Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location, close to beach ,

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Very good location, just across the road from beach, plenty of restaurants nearby, The hotel was ok , staff were friendly, the room was a bit dated , needs brightening up , Smelt of drains sometimes, Nice pool , not many sun beds,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great location

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Small, awesome staff. They took very good care of us.
Cons: I cant think of anything
The hotel was in a great location. River taxi a two minute walk away, plenty of dining, shopping in the area. You can walk to the major sights, The Grand Palace for example. We had a balcony room. It was fun to have morning coffee and watch the river traffic. The hotel staff were excellent. I would absolutely stay here again. Also free drinking water and coffee in your room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham

Seen Better Days

Posted Mar 3, 2017
The Baan Karonburi Resort as the title suggests has indeed seen better days. On the bonus side the room was large, the shower worked okay, the chamber maid did a very good job & the breakfast "egg man" did a good job. Minus points for me were general upkeep was much needed for the fabric of the resort including the pool area, there was a distinct lack of any visual management presence so staff were not that quick to react to requests. Final point the wifi was really poor, value for money? probably broke even and I would try one of the many alternatives next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach his close, an older hotel so dated & worn.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Had a relaxing time, plenty of sunbeds at the pool. Breakfast very Thai based, you get a selection of main meals for breakfast. Fruits, salad, eggs station available too and as much as you can eat. Staff are v.nice the cost of taxis and tour are more expensi e through the hotel but that is usually the way.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but could do be cheaper.

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok, the bathrooms could do with an update....used cleaner showers in hostels. A/C was slow and would give out an initial mouldy/damp smell when turned on but would eventually cool the room after an half and hour. Customer service felt less personal from the front desk, but totally spot on from the pool bar boy, he made up for the rest of them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Worth Tx.

Hotel Conditions.

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Upon arrival, our room was not ready. We waited 45 minutes in heat and humidity. Walked about 75 yards to the back of the hotel to get to our room. Constant odor of sewage.Given only 1 key per room. Paid for taxi service to airport prior to departure. Upon time of departure, no taxi available. Waited 30 minutes to find someone to take us to the airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good resort for low cost

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The cost per night for an equivalent quality in the US was about 50% of what we would normally pay. Resort was right on the beach and close to shops.
Cons: King size bed was two twin mattresses pushed together with no connector between mattresses which was a little uncomfortable when sharing with a spouse
Location: Resort was pretty much on the beach. Many places had excursions and water activities that could be purchased. Resort was close to shops and restauran.
The cost was very reasonable for a beach front resort. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was free and included more than just a continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Great location and pool

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
we had a great stay we loved the size of the rooms and the beach front location was excellent, the rooms need a bit of maintenance but for what we paid it was excellent and Karon beach is great only 10 minutes to patong but not so crouded
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were friendly and helpful. I found that the lighting in the room was too dim to read. The location of the hotel was great. It was near the beach, eateries and shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penang

Good location

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Good location on Karon beach with all amenities close. Quiet setting though plenty of people on the street.
Staff on arrival were helpful. Room was fine for the short stay and the air conditioner worked well for sleeping. Sitting on the verandah gave us views of the ocean. The beach was across the road and to the right and left of the hotel were restaurants, stalls, shops and ATMs. Good for a relaxing holiday.