Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Mark

Convenient and close to the beach

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
Karon beach is a city beach. Hotel is very close to the beach. Clean and big rooms. Breakfast is very nice. Service is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

great view from sea view room

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: relax at the lovely pool or go to the beach
Cons: WIFI is bad
Location: close to restaurants but street to go there is very busy, partly no real footpath and might be hard if you not good walking or with kids, pram
Great view from sea view room and to go up there is a good exercise, close to beach and restaurants, friendly staff, good breakfast at pool area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with short walk to the beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel in Karon, with the advantage of being within walking distance to both Karon and Kata Beach. The staff are very friendly, although you might need a bit of patience with their English if you have any complicated matters that need solving. We stayed in hotel room 502 which had a nice ocean view. Do note, though, that the balconies are incredibly small - we never really used ours as it barely fit two chairs and there was little privacy. As noted by previous guests, it's a bit of a hike to some of the higher floor rooms (which we didn't mind at all) and no elevator. The beach was a lot closer than what we had thought (literally just down the road). Wifi worked, but cut in and out quite often - so wouldn't count on it for other than mobile use. If you are on a budget and looking for somewhere decent to stay this is a good choice. There were a lot of Scandinavians and Russians staying at the hotel during our stay, which seems to be the norm. Overall, we enjoyed our stay - but if we were to return we'd probably look at something a bit more comfortable/higher standard for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitzingen, Germany

OK hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Cleanlines
Location: Karon beach, busy but not like Patong, clean water
Hotel was once very good, now old and not well mainteined, but overal ok for the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Second time around just a good

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: All of the staff at Karona were beautiful and full of chatter and laughter - right down the the buffet chefs. The rooms are spacious and the aircon is wonderfully cold if that's what you enjoy. We received a beautiful fruit plate the day before we left as a thank you for our stay also. This was my second stay and I would go back again
Cons: There are no lifts here, which was not a concern for us, but could be for some travellers.
Location: Only a couple of mins walk to the beach, taxi/tuk tuk rank and food. Dino park mini golf within a 5 min walk with Kata and Karon markets close by also
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Get what you pay for

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Staff very helpful and courteous
Cons: Lack of general building maintenance and comfortable chairs, bed, pillows
Location: Excellent position to all restaurants and transportation and beach.
Room needs to be made more comfortable with some chairs. Softer beds and pillows. General appearance of hotel needs some improvement with some painting and cleaning. Staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Long story short, the hotel staff took care of my injuries from a motorcycle accident earlier that day. They helped clean me up and get me bandaged. One staff member told me to go to a clinic, but another friendly staff person actually assisted me.
2 out of 5
by Sarah from Preston

Beautiful hotel great location, service a let down

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel, lovely location in a quiet part of Karon Beach. The rooms were roomy and well decorated, the pool, restaurant and bar area spacious and well kept. It is a shame that during my stay the hotel was let down by the service. I was given a room that did not lock from the inside; you could only lock the room using the safety chain, which was loose on the door frame and when the chain was secured and the door open there was a gap of a few inches between the door frame and the door, that a person could put their hand through. Obviously I was worried being a female on her own - I asked for a room with a lockable door and after a struggle I was given a room that also did not lock from the inside but had a more secure chain; better but not ideal. On my final night I asked reception to book me a taxi to the airport and they actually refused, saying there was no need to book a taxi as there would be taxis on duty from 5am. I asked if I could have a taxi anyway to be safe and they refused to book me one. Next morning I went outside at 6am and of course no taxis. The staff then told me that if I hadn't booked a taxi how could I expect there to be one, and that guests should book taxis themselves. I am sorry to say that this is very poor service from a hotel, especially given that I am a woman by myself. It is a shame as the hotel is beautiful but during my stay it was sadly let down by the staff. I will not be recommending this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Location

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and great location.
Cons: As mentioned the hotel could do with an update. Would be great to have chairs on the balcony.
Location: Everything is within walking distance. Surf, swim, snorkel, shop, eat out and entertainment all just around the corner.
Hotel was located close to beach, shopping and restaurants. The hotel itself is in need of renovation, but you get what you pay for and for the price the hotel is ok! Unfortunately we had a room at the front of the resort and were kept awake by very loud music from a nearby venue.