Ratings based on 1,909 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
We came from canyons to sleep one night at this hotel, the room wad confortable but nothing special, it looks like a 3 stars hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Love love love.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Went to this hotel after searching online for a "hip" spot to spend my staycation at with a few of my girlfriends. This hotel was nothing short of amazing. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were awesome. They have a great rooftop deck with bar. They provide you with a $10 breakfast voucher for the Tanquilo restaurant. I was definitely not expecting that. We are making an annual staycation trip for some girl time from here on it and the clarendon will for sure be our go to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Charles M., Hotel Management
Blanca, Thank you for the GLOWING five-star review! We are so thrilled that we were able to "wow" you and your girlfriends, and would be honored to be your annual staycation spot!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

VERY GOOD HOTEL

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable beds, nice room and staff very helpful and friendly. I never felt as if I was imposing on them because I asked them for something.
Cons: workout facility: cycle, treadmill, weights, dumbbells etc.
My wife and I regularly stay at this hotel. My only complaint during our stay is that the television in our room would not turn on easily. We couldn't figure it out. When we first entered it would not work and called the front desk and help came immediately. He said that the input was incorrectly set. But it still took up to 5 minutes to come on. My only wish is that this facility had a workout room for guests. Love the breakfast voucher and the breakfasts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Charles M., Hotel Management
Jake, Thank you for the four-star review of our property! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, our staff, and the food. I would also like to apologize for the difficulties you had with you TV. I have informed our maintenance staff so we can replace the it. We hope you will come visit us again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Loved the pet accommodations

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The staff & service is the best we've ever had. Everyone was extremely nice and loved the extra amenities! Will definitely stay again and recommend to all my friends & family!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Charles M., Hotel Management
Blanca and Amadeo, Thank you for the five-star review! We are extremely proud of our staff, and love to hear the great experiences that guests have. We look forward to the next time you stay with us! Welcome to The Clarendon Hotel and Spa family!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016
One of my favorite hotels anywhere. Great staff, restaurant and room. Even a free bag of candy every evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Charles M., Hotel Management
Thank you for the amazing five-star review! It sounds like you really enjoyed our staff, and were able to take advantage of our unlimited snacks and sodas (one of my favorite amenities here). We can't wait for you to come visit us again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Overpriced

Posted Nov 18, 2016
I booked two nights in a king suite thinking this hotel was somewhat of a luxury spot. It just wasn't what I anticipated. The Clarendon seems to be in a not-so-great part of Phoenix. I felt a lot of negative energy in the air upon arriving to the general area where the hotel is located. The room in general was uncomfortable. It had nice art but had been sloppily painted. The lighting was strange and inadequate for the space, particularly the lighted mirror above the vanity sink (I had difficulty applying makeup there). The atmosphere of the room felt more like a friend's shabbily decorated basement guestroom, definitely not a $200/night suite. Ben, the owner/manager there, insists that the bed and linens are the same quality as expensive 4 and 5 star hotels. That may be the case but I found the bed to be soft and flat and did not sleep well either night. Apparently, being told that the bed and linens were expensive was supposed to make me feel that I had, in fact, slept better than I did. While the hotel boasts some unique amenities, it lacked basic ones like drinking glasses and a microwave. I didn't stay at the hotel for free wine or live music, though I'm sure that's attractive to many. I chose the Clarendon because I value comfort and I was not comfortable there. When I travel I'm happy to pay a moderate to high amount for a comfortable hotel stay; I am not interested in paying for a particular image. If image is important to you, the Clarendon might be a good fit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Front Desk staff was very rude. Rm carpet stained.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Sofa bed non existant & FD could care-less, they smirk when you ask for anything. Broken lamps and old Ikea-ish furniture in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Charles M., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our property. We are deeply saddened that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to have some of the best staff in the industry, and I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience. I have also forwarded your feedback to our front desk and maintenance supervisors so we work can work to assess and resolve any problems. We hope you will give us another chance in the future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Wonderful experience

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: The people. The vibe. The food. Nice roof top bar. Great location too.
Cons: Pay me to stay here.
Location: For my trip, it was Celebrity Theater. Great place to see a show. Add Clarendon to your concert trip and you've got the full experience.
The facility itself is an eclectic blend of 50's - 60's retro/contemporary/modern. Hard to describe this fusion of styles, its been attempted elsewhere but not quite pulled off the way the visionaries for this hotel did it. Somehow, everything fits together nicely. The staff - every last one of them - were warm, welcoming, funny, personable and actually seemed happy to be there. The food is incredible! Try the flap jacks and do not miss the Chorizo! Double thumbs up! Every visit to Phoenix will include a stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Charles M., Hotel Management
Pat, Thank you for the amazing five-star review of our property! It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome to The Clarendon Hotel and Spa family!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Very nice hotel, staff was exceptional!!!!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: I can't say enough about the professional and friendly staff!
Location: We didn't have a lot of time on our first stay there, so we plan to return and I will be telling family and friends all about the Clarendon!
Exceptional service from all staff from the front desk to the wait staff that served us an amazing dinner! We are already making plans to return and make use of the spa services that are offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Charles M., Hotel Management
Debra, Thank you so much for you amazing five-star review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and excited for you to come visit us again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

First Class Staff

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Staff, Decor, Breakfast, Roof Top Lounge, Wine on the Roof and even the parking.
Cons: Mattress could be updated, but it was comfortable.
Location: Location was great, traffic not bad.
The Staff is First Class, Second to none. Treated with kindness and caring from the time we arrived until the time we left.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Charles M., Hotel Management
Ronald, Thank you for the glowing review! I have let our property coordinators know about your issue with the bed. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our staff and their exceptional level of service. We hope to see you again!