Ratings based on 860 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Room was horrible.

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Room was dirty, smelled of stale air and AC did not work..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nevada

A very, very beautiful and tranquil retreat.

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Pros: The food is fantastic, great service, beautiful, tranquil space with lush gardens and lots of little hidden spaces to discover all over the grounds
Cons: My only small suggestions are that even though the room itself was very lovely, the bathroom could be slightly more user-friendly. As with many luxur
Location: I think it is between Phoenix and Scottsdale in a quiet residential area. Desert Botanical Gardens is nearby and I think also the zoo
This hotel was perfect for a mini spa getaway! The spa is absolutely lovely and everyone at the hotel is very nice, with a very high level of service as you might expect in a hotel of this level. The pool area is gorgeous too, although during my visit in December it was a bit too chilly to swim. Did enjoy the eucalyptus steam room and outdoor hot tub at the spa, though. I also LOVED that apparently they use organic methods to maintain the lush, beautiful grounds which even include a grove of orange trees. Loved, loved the gardens with flowers blooming even in winter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely

Posted Dec 26, 2015
We splurged on one of the rooms with a fire place and it was totally worth it. The mattress is a bit to soft for my preference but the combination of rustic ambience and modern amenities is perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pros: Lieu historique et vaste domaine très calme
Cons: Restaurant TyCook n'offrait pas de menu dégustation comme avant
Location: Bien situé par rapport au vieux Scottsdale mais éloigné pour jouer au golf
Bel hôtel mais qui s'est détérioré depuis mon dernier séjour. Frais sur minibar injustifié ( Resort Fee ???) $30.00 US / jour. Sourire à la réception semble un extra
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay but overpriced for what it was

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Staff is nice
I knew about the $30 resort fee but they also had a $25 valet/self park fee. That surprised me. The room was clean but not overally comfortable. The TVs on the fitness center equipment did not work. I've stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world and for the price of the room and extra fees I expected a lot more. Did not hate it but would not bother going back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sebastien from New York

Mixed feelings

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful locale and great friendly staff but lots of niggles: resort fee and parking fee add $50/ day, and for that the wifi is spotty, the pool small and cold, the hot tub old and gym small and lacking equipment. On top of that our room wasn't cleaned one night and we were just by the freeway so couldn't enjoy the French windows. Beautiful grounds and views and great staff help mitigate some of that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Lovely grounds. Check in was a bit of a gruel...new employees. Service greatly improved throughout the stay. Very special and romantic property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Maintenance was lacking

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Nice place, peaceful, great atmosphere and location.
Cons: Plumbing. That was it.
Great place, but the toilet and shower backed up. We called and they responded quickly, but never really fixed the problem as it did it again. Staff was very nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2015 by sjohnson, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our relaxing resort and apologize for the challenges that you experienced with your room. We have since corrected the issues. We look forward to welcoming you back to Royal Palms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

5 Star

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Beautiful resort. Exceptional staff. Very intimate setting for a romantic getaway or just relaxing from the every day grind. Highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2015 by sescobedo, Hotel Management
Thank you for your thoughtful comments regarding your recent stay. It is our desire that every guest has the same experience that you did. We look forward to your next stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels