Ratings based on 904 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Staff & Grounds, Buildings / Décor dated

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Grounds, Staff, Location
Cons: Facilities general maintenance, rooms dark / dirtiesh feeling (need new carpets!!)
Location: great location close to shopping / eating
This is such a hard review to write in the right way .... ALL the staff at Royal Palms was amazing during our stay and don't want to take anything away from them.. The grounds are beautiful and amazing. Facilities and Décor are outdated. We got "one of their nicest rooms" and carpets beginning to look worn / dirty., The Spa is very overpriced for the level of the staff / services. I'm not a spa "snob" - but am experienced traveler / spa goer and the providers / services were NOT 5 star unfortunately, Overall, pricey for what you get but a nice place -just needs major updating without losing the charm / service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from z

Nice hotel with great ambience and location.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Staff was exceptional. Common areas were great. Would have upgraded to a courtyard facing room if I would have known the layout of the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

This was a very trying and difficult experience.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
The hotel has deteriorated significantly. Staff is unprofessional, lazy and completely unaccomodating to the guest. Limited room selection, poor dining options. We left 3 days early and booked another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Small, quaint hotel in central location. Beautiful property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Romantic hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Beautiful hotel with lush green trees, romantic walkways, and secret garden areas to sit and relax. We had a romantic getaway. The staff was very helpful when Expedia forget to send all the information of our itinerary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Lovely, small resort

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Royal Palms has a sense of history rare in Phoenix, even though most of the facility is new. Mainly it is just very comfortable and attractive. We enc
Cons: We have no real calls for improvement. Phoenix doesnt afford the stunning natural beauty of some places, but things within hotel comtrol are done well
Location: Hotel row at the edge of Scottsdale with hills. There are golf courses and shopping centers. We didn't draw much from the locality.
My wife and i just extended a business trip by an extra night's stay. Airline disasters cut many hours off how long we had, but Royal Palms was a soothing remedy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected Better

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Pool staff, location
Cons: Check in staff, check out staff, communication of fees
Location: Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale Shopping, Golf, Spa
A pleasing location and hotel appearance but disappointing staff and hidden expenses. Valet parking was not an option but was demanded. We chose to park our vehicle the second and third night as the parking is 30 seconds from our hotel room door. Still got charged over $30 a night for valet. When asked why, staff told me that everyone is charged this fee no matter what. Also a $25 resort fee per night. I would have been OK with this if I was informed upon arrival. When I checked in, there was no info given about anything. "Here is your room key and have a nice stay". I would expect this from a lesser hotel but was not expecting such poor treatment here. The one bright side was the pool staff. They were exceptional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Great resort for the price!

Posted Dec 13, 2016
The Royal palms is breathtakingly beautiful & romantic. Great bar & Sunday Brunch. Fine dining in the Restaurant but if they seat you on the patio, there are no tablecloths. Just cold tile table tops. NOT appropriate for evening fine dining!!! The bathrooms are dark. Room has no place to sit with enough light for ladies to apply make up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

true gem

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Small and quiet. Excellent staff from valet to cleaning staff. Will stay again with family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Royal Palms Resort Valet Staff go above and beyond

Posted Dec 5, 2016
The valet staff was so amicable and inviting. The town car service was invaluable towards us being able to hike the full trail at camel back mountain. We visited from Chicago and were utterly impressed and grateful for their valet staff convivial approach to getting us acclimated to Arizona. Never before have we felt so welcomed by a hotel staff. The food was impeccable the staff on all fronts was just a joy to be around. We will absolutely be returning and we would like to wish their entire staff a happy and prosperous end to 2016. Cheers, Ryan and Katie (Chicago)