The location is good and in a safe area downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by David L. (Front Desk Agent), Hotel Management
Larry, Thank you for your four-star review! We are glad you liked the bed and our housekeeping staff. We are also happy to hear you liked the new elevators and the overall atmosphere of the hotel! We hope to have you back when you are in Downtown Phoenix!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Nice hotel, but a little older than most. Only complaint is that the bathroom was a little cramped and the shower head was somewhat low on the wall, but otherwise would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by David L. (Front Desk Agent), Hotel Management
David, Thank you for your four-star review. We are glad you liked the hotel and would recommend it to others. Sorry about the small bathroom, but that is the 1928 construction style. We cannot change it. We are thankful for your business, and hope to see you back when you come back to Downtown Phoenix!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very crammed room

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Bed was comfortable
Location: Location was convenient. Can walk to Talking Stick in a few minutes.
Hotel staff was nice enough. Especially the valet parkers. Parking was inconvenient, but, due to the location, there isn't much that could probably be done about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by David L. (Front Desk Agent), Hotel Management
Jenn, Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the bed and the location! We are also happy to hear you liked the valet staff! They are good at what they do! Thanks for being so understanding about the lack of parking downtown. It's one of those things we cannot control! We appreciate your business
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Convenient location - in the heart of downtown Phoenix. Reasonably priced room and valet parking was only $20.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by David L. (Front Desk Agent), Hotel Management
Mariam, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you liked the location, where everything Downtown is within a 10 minute walk! We appreciate your business!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location loaded with history

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Parking sucks. But it is walking distance to restaurants, the convention center, and music venues.
Rooms are small, but considering the origin of the place, that's too be expected. Staff was mostly friendly...check in guy had no personality. The others were great. Pool area could use some repairs. The stars outside on the sidewalk give you an awesome taste of nostalgia. All of the past guests and their histories give it a great vibe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by David L. (Front Desk Agent), Hotel Management
Thank you for your four-star review. We are sorry you did not like the parking situation. Unfortunately, that is the price we have to pay when we go to Downtown. Our valet is always here to park for you to make it convenient or you can park yourself in any city garage. We are glad you liked the rooms and the nostalgia. We appreciate your business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016
It was great! Loved the history and the staff. Beautiful and close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by David L. (Front Desk Agent), Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are glad you liked the history and staff. We only hire nice people! :) We're also glad you liked the central location. Everything downtown is within 10 minutes!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic, Convenient, Affordable

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Stayed one night to attend Stevie Nicks concert at Talking Stick Arena. Enjoyed Irish pub downstairs.
A step back in time when living spaces were smaller. Within walking distance to downtown venue and half the price of large chain hotels. Enjoyed memorabilia of historical stars and events displayed in hallways. Valet parking and front desk staff prompt and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by David L. (Front Desk Agent), Hotel Management
Thank you for your four-star review! We are glad you enjoyed the Irish Pub next door to our hotel. They have such great burgers! Glad to hear the staff and service was good!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

An okay place to stay if you are in a pinch.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: I liked the historic value of the hotel, the staff were quite friendly as well which is always a plus because usually in a older hotel the staff are as much run down as the property. For being such an older hotel I was very surprised on how clean it was. No cleanliness issues in my room what so ever. The Wifi was good and I never had any issues with signal drop or streaming.
Cons: The walls are paper thin and all of the ventilation is shared from one room to the other. With my room I could see lights on from the room next to me. This made it uncomfortable for me when the couple next to be returned from a wedding and a night of drinking, they obviously wanted to be "closer" to each other. The curb appeal is not so great, with the tavern attached to the hotel from the outside - always a drunken crowd outside after I returned from meetings and dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by David L. (Front Desk Agent), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you like the historic value of the hotel and the staff. Our housekeeping team is very good at their job and it should be no surprise as to how clean the hotel is! We are also glad you enjoyed the free Wifi. We are sorry the walls were thin. We can't control that because the hotel is from 1928. Back then, there was no televisions so walls were not made with extra insulation. The pub, Seamus McCaffrey's, has been here since the 1970s. They always have an interesting crowd. Sorry they made you uncomfortable.