Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Pooja

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting, physically demanding,

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a two bedroom chalet with pool and sea view; however, was impossible to get the aircon to a comfortable temperature. It had nice views and no sight of the port and oil terminal! Accomodation was fine, but you have to be quite fit to enjoy Cape Panwar hotel - getting about in the hotel and down to the beach is a bit of a challenge and the walk to local restaurants is quite demanding (but a bus is provided)! Regarding food - I felt like I was at a Butlins Holiday camp on occasions with much emphasis on buffet food! I don't come to such a lovely place in order to queue for food. Also, there seemed to be a large proportion of trainee staff who were very willing and helpful, but overall I think there was a shortage of management to oversee the operation. Overall my impression was that the hotel attracts a lot of short stay package holiday makers that pass through in a few days. Cape Panwa hotel has a lot going for it, but could be a lot better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Fading glory

Posted Nov 20, 2016
It is an old hotel with its heyday in the 90ties. It is not trendy, modern, cool! Front of the hotel is a large parking lot and back of the hotel has a nice view over the bay. But the pool area is facing away from the nice view and onto the hotel building (not very attractive) The pool itself is old and loungers are visibly old. It's just not very nice. Breakfast is ok - bit basic for a 5 star hotel and it feels like an impersonal canteen but there is a choice of food. Beach area is tragic - it's at the bottom of the resort and it's a mess. All loungers are on top of each other at all different angles, nobody really manages that. There is no privacy since everyone is on top of everyone else. Some people end up with 2 umbrellas and some with none. There are waiters only but no staff who would help manage the chaos. We ended up at the pool but it's not very nice and has no sea view. The crowd is mostly older and there are Thompson holiday reps and guests. I'd not stay there since it's quite expensive and it's really quite disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Private beach and plenty of space

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Cons: Wanted a massage on the beach and was told it was fully booked yet we never saw one person getting one! The food at panwa house. How to deal with rain
We went for four days for a friend who was getting married nearby. We enjoyed the jacuzzi on the balcony, the huge room, the perfect swimming waters out front, the pools. The breakfast buffet was good and the scenery and setting was rest. Incredible value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Comfortable hotel worth the price

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: It is pleasant and comfortable. Very good value for the price indeed.
Cons: The staff could be better at anticipating guests needs. I found myself chasing them to get attention at times, but they were responsive to my needs.
Location: It is far, but not completely isolated. It is possible to find shops and massage salons nearby, although be prepared to walk up and down a steep hill.
I had a great suite room for a great price. The hotel is comfortable, clean, and well maintained. The staff is not on top of things, but once alerted, attended to my needs properly. The main pool is good. And there's a second nice little pool by the beach. The beach itself is pretty, with nice beds to lay, and a beach restaurant and bar, but is full of dangerous rocks. Do not even dare to go in the water barefooted. Even with shoes you must be careful not to stumble and end up with a nasty scratch from sharp rock, as the water is also very shallow in a large area. The breakfast was pretty good. The open air restaurant by the pool is very pleasant. It is possible to walk outside and find massage shops and restaurants nearby, although is a rather isolated area. I was very grateful the hotel provided a nurse to attend to my girlfriend and give medication when she was feeling nauseated from a road trip. This was a free service. Old Phuket town is a 20 min ride away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai

Not the newest property but kept well in shape

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Nice hotel. Some areas are nicely renovated but the overall architecture gives it some vintage feel. There are some really nice details like an old cablecar and an old wooden villa on the beach.
3 out of 5
by Richard from UK

Nice Room, Poor Food/Service/Accessibility.

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great holiday with all the family, the cape suite was a good size and done up nicely. On the down side there are steps everywhere, if you are in a wheel chair or have a double push chair, then you are really limited as the lift is tiny and stops 5 flights of stairs up from the beach, and the road way is very steep! With a few exceptions, housekeeping for instance, the staff generally didn't want to be there and they let it show. Food choice is very limited, 1 nice restaurant, and 2 others serving the same mediocre food, but the biggest mistake is the beach bar stops food at 4:30 and closes all together at 6 (though you'd have thought it was already closed)! re-train the staff, change the executive chef, open the beach bar into the night, install a bigger lift down to the beach and a few more ramps and you would have a really great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from -

Very pleasant stay

Posted Jun 28, 2016
We stayed in the cape suite and the room was very spacious and clean! The pictures of the rooms the hotel used to advertise on their website are a very true portrayal of the real room. The hotel may look a little aged on the outside, but it is very clean (I do see the hotel staff constantly picking up any trash they see around). Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful too. Despite being located in a really secluded area in Phuket, the hotel provided ample activities such as various water sports, trips to coral island on their boat and also shuttle services to Patong and Phuket Town, so that kept us occupied. The private beach was also a plus point! Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay!
3 out of 5
by Anne from Melbourne

Not an ideal stay

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
We had a number of issues 1. No lifts and our room on the second floor. 2. Requested latex pillows from pillow menu - didn't receive until second night. 3. Noisy Japanese checking out at 5am - yelling and slamming doors. Staff did not request they have consideration for other guests.