Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The word "terrible" best describes this place..

Posted May 4, 2017
Terrible beds - the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept on at a hotel. The "mattress" was nonexistent - it felt like I was sleeping on just the box spring. Terrible food - the free breakfast is a joke. There's a reason why it's included. The selection is very limited and the taste is lacking. The one thing I enjoyed there were the pancakes - and these were made by a machine from pre-packaged mix. Terrible WiFi - don't expect to have working wifi in your room. I had to go down to the lobby/cafe everytime I wanted to do research or look at email. Noted: I was on the third floor and there are no elevators at this resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Ok choice for a tight budget

Posted May 2, 2017
Location on beach and walking distance to township is a plus. Hotel is a bit run down, breakfast choices have been reduced compared to a few years ago. Some bad smells coming from the water treatment plant that has been built nearby. Probably ok for the money but there could be better choices out there
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel set on a beautiful beach

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: I liked the location, the grounds, the large room, the pools. The reception and especially the excursion staff are very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Deal with sunbed hogging. Get restaurant staff to smile.
Location: It is on the sandy Bang Tao beach. 200 yards along the beach is the village with shops and restaurants.
Many people have mentioned that the hotel is a little 'tired' and I would agree with that, but with realistic expectations based on the good value price I would say that it is fine. The grounds are well kept. The two pools are different and both have their merits. The newer pool is interesting with islands and bridges etc but almost completely and closely surrounded by hotel rooms such that there's a feeling of being watched. The older pool is more basic, but is set more in grass and trees and I preferred it. The restaurant staff seemed unhappy. I think perhaps it was a thankless task for them dealing with demanding and rude guests (not us obviously :-) ) and they seemed unable to find a smile. The rooms are large and airy, with air conditioning (essential) and the cleaning staff were friendly and efficient. The walk down through the grounds to the beach (100 yards) was pleasant, and the beach was very nice and not overcrowded. We were the only brits in the hotel, which was odd. The rest seemed to be Chinese (25%) and Russian (75%) possibly due to it being Russian Orthodox Christmas while we were there and Chinese New Year coming up. Perhaps the biggest gripe was the tendency of the guests to 'claim' sunbeds as their own by tying them up with pieces of clothing etc. The hotel states that its policy does not allow people to claim sunbeds in this way, but did nothing to deal with it. It was rare to be able to get an unclaimed sunbed even first thing in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

I'd stay there again.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Had everything we needed.
Location: Excellent spot on the beach. Short drive to grocery store and other fun events. They have an events company in the lobby to help with anything.
Located on the beach. Huge free, fresh breakfast. The staff was very helpful and could answer most questions. Beautiful swimming pools.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Clean hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable hotel for my own privacy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Awesome employees saved them from a lower score.

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Orbitz
PROS: - Very awesome staff with excellent customer service and positive attitudes. - Complimentary breakfast had a decent selection. - Money exchange, laundry drop off, and great restaurant located across the street. CONS: - Rust came out of bathtub nozzle. - WiFi connection very weak in the rooms. - Hair in room service delivery. I should have stayed at the Outrigger. I stayed here because I was in town for a wedding and the bride and groom were staying here. We had friends booked at the Outrigger and we all agreed we should have stayed there instead. It would have been worth the price difference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Nice quiet hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: It was really quiet, so if you want to relax I would go here.
Cons: The wifi was not working properly, this should be definitely improved.
We stayed in this hotel in November as my boyfriend was taking part in Laguna Phuket triathlon and this hotel was just 15 min walk from the event. We stayed in Superior Deluxe room with the view of the sea. Room was clean and spacious. Nice buffet breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great for relaxing and right on the beach. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Gabriela from Peru

Great quality/value

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
All the staff was super friendly and helped whenever requested. Also great interaction with my little daughter, the food was good and the beach is beautiful!
2 out of 5
by chris from Australia

Good price, but hotel very tired

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 3 nights and even though the location suited us, (right by the beach) we found the staff attitude very low. The beds and pillows were very hard but this is usual for Thailand. The pool was nice the first day and then the 2and 3rd day suddenly turned green and we could not swim in it. Breakfast was very average. Checkout time was 12oclock and we were rung at 12.20 to remind us, we were down checking out 5 minutes later and they tried to charge us for a let check out fee. Suffice to say we wont be returning