Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
My wife and I found the hotel fantastic and can't fault it. We enjoyed the seclusion of the individual "villas" and the layout of the hotel on the hillside. We could hear the road from the balcony of our room (818) but it honestly didn't bother us and once inside we couldn't hear it. Staff were very friendly, helpful and anticipated our needs throughout our stay. The complementary breakfast was brilliant, lots of choice of Thai or Western dishes. The pool was large considering the number of guests for the hotel with plenty of Sun loungers. The pool-side menu had a variety of snacks and beverages that we really enjoyed. Brilliant value for money when flying from the UK. Our honeymoon was extra-special thanks to Ayara Hilltops. We hope to return!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Great hotel at Surin beach

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We stayed in the cheapest room advertised near the roadside and it was still of a very high standard. Plunge pool, terrace, separate lounge, bedroom and bathroom (with a bath and walk in shower). Pool area is nice but has a "spa" feel, if you want a bit of atmosphere probably not the hotel for you. Outside of hotel, Surin beach is 5 minute walk but nicer beaches are a short taxi ride away. The hotel offers a transfer to a beach club that had a great food and a good location. Breakfast at hotel was great and was great to be kids free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pampering exotic escape

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Best check in experience with cool towels, relaxation couch, and herbal water. Suite was a perfect getaway and we could easily have stayed there the whole week. Enjoyed the HQ exclusive beach resort and Ayara pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Beautiful hilltop resort with villa style

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: I love the serenity & greenery of the surrounding, great sea view & view of other part of the island. Nice room layout that gives great privacy
Cons: The transport to HQ beach lounge can be extended, so that as a guest we can go over for dinner. Meantime the transport stops at 6pm.
Location: Very near to Surin beach, family-marts & restaurants. 30mins to Patong Jungceylon & Airport
Awesome services from the staffs, they are always attentive & bring a smile every time you sees them. Nice breakfast plus good reasonable varieties. Great coffee. Very high standard dining at Spice restaurant, especially the pasta!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Private and tranquil

Posted Jan 22, 2017
We stayed 2 nights in the courtyard suite 1/3 up the hill. Our room was beautiful and large with distinct Thai feel. Felt like we were in our own private villa in tropical paradise. Staff were friendly. The only knock I have is the breakfast buffet could haven been better - not much in terms of selection. Overall, nice resort for a romantic couples getaway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

expensive hotel With low hygiene standard

Posted Jan 3, 2017
We are a couple of 70+ age. We stayed at the hotel before 2017 new year for 5 nights. This hotel is very quiet and we hardly see anyone around the poolside or lunch/dining area. You can really enjoy the peace and quietness. Usually 2-3 staff came to clean each room every day. daily room cleaning each time. They usually change bed sheet every 2-3 days unless you request them to change everyday or they see some obvious dirtiness. After I stayed 2 nights, I found one obvious big blood stain on one pillow case and another faint blood stain at the end of the bed sheet as shown in photos. As we did not have any bleeding. I felt angry and complained to the manager. She tried to find the reason but could not find any. She then told me the room had been vacant several days before we checked in and the maid should have changed everything. She apologised and asked the maid to change my bedding right away. On the next afternoon, to my extreme surprise, I found again there was a big brown stain at the end of the inner side of my blanket cover. This showed that the laundry job had not been done properly and the maids did not check carefully when they changed the bedding. I am very disappointed and annoyed by the hotel cleaning standard, I would not suggest anyone to spend on an expensive hotel with such low standard hygiene management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice and private resort yet close to beach

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Private, good and friendly staffs, nice view from suite, complimentary entry to a beach club at Kamala
Cons: Foods could use some more variety and options
Location: close to Surin beach, mini marts and restaurants within easy walking distance
relaxing resort, very good sweeping view of the Andaman Sea from our suite, which equipped with a nice relaxation dip pool and inviting outdoor rain shower. Staffs are friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

dream

Posted Nov 27, 2016
very relaxing and enchanting place to stay. friendly staff, always helpful. To remark the front desk manager. she is sooo sweet!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing management staff

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Had a bad experience about a late check out request with the Management staff. They told us that there is no issue if the hotel is not full. However they changed their mind, ask for additional fees and lied to us that the hotel was full, which was obviously a lie. I will personally not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TR

Excellent One Week

Posted Nov 22, 2016
We stayed at Ayara Hilltops for our honeymoon and everything was so perfect! The location is amazing very close to Surin Beach and local restaurants. The suite was also amazing with private terrace and wonderful view. Hotel staff was extremly helpful and attending. Spa was a perfect experience on our arrival date!! We would definetely stay here again, if we come back!!