Ratings based on 1,047 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2017
The hotel/my room were very nice. Comfortable bed and clean room-couldn't have asked for more. Staff on the other side could use a little bit of love. When I was at the pool there was constant security walking through and looking around and I was just trying to relax. Workers at the bar also weren't too pleasing. Overall a nice hotel but like I said the staff have a little more work to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
First room air conditioner didn't work and no TV remote. This was corrected rapidly and professionally.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

No Wi-Fi

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Wi-Fi did not work in our room during our 4 night stay. After the staff was notified multiple times of this issue, it was still not resolved. The staff did not try to mitigate this issue with even a breakfast voucher or some other value added sign of acknowledgment of the issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Mary Beth Bennett, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and bringing this issue to our attention. I am so sorry to hear that your WiFi problem was not resolved, and that the severity of the issue was not acknowledged by the staff. We are working with our internet provider to resolve this issue, and will be following up with the team regarding their handling of the resolution.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice Pool view

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds and clean rooms
Cons: Maybe have two people working the front desk for check-ins when there is an even going on.
Location: We were close to the casinos and restaurants.
The hotel was very cute and the bed was SO COMFORTABLE. It was set up very conveniently and it was clean. We were only there for a night, but we will definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Fabulous location.
Cons: Pool was only cleaned once while there for 6 days, not kept to a better standard.
This was our second stay at the Saguaro in Scottsdale. We love the location of the hotel, right in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. The hotel is a brightly coloured hotel with very friendly staff. Everyone from the valet, groundskeeper and maid always said good morning or hello to us. Our room is getting a little dated now, but was kept very clean by the staff. The rooms are not insulated well and you can hear everything at night outside and down the halls including the guests that come home late at night. The biggest disappointment now is the pool. In the 6 days we were there in was cleaned once at the start. By the time we left the pool was not clean at all. Limes from drinks floating in the pool as well as sharp lid openers from beer cans. The general pool area was also unkept, coffee cups just left as well as used towels laying all over the place. Be aware you also have to pay a "resort fee" of $29 per day, this is the new way with many hotels of advertising one price then adding more money when you arrive. The person at the front desk said this was also to help pay for the internet, which once in your room is classified as "free" but you actually pay for it. Not sure what you really get for a resort fee. All in all it's an ok place, good location, but loud rooms when there are a lot of guests, unkept pool, and with the resort fee, one can probably get a better place in Scottsdale for the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Mary Beth Bennett, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I really appreciate your feedback, and your patronage of the hotel. We will be working on the cleanliness of the pool area to ensure that this is not the the case the next time you are back. We are so happy that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great location for Old Scottsdale

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The staff is outstanding. There is no other motel/hotel this close to Old Scottsdale. The minimalist refurb is pretty cool
Cons: We were very pleased but from the reviews it appeared some people though this was a resort. It is not but it had all we needed.
Location: It is either in Old Scottsdale or on the west border. I do not know which. Excellent location for restaurants and tourist shopping.
If you want to be near Old Scottsdale and do not have a car, this is the place. This is a refurbished 5 building motel with 2 swimming pools, exercise room, Spa, coffee shop and restaurant. The refurb is a funky minimalist. The east side of the parking lot is Old Scottsdale.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Mary Beth Bennett, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location as well as our newly updated rooms!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county, ca

Posted May 31, 2017
Pool party scene was fun! Clean hotel, friendly staff. Very close to many bars and restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Mary Beth Bennett, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy to hear that you had a fun afternoon at the pool party!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Cons: renew bath
nice.conviniant,frindly and sincere staff...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Mary Beth Bennett, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas Nevada

Not 4*

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Comfy bed
Cons: Too much to mention
Location: All good
Ideal for all the amenities Scottsdale Old Town has to offer but other than that, very disappointing! I did read a review before we booked this hotel and I now fully agree that the hotel has had a lick of multi coloured paint and seems to think that makes it a 4*, it's not, won't be staying there again. They also might want to re think their pet friendly policy as those without pets don't want to listen to a barking dog 24/7! As for chilling by the pool, there's too much competition for noise between the pressure washing of the concrete and the garden blower. Staff were very friendly though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Mary Beth Bennett, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave your feedback. I am so sorry that you were disturbed by noise during your stay. We work hard to ensure that all of our guests have a comfortable and relaxing time, and will use your feedback to continue to improve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from me mi

Looks great from the outside

Posted May 1, 2017
At first seemed like a older hotel until we got to the rooms. Looked more like a old motel. Rooms were severely outdated very tiny bathroom. Chipped paint and doors had been tampered with. Doorwall wouldn't open. No microwave. Good location but not worth the money. Old electrical outlets that barely worked.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Mary Beth Bennett, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am so sorry that you did not have a better experience while you were here. We work hard to make sure all of our guests are comfortable and relaxed during your stay, and will use you feedback to continue making improvements.