Ratings based on 2,446 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

1960's Style Oasis

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: We liked the laid back atmosphere and the courtyard.
Cons: The breakfast could certainly improve.
Location: It is convenient to Old Scottsdale's vibrant night life, airport, and a breweries.
We stayed here one night prior to flight out. It worked out perfectly. The courtyard is a great place to hang out with beautiful flowers, a pleasant pool, and an aviary. Room was fine, but breakfast is minimal for a hot breakfast. Location is great for Old Scottsdale and to airport. Papago Brewing is in Plaza next door and offers good beer and excellent pizzas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

How I envisioned a stay in Scottsdale.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Rooms were nice size and clean. Nice well maintained pool. Breakfast was included and facilities were nice and well kept. Gated access to rooms too.
Cons: Parking is tight. Hotel is situated next to a dated strip mall with many vacancies (at the time of our visit).
Location: Short drive to Papago Park, Hole in the Rock, Phoenix Zoo and Desert Botanical Gardens. Conveniently located right on main road through Scottsdale.
Nice hotel right on the main drag in Scottsdale. Short drive to Papago Park. Hotel was clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly, and there were plenty of things for our family to do at the hotel. The pool and landscaping were well kept, and my kids loved the "life sized" chess set outside in the courtyard. Breakfast was well stocked and enjoyable. Exactly what we expected from the reviews we read. :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Old hotel that needs upgrades. The air conditioner and bathroom fan were extremely loud as was noise from outside. You could clearly hear any conversation happening outside the room. The vents in the room were filthy. The staff was pleasant and the breakfast was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not as advertised/reviewed

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Papago brewery next door. They let me leave.
Cons: Everything
Location: Shop for a car. Peruse an abandoned shopping center.
I don't know what the reviewers are smoking, I just know they are. That is the worst part about this glorified, seventy year old Comfort inn. They let people (encourage with ashtrays on the walls) smoke all over. The smoke is sucked into the rooms. They might as well let them smoke in the rooms. Plus they never clean those ashtray bowls. Is there no AZ law against smoking within a certain distance of a building? It is also noisy. Near a AFB. Apacje helicopters, etc. Plus a cage of parakeets that wake with the sun. The walls are paper thin. My neighbors smoke and ac blasted under the door.They have a fridge on the wash basin. Shades let in light. Area is deserted. Dirty air vents. Can't spread legs in bathroom. clogged sink. Burnt out bulbs. Saggy mattress. Not cute at all. Love to tell you about what its worth but tripadvisor/expedia censored it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: rooms need remodeling
Location: near Old Town Scottsdale
Bathtub did not drain, nor did sink night staff was clueless
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poway, CA

Extraordinarily unexceptional

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location and parakeet aviary
Cons: They appear to be doing the best they can with a dated property. Nothing but a major renovation can make it better.
Location: Close to Old Town Scottsdale, Desert Botanical Garden, and Tempe Diablo Stadium (Angels Spring Training Complex).
Clean is #1 with me. Hotel met this criteria. Other than that, the best thing this hotel has going for it is location. Was very close to old town Scottsdale (which is a great area) and the Desert Botanical Garden (which is exceptional), and close enough to the Angels Spring Training Ballpark. Stayed two nights. Maid failed to clean toilet on second day. Breakfast sufficient. Person in charge of breakfast room first morning was very pleasant. Hotel is dated, furniture getting old, but no rips or tears. Papago Plaza shopping center next door is like a ghost town. What was once probably upscale, has moved on. Hotel is not bad. Just old and lacks character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds, clean rooms and a heated Pool
Location: A short drive to shopping malls and Old Scottsdale
The ONLY reason I didn't give the overall review an "excellent" is because there's very little to see or do nearby - unless you drive; the hotel itself is like an oasis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nor cali

Pleasant Hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Nice staff Clean room Good breakfast every morning Good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

near old downtown and on an easy street to navigat

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location and price combination
Cons: The bed felt worn out!
Location: Old Downtown Scottsdale just a mile and a half from hotel. Freeway access reasonable.
Experience was limited as I just needed a place to store my luggage and a place to lay my head. Did not use any of the facilities while there. Bed was feeling worn out to me. Place was very tidy inside and out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland

Excellent for the price

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the airport and Scottsdale "attractions".
Cons: Bar could stay open a bit later.
Location: Papago Park is nearby, nice hiking trails and the Botanical Gardens
Check in staff a bit disinterested but competent. Not very helpful about local dining. Room was small, very clean and well supplied. Is a non smoking facility but makes it comfortable for smokers with chairs and ashtrays outside the doors. Pool clean, plenty of seating and the aviary is a nice touch. Ditch the little pillows on the bed.