Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We were there for the suns/bulls!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: We had to warm up the host to come around to like us.
Cons: Breakfast buffet could be better.
Location: It was o.k. light rail is not too far away.
For one night, it was good. No noise. Basic. Breakfast could be better with saugage, eggs, and some hot sauce.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta ga

hotel near the airport

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: the staff was very friendly and they have shuttle back and forth to airport
Cons: update your motel.
all the staff were great.motel was old and needed to be updated. old dirty carpet, old and dirty blankets and pillow.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only good in a pinch

Posted Jan 27, 2017
We missed our connecting flight and needed a place to stay for 6 hours. This place had an airline shuttle, which we needed. I wouldn't recommend this place unless your semi-desperate. Overpriced for the conditions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Yuck!!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Water in the shower would not drain . And the sheets were dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Worst hotel I ever experienced.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
We only had 8 hours and my wife's plane was leaving. No time to change or I would have. Neither of the night stands lights worked. Paint chips missing on all mainroom walls. Table and chairs were cramping the little amount of space you had around the bed. If a official of H.J. will stay in that room...but I guarantee you would not. The photos completely are wrong having HAD to stay in room 115 at 4120 VanBuren, Phoenix AZ VERY unhappy with your product; and I would like to hear from someone today.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Marginal hotel. Fine for one night.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Not close to any restaurants. Good free shuttle to and from airport. Cold in December. Heater makes too much noise to sleep with it on. No blankets on bed just thin sheets. Breakfast very limited
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Dump

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: They were willing to move us from the disgusting ashtray room to one that smelled considerably cleaner. The sheets were not soiled.
Cons: They could charge $30, which is about what it is worth. They could also kick the crack heads out of the parking lot at night.
Location: There is an airport nearby. It is convenient for leaving.
We had a long layover in Phoenix and needed a place to sleep from midnight till 7:00 a.m. I booked Howard Johnson expecting that there would be some quality control with the name. WRONG. For $75 I expected a clean hotel with a comfortable and quiet room. Nothing special, just not unpleasant. What I got was a shocker. The place was as dirty as any dump you might come across in some third world armpit. We asked for a non smoking room and they put us in what smelled worse than a dirty ashtray. The activity outside the room, including yelling and music, went on till 3:00 a.m. and the staff did nothing about it. Also, they message about the shuttle says that it runs every 15 minutes. NOT TRUE. It runs once an hour. This was a $30 room at best. I felt cheated and would not ever consider staying here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 6, 2016
outdated, overpriced, mediocre staff, bad breakfast, and woken every two hours by night staff talking loud on his cell phone right outside the door while his cigarette smoke was being sucked into the room by the air conditioner. NEVER AGAIN!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kauai

Value, Location, Nice Rooms & Breakfast

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Nice accommodations close to Sky Harbor. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were roomy and well-maintained.
Cons: The breakfast could use a little more variety: oatmeal, peanut butter, fruit, and liquid coffee creamer, instead of those little dry packets containing partially-hydrogenated oils--a known health hazard.
Location: Close to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berryville, VA

Comfortable, quiet, customer service informative.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: The location is very close to the PHX Sky Harbor International Airport. We didn't participate with much and stayed at the hotel for the evening.
The hotel was easy to locate and well identifiable, ...it provided adequate access to the parking spaces. The time of the evening we were there it was quiet. Though the hotel doesn't have their own shuttle, they contract a service that is 24/7 that is professional and friendly and very time conscious. The front desk personnel were friendly and informative and all that they advised was accurate and appreciated information. We would stay again.