Ratings based on 653 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Disappointed

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Hotel staff were friendly but the hotel was in bad shape. I'd be embarrassed to call it a Marriot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Parking was difficult

Posted Apr 9, 2017
I had requested a room with 2 double beds and they Had me in a king. And no more double beds available. They sent a cot for no charge. But the cot was very uncomfortable. Otherwise nice room. Also when dining at cafe azul on Friday evening it took over an hour for our food. Wait staff was so great but it was just one bartender doing everything . But think they needed more cooks back there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Roberta, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We have shared your feedback with our staff and will work hard to improve our service!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, friendly staff, parking stinks

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Clean rooms, friendly staff, parking really kinda stinks. Neighborhood is run down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Roberta, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our hotel and hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Mesa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Friendly staff and clean facility. Room was comfortable , clean and ready as scheduled
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Roberta, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review we appreciate your feed back. We hope you choose to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Mesa. Thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!

Posted Feb 28, 2017
I stayed at this hotel for 1 night for a race. The woman who checked me in was in training, yet no one was making sure she was doing things correctly. Since I had already paid for the room in full, I was only supposed to have a $25 incidentals pending charge on my card. This woman put a $225 hold on my account. When I realized the next day what had happened, I spoke with the manager, Tatiana, to have it fixed. She said she would call my bank and get it cleared up. She didn't. I called the hotel the next day and was told I would get a call back from the manager. I didn't. I called the next day and left a voice message for the manager, but never heard back. I finally called my own bank to have them drop the charge. I had Expedia call the manager to complain, and she lied to the Expedia rep saying she already called my bank to take care of it and she would give me a call that day. She didn't. I called the GM yesterday to complain, but haven't heard back. Now I have a new charge on my card from the hotel for $204.95. Aside from all of that, the hotel is old and the bed and pillows were horribly uncomfortable. I paid more to stay at this awful hotel in Phoenix for 1 night than I did to stay for 2 nights on the beach in California.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. .close to convention hall

Posted Feb 25, 2017
For the price, I would think it would have nicer amenities. Restaurant was fair. Service was good but food was mediocre. Room furnishings was average. Nice perk was lobby bar offered Starbucks Coffee but service took way too long.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Roberta, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and will work hard to improve!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesa Arizona

Hotel hygiene

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The hall way was smelling cigarette smoke so bad....yet it was stated a smoke free zone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by roberta, Hotel Management
Good Evening, Thank you for your review on our hotel we strive to provide the best service possible and appreciate your feed back to help us improve. I will notify our housekeeping department to look into this. Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Air

Posted Feb 16, 2017
In Phoenix, when it is cooler outside than inside, there is an issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by roberta, Hotel Management
Good Evening, Thank you for your review on our hotel we strive to provide the best service possible and appreciate your feed back to help us improve. We have resolved all issues with the air and hope we get a chance to make it up to you in the future. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Milpitas, CA

Very close to AZ60/US10

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location is very convenient, if you drive. Cafe Azul is good. The lobby bar serves Starbucks. Mini-market is well stocked.
Cons: AC units are a bit dated. TV has an analog connection, so no HDMI and no TV Guide. Seriously? In this time and age?
Location: Apache Junction is a short half-hour drive. Liked the trails.
Drove from Sky Harbor around midnight, and it was a short drive, easy to find location. The parking is a little bit confusing, compared to other locations. A bit disappointed by the room, at the end of the hall, right next to the stairs. Quiet, but a constant hum and buzz, and it was not the AC. I guess this is what happens if you get this kind of room. I specifically asked for a king/single, but got a double/queen instead. I know that it might look like an upgrade for some, but not for me, thank you very much. Had an issue with AC, which could do only cold. I guess it was fine for a typical Phoenix day of 110 in summer, but it was an atypical winter night of about 45, and we couldn't make it run on heat. They fixed it in the morning, and it was fine from there. Very good breakfast buffet at Cafe Azul. We had lunch there too. Nice staff and decent Tex-Mex. Great Margarita at the lobby bar. If you have to stop in Phoenix over the weekend, this is the place to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by roberta, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Phoenix Marriott Mesa. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations, and We hope to see you back soon. My apologies that we could not accommodate your request for a king bed. We strive to provide the best service possible and are glad to meet your expectations Roberta, Front Office Supervisor.
5 out of 5
by Marcia

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back!