Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from Portland area

comfortable

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: The location was where we needed to be, and since we were spending very little waking time there, the "ambience" didn't really matter
Cons: The bathroom light switch was located outside the bathroom, which was kind of annoying at night with more than one person in the room.
Location: We were less than 10 miles from Ashland, which has a lot of restaurants and shopping and theatre, and pretty close to Medford, and to the Camelot Thea
This is a dated facility, but we didn't hear any traffic noise, despite being right on highway 99. And it was clean and comfortable. The cost seemed a little high, considering the alternatives available for not much more within 10 miles. The provided breakfast had some variety, but no place to eat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to a friend

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: just ok
Cons: more insulation to keep the place cool
it was just okay. nothing was provided in the kitchen besides a refr and stove and coffee pot. No utensils
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Tacoma, WA

Surprisingly clean/nice for an independent motel

Posted Jun 26, 2013
The owner met us and showed us our rooms prior to our commitment to them. Not fancy but clean and nice for a one-night stay. Breakfast was minimal. Few electrical plugs in room. He gave us a slightly larger room than we asked for knowing we had more to put in the room.
3 out of 5
by Mike from Fresno

Bathrooms not so good.

Posted Jul 28, 2012
Thought it was silly when I read one of the other reviews, but it's true there is nowhere to set things down in the bathroom only a tiny pedistal sink and no shelves or handles in the very slippery shower. Beds were comfortable and clean. Pool very small and exposed to the street. Found better hotels at better prices over the hill in Yreka.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Mateo, CA

Great hotel, friendly management

Posted Jul 14, 2012
We weren't sure quite what to expect from the Phoenix Motel, but it was great. Just a small place, one-story, in a U-shape surrounding a pool. The manager was very kind and helpful, upgrading our room from 2 Queens to a 1 Queen / 1 King, plus kitchen area, for myself, my wife, and our two boys. Both rooms we used (we were on a large family car trip) were clean and comfortable, with great AC to keep things cool. Blackberry bushes around the back entertained my kids, as well. When we left, the manager also gave us suggestions for additional things to do and see on the way home, which lead to us exploring the Mt. Shasta Caverns. All in all, an excellent motel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Clean and Convienient

Posted Sep 12, 2011
Location is not far from the highway. Nice place to stop on long drive from Oregon to California. Affords a great resting place before tackling the Siskyous. Our unit had a full kitchenette, which was a nice surprise. The room was clean and well kept. We will visit again, it actually makes a great half way place to meet up from Portland to Bay area also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tiny Terror from Vancouver, Canada

comfortable for one night stay

Posted Aug 10, 2011
We checked in around 9pm. The checked in process was very fast. We booked for one king and was given 2 doubles with a full kitchen (full size fridge, microwave, stove and an large table to eat). We had lot of space and comfortable. The room was clean. The people who run the hotel are very nice.
3 out of 5
by Richard from Surrey, BC, Canada

Needs improvement

Posted Aug 9, 2011
The room is not that private as the large windows allow any passerbys to see inside; the pool is nice and deep but could be cleaner; the bathroom needs a vanity to place personal items and toiletries; the carpet could be cleaner; the beds were okay. The motel was very close to a Subway restaurant which was great and it was easy to find off of the freeway. The A/C worked well. The armchairs need a good cleaning. The TV and fridge worked well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Oregon

wonderful and owner so helpful

Posted Jun 15, 2011
great place to stay very close to freeway
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sutherlin, ORegon

Drive right up to room door! Easy in and out.

Posted Jun 1, 2011
Clean room, easy in and out. Quiet service. Would go again if in the area. Perfect service. Thank you!