Ratings based on 1,999 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TorontoCanada

A fine hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: The grounds, nicely landscaped,and the delightful cage of birds near the pool.
Cons: The weather could have been improved, it was in the fifties, dreadful for Scottsdale but I doubt Magnuson could do anything about that.
Location: The location does favour a car, although are two good pubs a short walk away and a couple of restaurants.
I first visited the hotel about seven years ago when it ws under different management, it was fine then and has retained its high quality.with Magnuson. Comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms and excellent beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and confortable

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: The staff was just very friendly and went out of there way to see you had what you needed
Cons: nothing
Location: For food Flicka's was a great place to eat and it was just around the corner. It was also close to the Barrett-Jackson show.
Everything was great hotel staff went out of there way. Even the giant bird cage was a treat to watch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Would choose again!

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Rooms and grounds are clean and well supplied. Staff is friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about area and events. Complimentary breakfast bar is the best I have had by far.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Staff was super helpful with dining and entertaining options. There was a microwave to warm up leftovers, that's a small big deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix az

Posted Dec 20, 2015
We arrived late Friday night after luminaries and the light show at the desert botanical garden. Extraordinary by the way! The room was nice and very clean, the decor polished and pretty. The heating and ac was in a unit over one wall with a thermostat. How refreshing not to have an old wall unit that only blows air up the curtain. It felt stuffy until I realized there was a working ceiling fan and then it was perfect I have trouble with really fat pillows so having a couple of softer pillows would have been nice The breakfast place is a working restaurant so it was nicely appointed. Free breakfast was typical, with the exception of real cooked oatmeal. No eggs or meat which they could have used since the only other protein was hardboiled eggs. We didn't have time to use the pool. When we have more time we like to use a jacuzzi which they don't have. The pool looked inviting. The grounds are quite nice. We got a last minute price deal and it was well worth it. The staff is very obliging and made you fell welcome. All in all a place I would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Reasonable for everything and staffs are very friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015
The Hotel was located decently. Night club and massage parlor next door can be an issue but security was tight. The housekeeping staff always seemed to be in a hurry, and not very concerned about the throuroughness of the job which always left a little to be desired. The pool and exercise room were very inviting, clean and wonderfully maintained. The grounds were very well kept and made for a relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

Close to papago park, zoo and botanical gardens

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Accommodations up to date, friendly staff always will to help with any questions or problems, convenience to things that I was looking to do.
Cons: Resturant was not finished I think when this is done it will be a wonderful place for dining in the evenings. Lounge was nice and drinks reasonable.
Location: located within a few miles of the phoenix zoo, the botanical gardens, the hole in the rock at papago park. convenient to grocery store and shopping
Wonderful experience. Had to change reservations in the middle of the night due to first hotel NOT being allergy friendly for my extremely bad allergies. I called in the morning to verify all the information was received and the front desk person Amy was very sweet and told me that everything had been received and she asked questions regarding my allergies so that she could accommodate me without having any additional problems. She was kind enough to put my into a newer room and updated me so that I have the ability to cook for myself and everything. I could not have asked for a better experience. The entire staff was very warm and welcoming to me. They were all very helpful in answering my questions about all the local attrations and the best ways to get around town. there are many things that are located within walking distance and are more then convenient to the hotel. I will definitely return again to the Magnuson Papago Inn. It made my trip and I had an absolutely wonderful time. Clean, friendly and wonderful place to put your mind and ease and just relax away your stress. I love this place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay for good price.

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Of course not a 5 star but definitely friendly staff and clean room. Nice and quiet. Breakfast was ok would have been better if they had scrambled eggs rather than hard boiled eggs. Would recommend Kids enjoyed looking at the birds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southeastern Arizona

Cute little GEM!

Posted Nov 24, 2015
We were looking for a place close to the airport for a fair price. There was a deal through Expedia for this so we booked. The only negative reviews were that the hotel wasn't "updated" but everything else was great! The beds/pillows were comfortable, towels clean, and (my BIG test & #1 deal breaker) the bathroom and vanity area was clean!! The breakfast was simple but the breakfast chef Robert was very kind and joked with me over piling up my hubby's breakfast dishes. My only concern was that there wasn't a desk in the individual room. This usually isn't a problem for most guests but my hubby works off his computer so it was necessary. He could have used the business center BUT he talks very loud and his phone rings constantly and that could be distrubing some other guests. My son loved the pool area, I enjoyed the 60's music played in the pool area, and I thought the small bird avary was unique. This will be one of our go-to places when we need to be near the airport.