Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitzingen, Germany

OK hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Cleanlines
Location: Karon beach, busy but not like Patong, clean water
Hotel was once very good, now old and not well mainteined, but overal ok for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Get what you pay for

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Staff very helpful and courteous
Cons: Lack of general building maintenance and comfortable chairs, bed, pillows
Location: Excellent position to all restaurants and transportation and beach.
Room needs to be made more comfortable with some chairs. Softer beds and pillows. General appearance of hotel needs some improvement with some painting and cleaning. Staff were very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Location

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and great location.
Cons: As mentioned the hotel could do with an update. Would be great to have chairs on the balcony.
Location: Everything is within walking distance. Surf, swim, snorkel, shop, eat out and entertainment all just around the corner.
Hotel was located close to beach, shopping and restaurants. The hotel itself is in need of renovation, but you get what you pay for and for the price the hotel is ok! Unfortunately we had a room at the front of the resort and were kept awake by very loud music from a nearby venue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mandurah WA

Hotel close to Beach

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, value for money
Cons: Lay out of room,now having toilet and shower located in bedroom with glass screens around both.
Location: Meters from main street with shops and Restaurants
Value for money Hotel, close to beach and shops, large sliding window to room would benefit from "net/sheer" curtains as well as block out curtains, giving privacy in room but allowing heavy curtains to be open
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2015
Staff was awesome, close to beach, great breakfast, family friendly. Will come back for more!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice Resort Nearby Beach

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Location, nearby beach, Breakfast. Lovely swimming pools. Great staff.
Cons: Guests shouldn't have to pay for in room safe. Need new mattresses, some are a worn out and also quite hard . more deck chairs needed near the pool.
Location: Nearby beach. Beautiful sunsets at the beach down & across the Road. Lot's of shops and restaurants around the corner.to the left.
Got upgraded at check in from a Pool View Room to a Sea View Room but found the stairs too much hard work, so we were able to be moved back to a Pool View Room. Breakfasts were well presented and had a good choice of dishes for everyone. Lovely swimming pools. Didn't like interconnecting door to another room We were fortunate however that the other room was unoccupied during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Comfortable, close to the beach, staff just OK

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Karona resort and spa is overall a nice place to stay. The dining area is pleasant, by a little pond with the statues you'll see in the pictures here and they have a pool as well. Breakfast is decent-- they do fried/scrambled eggs for you fresh, and have lots of options. Fresh fruit, pancakes and also usually a few thai dishes too. The room is also decent, king size bed, good A/C and a clean enough bathroom. Its very close to the beach and walking distance to many shops etc, though there are some bad restaurants around. Better to turn left and go up the little hill than go right and walk into town. My one beef with this place is that on the day we were leaving, our ride hadn't shown up on time and the staff offered to call and ask about it. As she was on the phone, she got out her calculator, punched in a number and rudely said I had to pay her by the minute to make the phone call. It was pennies to me, but still just sort of a rude gesture. I've never stayed in a hotel where the staff didn't just do that sort of thing for you out of courtesy. I probably wouldn't go back here because of that, but overall its decent value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

This is the place

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not a thing
Location: 300 feet from the beach and within walking distance to the entire Karon area.
In my opinion, this was a 5 star hotel for a 1 star price. Very clean, very quiet, and about 300 feet from the Andaman Sea and beach. I originally booked for 2 nights and wound up staying for 7. I did not want to leave. The rooms were fantastic, exactly like the pictures.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Close to the beach

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: It's quiet and staff are friendly and always ready to help.
Cons: Fix spa.
Location: There are some good restaurants nearby. Long stretch of beautiful sandy beaches but littered with rubbish.
Staff is caring and attentive to details. Generous spread for breakfast in the morning. Only thing is if you are staying there for some time you'll be eating the almost same thing day in, day out. Nice swimming pool, however spa does not work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

4 Days in Phuket

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: I loved that it was clean and modern.
I initially booked 2 nights at Katona and extended for 2 additional nights. Great location, right off the main road and tucked away at the bottom of a hill. The hotel is modern, updated, and clean. I was able to walk to all the restaurants and shops . Very well ticked , I paid. $33 per night while I was there and got a massage too.