Ratings based on 2,477 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Nice funky hotel with great staff

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Affordability and staff
Cons: our ceiling fan did not have a pull cord to use it - we also had to ask how to work the air conditioning but the staff came immediately to help
Location: In Scottsdale - need to drive to Old Town but plenty to do
We stayed one night and didn't take advantage of the pool but this was a great tucked away spot with beautiful grounds. The retro bar was great as was the complimentary breakfast. Good people - good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: organization at check in. Front desk is oblivious as to what rooms are available and which are occupied.
This hotel has a retro vibe and had good reviews so booked it for one night. We checked in and upon entering the room noticed the cleaning wasn't complete, rags in the tub, etc. Housekeeping was a few doors down and I approached them and they advised that room wasn't ready. She quickly came in while we waited and finished up. This didn't upset us at all, but it was strange. What happened next was even more strange. Right after we checked in we were in bed doing couple things and one of the hotel front desk staff just walked in! It was mortifying. She said sorry and quickly exited. Why on earth would someone just let themselves in only 30 min after check in? Maybe they didn't know it was occupied? Clearly everyone here is confused. Ok, so we got over that but I did want to mention it at check out. When we checked out I explained what happened and she quickly shot back "well was your do not disturb sign up?" Um, no, we had only just checked in. She offered no apology and said that she would tell the general manager. No one every contacted us. It was an unfortunate mistake, but really bad service to 1. blame us and 2. offer no apology. If you stay here, lock your door with chain and put out your DND sign ASAP!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LI, NY

Eh

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Hotel looks more like a motel. Lots of security which is good, but worrisome. Bed was squeaky and sunk in the middle. The first room we we're assigned wreaked of cigarette smoke. This hotel is very dated, but the courtyard and pool area are very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Great value hotel for family.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We had a great time here with our elementary school age girls. The grounds are compact but attractively landscaped. We loved the giant bird cage and the big chess set and the pool. This hotel is very close to some of the best sights in Phoenix. Not too fancy but you can't beat the value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Everything
Loved this hotel stopped here a few times me and my hubby love this hotel breakfast was great staff was lovely room was so nice definitely go back agin swimming pool was brilliant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montrose CO

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Staff was helpful and respectful. Room was clean, a little outdated. Grounds were well kept and kids enjoyed the outdoor pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Don't judge a book by its cover.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Exterior of building isn't very attractive, but once you pass through the lobby, a secret garden awaits. Lovely outdoor courtyard completely surrounded on all 4 sides by hotel rooms. Has a lawn area, bougainvillea, hibiscus, citrus trees, jasmine, etc. There is also a heated pool and small aviary filled with colorful parakeets (so not too loud or obnoxious). Lots of seating areas to enjoy a lazy snack, meal, or cocktails. Also had a large outdoor chess set; very fun for the kids. Complimentary breakfast was nice and filling. This stop was the last in a 4 day express vacay visiting Las Vegas, Grand Canyon, Sedona & Phoenix. This was the kids' favorite hotel on the trip. Only wish the beds were king size (vs queen), but the beds were comfortable nonetheless.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst place I've ever booked!

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Bulldoze it and build a Motel 6. You'd be better off.
This is the first hotel that I've ever booked on Expedia or Hotwire that I checked out of right after checking in. The hotel staff was okay but the person at the front desk kept calling me by my last name which was a little weird but that was just the beginning. The place was like walking into something out of the 1960's and it probably hadn't been updated since then either. I had to drive down an alley to get to the iron gate that allowed me to enter the premises. The alley served as thruway for the houses that were behind the hotel. As usual, it was littered with trash including an old bed that was thrown there. I got to my room and there was a odd smell in the room. There wasn't a desk or table so I had to sit on an old, smelly, dirty armchair to use my laptop to try and find another room. I plugged my laptop charger into the most convenient power outlet and it didn't work. I ended have to go to the vanity in the bathroom to find an outlet that was working. I logged onto Expedia and found a Sheraton Four Points that had rooms and hightailed it out of there. I ended up paying for two hotels rooms for the same night stay. I'm not happy about that and the Expedia rating on the Magnuson is not even close, especially for business travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok place to stay

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Lobby is not appealing but nice pool, clean and ok breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Nice hotel but.........

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Lovely garden, pool and spacious room but very thin walls and loud plumbing with weird noise from aircon. We only stayed 2 nights one of which we had noisy children next door which wasn't great . Other night was fine. Breakfast OK. Overall not bad.