Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Beautiful hilltop resort with villa style

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: I love the serenity & greenery of the surrounding, great sea view & view of other part of the island. Nice room layout that gives great privacy
Cons: The transport to HQ beach lounge can be extended, so that as a guest we can go over for dinner. Meantime the transport stops at 6pm.
Location: Very near to Surin beach, family-marts & restaurants. 30mins to Patong Jungceylon & Airport
Awesome services from the staffs, they are always attentive & bring a smile every time you sees them. Nice breakfast plus good reasonable varieties. Great coffee. Very high standard dining at Spice restaurant, especially the pasta!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Private and tranquil

Posted Jan 22, 2017
We stayed 2 nights in the courtyard suite 1/3 up the hill. Our room was beautiful and large with distinct Thai feel. Felt like we were in our own private villa in tropical paradise. Staff were friendly. The only knock I have is the breakfast buffet could haven been better - not much in terms of selection. Overall, nice resort for a romantic couples getaway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

expensive hotel With low hygiene standard

Posted Jan 3, 2017
We are a couple of 70+ age. We stayed at the hotel before 2017 new year for 5 nights. This hotel is very quiet and we hardly see anyone around the poolside or lunch/dining area. You can really enjoy the peace and quietness. Usually 2-3 staff came to clean each room every day. daily room cleaning each time. They usually change bed sheet every 2-3 days unless you request them to change everyday or they see some obvious dirtiness. After I stayed 2 nights, I found one obvious big blood stain on one pillow case and another faint blood stain at the end of the bed sheet as shown in photos. As we did not have any bleeding. I felt angry and complained to the manager. She tried to find the reason but could not find any. She then told me the room had been vacant several days before we checked in and the maid should have changed everything. She apologised and asked the maid to change my bedding right away. On the next afternoon, to my extreme surprise, I found again there was a big brown stain at the end of the inner side of my blanket cover. This showed that the laundry job had not been done properly and the maids did not check carefully when they changed the bedding. I am very disappointed and annoyed by the hotel cleaning standard, I would not suggest anyone to spend on an expensive hotel with such low standard hygiene management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice and private resort yet close to beach

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Private, good and friendly staffs, nice view from suite, complimentary entry to a beach club at Kamala
Cons: Foods could use some more variety and options
Location: close to Surin beach, mini marts and restaurants within easy walking distance
relaxing resort, very good sweeping view of the Andaman Sea from our suite, which equipped with a nice relaxation dip pool and inviting outdoor rain shower. Staffs are friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

dream

Posted Nov 27, 2016
very relaxing and enchanting place to stay. friendly staff, always helpful. To remark the front desk manager. she is sooo sweet!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing management staff

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Had a bad experience about a late check out request with the Management staff. They told us that there is no issue if the hotel is not full. However they changed their mind, ask for additional fees and lied to us that the hotel was full, which was obviously a lie. I will personally not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TR

Excellent One Week

Posted Nov 22, 2016
We stayed at Ayara Hilltops for our honeymoon and everything was so perfect! The location is amazing very close to Surin Beach and local restaurants. The suite was also amazing with private terrace and wonderful view. Hotel staff was extremly helpful and attending. Spa was a perfect experience on our arrival date!! We would definetely stay here again, if we come back!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great but expected a lot more!

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The view
Cons: There was a roach in our bed.
I was looking forward to staying at this resort. My husband and I stayed and two other resorts prior to our last leg of our trip here at Ayara. Given the high rating, I wasn't surprised at how huge our villa was! It had an impeccable view. We also had the outdoor shower which I would've enjoyed but I'm also prone to getting mosquito bites so I had to be careful. Our package came with breakfast and breakfast is our favorite part of our day. We were so disappointed with the breakfast buffet, there weren't a lot of options! It was pretty shocking actually. Lastly, on our last night, my husband woke up to a roach on his arm in our bed! He jumped out of bed and brushed the roach off. We turned on the lights and there it was, on the floor. I stayed up the entire night after that, I was terrified. All in all, it's a beautiful resort and is presented very well. However, we were disappointed with the roach in our bed and the breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Amazing Resort and Staff

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: We loved everything: the villas, the food, the architecture, the views, the friendly staff, the spa. Everything was perfect!
Location: Patong is good for shopping. The Blue Marlin and Riverside Restaurant have great food and are within walking distance.
This place was perfect for our stay! The villas make you feel right at home with the spacious floor plans, privacy, cleanliness, and very welcoming staff. We really enjoyed the beautiful walks to and from our villa in the mornings for breakfast. If you don't want to walk, you can just request the buggy to take you to your room. We took advantage of the spa option when we arrived and we really enjoyed the couples massage. The Surin beach is just across the street. There are really great restaurants close by that we enjoyed walking to. Patong is a short taxi away if you want to shop and/or party but still far enough away to feel like you're in a very relaxing area, which was exactly what we wanted. We enjoyed the pool and the poolside food service from the hotel restaurant (the green curry and mango sticky rice were our favorites). The breakfast buffet was amazing! We also did the cooking class which was very informative and fun! The staff was so great; very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this resort!