Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near beach and shops

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Location. Convenient and cheap. Within walking distance to shops restaurants and the beach. Pool was handy. The staff was friendly and gave us late checkout and let us use facilities until our departure. Cooked breakfast with lots of choices.
Cons: Shower could do with a good scrub/bleach. Some staff didn't speak much English.
Location: Lots of shops, restaurants and beach within walking distance. 90% of tourists were Russian in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice close to the beach and not busy

Posted Oct 11, 2016
great experience and beautiful swimming pool. hotel staff concentrate with us although we are thai
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dhaka

One of The best hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Staffs really helpful and friendly. If I visit again I'll stay in this hotel. They have a beautiful rooftop swimming pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

The hotel is nice and close to the beach

Posted Aug 21, 2016
The hotel is very clean and comfortable and lovely hotel. It's very near to the beach. There is a staff attitude is very bad and impatient but the rest of the staff are very friendly although they can't really speak English.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

THIS HOTEL IS A DUMP, SMELLS LIKE SEWAGE & BLEACH

Posted Jan 28, 2016
This hotel is in dire need of renovations and deep cleaning. I'm usually very generous with my reviews as I'm well traveled and I know what to expect for my dollars. I wasn't expecting luxury here ...but this one is a complete dump! I changed rooms the first night because the bedding wasn't changed from previous guests. Ewwww! Thank goodness I always travel with my own set of sheets. My bedding wasn't changes for 4 days, cleaning staff kept rotating the duvet ewwww. Also their idea of views were street transformers. The smell that radiates from the hotel is toxic and the staff acknowledges it but offer no solutions to fix. I sprayed perfume every night just to get thru it. The pipes in both rooms have mildew and the shower spills out to the entire bathroom...And most IMPORTANTLY there was no hot water in my shower but scalding hot water in the sink. The pool is the only saving grace for this hotel and its proximity to the beach. Great views at sunset! Staffing it is intermittent at the pool so bring your own drinks and food! Wifi is horrible in rooms! If you need wifi, pool area is your best bet. Pictures online are deceiving. I've since changed hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Not worth the price.

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: Staff, bed.
Cons: Bad smell through hotel, room design is cut off and cramped.
Location: Everything is nearby, great food, beach and shopping in Karon town.
We booked a hotel in Patong for a similar price, which was just in another class above Grand Sunset. The rooms and bathroom were cramped, and the hallways and lobby had a terrible smell during our stay. Can't fault the staff though, when we asked for anything it was delivered promptly, like more toiletries and pillows. Our hot water simply stopped working at one point, but they sent a repairman swiftly and it was fixed in an hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great hotel with fantastic roof pool.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean and desanded and the roof top pool was great. Though our room smelt a little funny. Though restaurant was too expensive for those on small budget i.e. Backpackers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Friendly staff, clean and close to the beach.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Highly recommend this hotel. It's contemporary and has a fab roof top pool with stunning views. The staff are extremely helpful, your room is cleaned every day, towels are replaced and bed is made up. To conclude, this hotel is good value for money, comfortable and walking distance to the beach. Apart from a cold shower (which is a nice change from the heat) I would definitely come back here and recommend to others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Close to beach wt a roof top pool

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: There is a smell around the lobby going into the restaurant... maybe coming from toilet
Location: 10 mins walk to the beach.. massage near by . Restaurants and shop walking distance...
We went there during low season. Booking was made 4 months earlier and I realize the hotel price drop. When ask for free upgrade , the wants to charge extra 500baht ... Hotel wasn't even full and they can't make the guest happy ... very disappointing... Pool view would be perfect if the hotel next to it roof wast blocking it .... it would b perfect infinity pool . Staff are friendly and helpful but I won't go back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel!

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Had a lovely stay at the Grand Sunset. 2min walk to the beach and plenty of shops/restaurants/massage parlours around. Friendly staff, clean, modern rooms, amazing pool on the roof with a cool view, especially after dark. Highly recommend.