Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Evanston, Illinois

Peaceful Escape

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: The Buddist sculptures.
Cons: There is some rust along side a angel by the shower and this area.needs reprinting.
Location: Well, for me the closest was the Heard muse.
Courteous greeting which oriented me to the area. Beautiful panels on the window and fascinating facets that felt like fountains. Adequate breakfast with the potential for a hot meal. Salt water pool adds to this Buddist area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB

Relaxation!

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Great location near downtown, shopping, restaurants. Very quiet, peaceful. Friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Shower for Sedona and Tucson rooms is terrible: broken showerhead, difficult to adjust temperature. Not up to the quality of the rest of the house.
Afternoons relaxing by the pool among the beautiful sculptures and landscaping; evening dips in the hot tub, enjoying the magical lights dancing on the trees and water. Breakfasts were delicious, and the self-serve bar / snacks were a welcome convenience. Our room was spacious with lots of closet space and a beautiful nearly-private sitting area outside next to a fountain.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Oasis in the middle of Phoenix

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: The privacy and the landscaping. The honor bar.
Cons: If the breakfast was included in the price.
Location: My stay was too brief to explore the neighborhood.
The pool area was so serene. At night it was lit with beautiful green lights. It is worth the stay just for the ambience of the pool area. There are various areas to sit out throughout the property. Every inch of the property is utilized in a natural setting. The room itself was cozy but it looked like it was hastily painted. The apparent closet was locked and that was a bit inconvenient. Again, all of this was offered in a suburb
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Telluride, CO

Calming Experience

Posted May 9, 2015
I didn't want a Motel 6 experience. The pictures of Zen Yard on Expedia looked tranquil and classy. And that is how it turned out...calming, unique, thoughtful, trusting. I loved the Honor Bar, though I didn't use it this time. I was happy enough, sitting outside my zendo, under the full moon, in my jammies, surrounded by green growing things and a goddess statue. Breakfast was divine. Next time, I will stay longer and enjoy more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Understand What It Is

Posted Feb 10, 2015
This place is clean and attractive, but you have to understand that you may not see any representatives of the company/B&B (we didn't really mind that, but it can be rather odd to walk in and find no one around). My main issue was how LOUD it was. Check out is at 11, and we slept in. Or would have liked to, but the breakfasting guests were EXTREMELY audible from our room (Sedona) and that was just too much intimacy with strangers. The design of the space could have been much better, and there is no bathroom adjoining the room we stayed in. To be fair, we knew that ahead of time. But knowing in theory is different from practice, and I have to say overall that "bathroom down the hall--so Euro" was just not for us. Nice place, probably nice people, poor construction of the house. And where are the baseboards???
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix az

ok but not what was expected

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: very private n relaxing
Cons: there was no way 2 contact employee or owner after hours
nice place if you want to get away.too quiet if you like to socialize
5 out of 5
by Avantika from Sacramento, California

Relaxing retreat for woman traveling alone

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: Location, honor bar, pool, relaxed and homey vibe
Cons: When I got out of the pool, it was dark. I would have liked to have the pool area lit up slightly.
I rarely stay at b-n-b's. I'm not a fan of their usual old-timey decor or inflated prices. However, ZenYard is anything but a traditional b-n-b. The price was reasonable & I was able to book hassle-free through Expedia. The owner texted me when the room was ready, although I was busy doing a Zen retreat in the wilderness. I purposefully rented the small room since it was cheaper. It faces the pool and was perfectly comfortable after a week in the desert. Nice pool. FULLY stocked honor bar. When I asked about a special tea I like, they got some out of their personal kitchen. I felt like I was staying at the home of a friend. The owners retained the library amassed by the former owner (a holistic health nut) and I paged through a few books before bed. Though I was traveling alone & am a budget traveler, the owners made me feel comfortable. They are apparently going through a lot of red tape to make this an eco-friendly b-n-b. There was a sudden monsoon rainstorm on the day I arrived. Just like that, the place became incredibly magical.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoNo, CT

Just book this place already....

Posted Apr 22, 2010
Never one to stay in a B&B always opting for a hotel room instead, I kept going back and forth trying to decide where to stay during my time in Phoenix. Over and over the ZenYard Guest house kept coming up. After reading the reviews and not knowing where I should stay, I finally booked a room. Let me tell you, had I known how amazing this place was going to be, I would have had an extra day traveling rather than spending so much time looking for a place. Eddie and Dale were the most gracious and amazing hosts. My room, which opened out to a beautiful covered patio, a jacuzzi within a bounding distance from the bed, and a grapefruit tree and Koi pond within 10ft was well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Eddie and Dale took over this house from the previous owner and have only added to the tranquillity that thier home has to offer. Up at 6:30, they were both brewing fresh coffee, tending to the elaborate continental breakfast nook, as well as picking fresh flowers for the breakfast table. They had a tea bar that offered several choices and was I happy to see that they had my Yerba Mate. There was a beautiful sparkling pool which had just been prepped for a photo shoot the day before. The bathrooms were spacious and well tended to. The rest of the house offered a cook's kitchen, a living room to watch t.v. and back patio complete with a soothing water fountain, comfy outdoor couches and fresh Arizona air. Want peace and great company? Stay here as Dale and Eddie are great.