Ratings based on 2,226 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Will not go back!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The shuttle service was extremely helpful getting around this property.
Cons: The service at the Point in Tyme restaurant was horrible for dinner and breakfast. Hostess and wait staff were rude and non existent during the meal.
We were extremely disappointed with our (family of five with two 3 year olds and a 5 year old) stay at the Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs. When we walked in to our room, it felt warm, but we figured there was a sensor and it would cool down as we started moving around. It never got cool in the room and it was 114 degrees outside. We called the front desk, and a maintenance person came to the room and shut everything down and changed our filter. We decided to leave for dinner and hoped it would be fixed by the time we got back. At 9:00 when we returned it was hotter than before. They told us there weren't rooms available so we either had to deal with it or go home. We were there with two other families and planned for a fun staycation, but that wasn't happening. At 10:30, they finally did move us to a smaller room and would not reimburse us because we paid through Expedia. The positive is that they comped us a cabana at the pool, but were not understanding of our situation. We will not go back to this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Nice water features but busy and dated

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Stayed 4 days, was disappointed with overall repair and quality of rooms. The large pools and poolside service was nice, but was busy and hard to find seats. If you have kids coming it's definitely a kid pool area. Food was extremely disappointing outside of pool side. Nice resteraunt is a ways off and was booked all 4 days in private events or pre sold, the main resteraunt had very few options and food was sub par. Even had a nice cockroach run across our feet on the deck. Check in clerk was borderline rude and wouldn't help us find room. But future days the concierge desk was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice resort

Posted May 9, 2017
We have stayed here many times and love the location and the amenities. Friendly staff and nice rooms with great views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Nice hotel with kid friendly pools.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Overall great experience during our stay. Spent a majority of each day in the pools with my son and wife. It is located near a lot of restaurants and stores and a very beautiful view. Most of the staff was friendly. We only had two issues the first was the staff that answered the phones they were rude before we arrived. The second was the carpet in the room was in need of shampooing. When we walked without shoes our feet got pretty dirty. We had to keep flip flops on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee area

Excellent!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Everything...the environment, the cleanliness, the way it felt like a little village, the hiking trails, pools, the friendly staff at the restaurants.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Hiking, tennis, restaurants, brunch, golf...beautiful environment to feel entirely on vacation!
The atmosphere was truly magical! Our suite was spotless, but the entire aura of the resort made us feel very Southwestern...a truly lovely spot nestled in the cliffs...very private and special. We owe a huge debt of gratitude to Connie and Karen, especially, and the entire concierge staff for making us feel so at home with their personalized service, attention to questions we had about the area, making reservations, and truly making us feel like friends at home away from home. Connie's special touches to go out of her way to make us feel on vacation I'd say were exceptional...Midwest friendly, as well as Southwest friendly:) We will absolutely be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Nice resort - lots of pools .. good place to relax

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Location. It was fairly close to the other activities we wanted to do.
Cons: This is an older property. There was only one hot tub where the jets worked ... other tubs jets not working and cold. Some fountains need repair
Location: It is north Phoenix. We were there for family outing so sorry not sure what is nearby
Our experience was good. There are lots of pools .. we were there with family so enjoyed sitting under the umbrellas and relaxing while the kids swam. Service was very good. Staff very friendly. Room was big and comfortable. Bathroom huge, but sink is outside of bathroom so need a counter in the bathroom. Also the sink being outside the bathroom is ok but is small area so needs a shelf under the sink to hold our toiletries. Property is big, lots of different areas and pools to lounge and swim .. Something for everyone. Older but clean. Some of the fountains were not working properly, so although it didn't effect our stay, showed that there is some neglect on the property .. they should have it repaired. There are lots of hot tubs by the pools but of the ones in the main court yards only one had jets working and the other pools were pretty cool .... this definitely needs repair...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to hiking in pretty Arizona setting

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Hotel rooms have been remodeled but could use additional improvements, cleaning pools and common areas. Attention to details.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hi Hopes

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Parking
Room was very nice and clean. Friendly staff. Parking far from room and difficult to find. Hotel built on side of a hill hence good views but the roads on the property are very narrow and routes to the various building and rooms are confusing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel with a Few Minor Irritations

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: I love the setting, the foliage and the ways you can get away from the crowds. There are many small pool areas to get away for quiet reading.
Cons: The wireless internet needs upgrading if they are offering it as a perk. Also, the customer should always right when it comes to food orders.
Location: There were nice dining and shopping opportunities within driving distance as well as tennis, swimming, and waling opportunities at the resort.
The room was nice and I love the beauty of the grounds. Our room would have been better if the refrigerator was working. Opened the door to find everything in the fridge warm. It was fixed within a few hours but you would have thought that whoever stocked the minibar would have noticed that it was warm. The wifi that you pay for with the resort fees was practically non existent so if you need to check email or want to stream anything during your exercise workout, don't count on it. The wait staff was very attentive at the pool but if there was a problem with your order... less than stellar response.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Final 4

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Stayed here during recent Final 4. Everything was enjoyable. Only complaint I had was the bathroom set up. It was a split deal with tun/commode in separate room. The space was severely cramped, having to contort once inside to get the door shut. I am not a large person and in good shape. I would hate to see what an overweight person would do in that space