Ratings based on 891 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Royal Palms Resort Valet Staff go above and beyond

Posted Dec 5, 2016
The valet staff was so amicable and inviting. The town car service was invaluable towards us being able to hike the full trail at camel back mountain. We visited from Chicago and were utterly impressed and grateful for their valet staff convivial approach to getting us acclimated to Arizona. Never before have we felt so welcomed by a hotel staff. The food was impeccable the staff on all fronts was just a joy to be around. We will absolutely be returning and we would like to wish their entire staff a happy and prosperous end to 2016. Cheers, Ryan and Katie (Chicago)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Be careful of extra fee!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
First time I've experienced the hotel asked me to pay extra fee per day which is cleaning fee($32) and parking fee($25) when I was about to check in. I've never experienced hidden fee when I booked through Expedia.com. That is the first time. You should warn the Royal Palm or indicate extra fee on website as a bold letters. I feel soooooo bad about this. This is not about money, it is about trust of Expedia.com which has not offer hidden fee or extra fee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, United States of America

The Royal Palm needs a makeover

Posted Nov 13, 2016
This Royal Palm hotel is a beautiful hotel with lots of character, we were very impressed with the restaurant and the grounds. The staff was very accommodating and on top of their game throughout. The rooms were well below standard and need an extreme makeover while maintaining the character of the hotels old world charm which is very unique. In addition, the management team should consider upgrading the location of the fitness center to and area with a view of the mountains.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, UK

Good then better

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Pool and ambience
Cons: Room allocation. Check in staff told porkies about availability to change rooms.
Location: Fashion Square, Old Scottsdale, Western Museum excellent, Desert Botanical Gardens very different from home.
Initial room 139 faced kitchen exhausts and fan noise was disappointing- did not sit out on patio! Changed room room 131- very quiet and faced gardens. Food excellent but expensive. Watch resort fees and overnight parking fees - not readily published when booking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Private, intimate, and tasteful in all respects

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff offering excellent service
Cons: While intimate, the bathroom lighting was poor for makeup, etc.
Location: Great location - but we did not have time to.enjoy all that was available nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great hotel. Only complaint: tv too small for distance from bed in my room. Either need closer or change size of tv. Minimal complaint in an outstanding property.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Hotel was busy, our room never was cleaned before 300pm. Cleaning was always in a hurry so never took all our trash.
5 out of 5
by Nancy from Chandler, Az.

Spectacular!

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
We booked a room for my husband's birthday weekend. We were pleasantly surprised upon check in to be upgraded to a large villa! It was gorgeous. Tucked away by itself, the area was so quiet. It was like we were the only ones there. The villa was huge with an inside and outside shower, 2 patios and a fireplace outside and one inside. The management also brought my husband a plate of chocolate dipped strawberries and a bucket filled with sparkling water. We had drinks in the bar which was nice and cozy. We had breakfast at the restaurant and the service was excellent and so was the food. One of the main reasons we booked this room was because of the solitude. We didn't want wild water park type pool areas and paddle boats and water slides. We just wanted to relax without screeching and screaming. This was the place! The water was the perfect temperature (cool water added in the summer) and it was peaceful. One man was on his cell phone a bit loud for over 2 hours which was irritating but it wasn't the fault of the resort. We rented a cabana for the day and enjoyed the sun/pool when we wanted and the shade of the cabana when it got too hot. We ate at the pool cafe and the food was great and the service was good. We truly felt like we had stepped into a Mediterranean estate and were pampered accordingly. Do not hesitate to book this resort! We will be back!
5 out of 5
by Heidi from Temecula

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was awesome. The internet was terrible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Lovely place!

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Grounds, appointments, quaintness, staff.
Cons: New mattresses
We completely enjoyed our couple nights at Royal Palm. It's quaint and quiet, grounds are beautiful, and rooms are well appointed! As well, the staff were very attentive! My only complaint is the mattress was well worn, thus, we both rolled to the center. I hear it was just acquired by Hyatt so I assume the mattresses will be changed out soon. Thank you, Royal Palm Resort, for a wonderful get away!