Ratings based on 1,857 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Disappointed

Posted Jul 18, 2017
For the price you pay, not worth it ever again in my books. Had a surprise $250 incidental fee, everything is outdated; the only pro is the location to Old Town. At that point I rather pay extra to stay at The W Scottsdale. The beds are SO uncomfortable. For a beer and a horrible Pina Colada it was $21, again not worth it. Rooms don't have enough places to hang towels or anything. Needless to say they also don't have a microwave. Everything is OVER PRICED and beware don't park you car under the tree canopies as your wake up to bird poop all over. While lounging by the poop you might get bird poop on yourself too. Definitely enjoyed the resort when it was once FireSky Resort, but never again will I book here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by The Scott Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Dear Andrea M, We are saddened to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you could tell, we are currently in the process of our renovation to update all our public space and the rooms will be renovated next summer. When you check in, we do put a incidental hold on your card so you are able to charge things to your room, most resorts will have this as well. We hope you can return after the completed renovation to experience our new product.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures are not at all accurate.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Cons: Let customer know that this property is under construction and the pictures are not up to date.
Pictures given by expedia about this property are not accurate. This resort is under construction and I found the property normal. Its not worth of 4 star I would say. The main entrance of this resort is closed and we entered from side. There was no feeling of resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by The Scott Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Hello, We are sorry you did not have the "resort" feel during your stay. We hope you were able to take advantage of some of our resort offerings such as our two pools, spa, restaurant and bicycles. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumming, GA

All the right pictures from all the right angles

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The pool and service. Not sure if anyone could top what was offered here.
Cons: I think if the rooms could be updated a bit it would help bring more value. They were nice but seemed to not have been updated in some time.
Location: Downtown Scottsdale was super nice. Plenty to do at night and during the day.
The images within Expedia really sold us on this place. Once we arrived we were a little disappointed. Maybe disappointed is not the right word here. We really enjoyed our stay with super friendly staff that goes out of their way to suite your needs. They even have a free shuttle that takes you around town and also picks you up to transit you back to your room. I believe this was just a case of being oversold by the images and a projection of what I would be seeing vs what I would really see. The one item that really stood strong against what was represented was the pools. This location includes 2 side-by-side pools and one includes a sandy area leading into the water. You also have pool side services including food and drink options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by The Scott Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Hello Jonathon, We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. We are excited that next summer we will be renovating all of our rooms and this summer we are completing our lobby, restaurant, bar and meeting space. We anticipate your return to experience the new product!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Hotel being altered

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Very helpful staff, the free bikes and shuttle.
Cons: Bring back the free wine hour (has been replaced with a happy hour ). Advise customers of on going work and reduce resort fee while this is going on.
Location: Great for restaurants, the modern art museum, Camel Back mountain and the fashion mall.
Had been to the hotel previously but now with new owners it was being altered, which i was not made aware of pre visit. So noise and not so much space in the lobby as before and not so many treats.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by The Scott Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Hello Andy, Thank you for taking some time out to review your recent stay. We apologize you were unaware of the construction. We hope you come back to see the new product when it is finished!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017
We had a great stay at The Scott. They were under construction while we were there, so finding the lobby and work out room was a bit awkward. The pool was great and the staff was very nice. The hotel will be amazing when the remodel is finished, we will definitely go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by The Scott Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled for the new product and we hope you can experience on you next time at The Scott.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Watch out - $29/night compulsory "Resort Fee"

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Cons: Drop the hidden charges
What they don't tell you about their rate is a compulsory $29/night surcharge. They call it a "resort fee" for use of pool, towels, drinking fountains around the resort, and use of complimentary wifi. Also don't get a downstairs room as you hear everyone in room above.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by The Scott Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Hello Phil, We appreciate you taking some time out to review your stay with us. We do charge a resort fee and we make sure it is noted on our website and any third party websites (like Expedia) when you are booking a room. The Resort Fee covers many things such as, a discount to our spa, wifi, our fitness center, complimentary bicycles, our shuttle within a 3 mile radius and much more. We do hope you were able to enjoy some of these amenities while you were on property and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

High hopes, totally disappointed

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: N/A
Cons: See above
As a 4 star rated hotel and resort we expected SO MUCH MORE. Here's what went wrong. When we arrived at the hotel we were ushered into a tiny unorganized room that was a temporary front desk while they were renovating. It was a depressing introduction to the hotel to say the least. We arrived at our room and the AC didn't work. We had to call the front desk several times to get someone to come and look at it. Even after they assured us it was taken care of it was unbearable for the duration of our stay. The hotel had two pools. Our second day one of the two pools was completely shut down and everyone was crammed into one pool shoulder to shoulder. Overall it was very dissappointing and I won't be returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

30$ undisclosed taxes added to bill per day.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Hotel is under reconstruction, which is not disclose on the site, as well, undisclosed taxes are added to the credit card which is used to cover amenities, and felt like a bait and switch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by The Scott Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking some time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. The amount you are referring to might be our Resort Fee. We make sure this is clearly stated on all sites, including Expedia. The Resort fee covers many things such as parking, valet, our complimentary shuttle, bicycles, WiFi and much more. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back to The Scott in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Disappointed

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Rooms, amenities.
Location: Fashion Square Mall , Old Scottsdale , nearby restaurants . .
Construction,room cleanliness,staff,and amenities made a disappointing 4th of July. We had two good experiences and those were with the bell staff. Three days of resort fees were excessive for what was available while construction was taking place. On our last day while waiting in the bar the constant jack hammer noise was not relaxing and only made us want to leave earlier. We understand that renovation are needed, but to charge full resort fees and to hold $90.00 a day for incidentals we believe was unnecessary. The resort did not display anything patriotic for the holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by The Scott Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Hello D., We are deeply disappointed to learn about your experience during your stay with us. I have to assure you, this is not of the norm at The Scott. We hope you reconsider us for a future visit to experience the new product.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Not what is pictured.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
I arrived and was charged an extra 60$ resort fee for the weekend, after I had called two days prior to my trip to confirm my overall total. Which did not include the extra taxes and resort fees. I was told my the front desk I need to read fine print when booking. Which is fine, however they do not tell you when you book they are "remodeling" and i had to find this rinky dink fitness center with a desk in the middle of it that looked like it was shoved in there because the entrance was closed. It's an old hotel, and what they have for pictures on Expedia is what I think they WANT it to look like after it's done. The rooms were dark, no lighting. My "pool view" was first floor with iron fencing in front of the room with two chairs outside on a little patio staring at the fence. The pool was dirty, and had bird feathers and leaves in every corner. Honestly not impressed and I'd rather pay extra and stay somewhere else where I didn't feel was trying to lie about their actual hotel. However they do have a shuttle until 11pm that will take you anywhere within 3 miles and the two gentleman we saw that weekend were very helpful for entertainment and restaurants in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by The Scott Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Hello Brittany, We do appreciate your feedback from your stay with us. Though we are very disappointed to learn you did not enjoy it. We would like the opportunity to speak to you about your stay, if you could reach out to us and ask for Brandon Howard at your convenience. Thank you.