Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Romantic hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Beautiful hotel with lush green trees, romantic walkways, and secret garden areas to sit and relax. We had a romantic getaway. The staff was very helpful when Expedia forget to send all the information of our itinerary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Lovely, small resort

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Royal Palms has a sense of history rare in Phoenix, even though most of the facility is new. Mainly it is just very comfortable and attractive. We enc
Cons: We have no real calls for improvement. Phoenix doesnt afford the stunning natural beauty of some places, but things within hotel comtrol are done well
Location: Hotel row at the edge of Scottsdale with hills. There are golf courses and shopping centers. We didn't draw much from the locality.
My wife and i just extended a business trip by an extra night's stay. Airline disasters cut many hours off how long we had, but Royal Palms was a soothing remedy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected Better

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Pool staff, location
Cons: Check in staff, check out staff, communication of fees
Location: Camelback Mountain, Scottsdale Shopping, Golf, Spa
A pleasing location and hotel appearance but disappointing staff and hidden expenses. Valet parking was not an option but was demanded. We chose to park our vehicle the second and third night as the parking is 30 seconds from our hotel room door. Still got charged over $30 a night for valet. When asked why, staff told me that everyone is charged this fee no matter what. Also a $25 resort fee per night. I would have been OK with this if I was informed upon arrival. When I checked in, there was no info given about anything. "Here is your room key and have a nice stay". I would expect this from a lesser hotel but was not expecting such poor treatment here. The one bright side was the pool staff. They were exceptional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Great resort for the price!

Posted Dec 13, 2016
The Royal palms is breathtakingly beautiful & romantic. Great bar & Sunday Brunch. Fine dining in the Restaurant but if they seat you on the patio, there are no tablecloths. Just cold tile table tops. NOT appropriate for evening fine dining!!! The bathrooms are dark. Room has no place to sit with enough light for ladies to apply make up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

true gem

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Small and quiet. Excellent staff from valet to cleaning staff. Will stay again with family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Royal Palms Resort Valet Staff go above and beyond

Posted Dec 5, 2016
The valet staff was so amicable and inviting. The town car service was invaluable towards us being able to hike the full trail at camel back mountain. We visited from Chicago and were utterly impressed and grateful for their valet staff convivial approach to getting us acclimated to Arizona. Never before have we felt so welcomed by a hotel staff. The food was impeccable the staff on all fronts was just a joy to be around. We will absolutely be returning and we would like to wish their entire staff a happy and prosperous end to 2016. Cheers, Ryan and Katie (Chicago)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Be careful of extra fee!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
First time I've experienced the hotel asked me to pay extra fee per day which is cleaning fee($32) and parking fee($25) when I was about to check in. I've never experienced hidden fee when I booked through Expedia.com. That is the first time. You should warn the Royal Palm or indicate extra fee on website as a bold letters. I feel soooooo bad about this. This is not about money, it is about trust of Expedia.com which has not offer hidden fee or extra fee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, United States of America

The Royal Palm needs a makeover

Posted Nov 13, 2016
This Royal Palm hotel is a beautiful hotel with lots of character, we were very impressed with the restaurant and the grounds. The staff was very accommodating and on top of their game throughout. The rooms were well below standard and need an extreme makeover while maintaining the character of the hotels old world charm which is very unique. In addition, the management team should consider upgrading the location of the fitness center to and area with a view of the mountains.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, UK

Good then better

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Pool and ambience
Cons: Room allocation. Check in staff told porkies about availability to change rooms.
Location: Fashion Square, Old Scottsdale, Western Museum excellent, Desert Botanical Gardens very different from home.
Initial room 139 faced kitchen exhausts and fan noise was disappointing- did not sit out on patio! Changed room room 131- very quiet and faced gardens. Food excellent but expensive. Watch resort fees and overnight parking fees - not readily published when booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Private, intimate, and tasteful in all respects

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff offering excellent service
Cons: While intimate, the bathroom lighting was poor for makeup, etc.
Location: Great location - but we did not have time to.enjoy all that was available nearby.