Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff but hotel is in poor condition

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
We booked the hotel thinking that it is near the beach but it in fact a 10-15 minute uphill/downhill walk with no proper pavements. The staff are friendly and helpful but the hotel is let down by the poor condition of the room. The room/bedsheets had a smell (maybe from mothballs?). The bed was uncomfortable and had a hole in the centre of the bed. You can even feel the bed springs poking into your back. We were informed that there will be a power cut at 9am the next day but were not told of a water cut. We were due to check out that day and i needed a shower in the morning because our flight back was at 10pm. We have to buy gallons of mineral water so that we can take a shower. Nothing that they can do about this, unfortunately, but we were told about the water, we would have woken up much earlier in the morning to have a shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Kata beach studio. I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I sincerely hope that you will give our hotel a chance to make a better, lasting
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location great stay

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Staff are brilliant
Cons: No water pressure at all in shower... Like none!
Location: Awesome location! Walk to beach, restaurants and not to touristy
Apart from no water pressure at all in shower, It is clean, cozy and comfortable!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

bed & pillows rock hard

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: rrestaurant
Cons: bedding facilities
Location: Good restaurants nearby. Long walk to beach and entertainment
Restaurant very good but room disappointing. Only recommendation is the cheap rate.
4 out of 5
by Sirinun from Singapore

Lovely roof top view

Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
The staffs are friendly and helpful. Bacolny is fun to have. I love the bench. We love the jacuzzi and steam room too
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
hotel staff is friendly, room comfortable
4 out of 5
by Dean H from Sydney

Best beds on the planet - relaxed staff

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels
The staff at Kata Studios are laid back and there are no sales pitches for anything (which is a refreshing change in Thailand). The queen bed in my studio was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever stayed in - both firm yet soft. The balcony kitchen is great if you want to prepare your own food but after sampling the food at the restaurant attached to the Hotel I didn't bother. The Capricorn restaurant was fantastic, fresh, and cheap as chips. The rooftop pool and spa is awesome and if you prefer the beach then it is a ten minute stroll down the hill. I hired a moped from a place a few doors up and was at the beach in 30 seconds. The stay was very relaxing and I wouldn't hesitate to come back here again. Thankyou !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and relaxed atmosphere

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels
Nice rooms with balcony in good condition. Friendly and service minded staff.Great recreational area with bar,swimming pool and pool table on roof top. Good value for money,I would definitely go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kata Beach Studio OK

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels
About ten minute walk to beach. Some rooms face noisy street with motorbikes cruising by, but ok for sleeping. Expensive for the quality but I was there Chinese New Year so everything was overpriced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet place. Not located where shown on mao.

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Cons: expedia misled us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Enid from New York

Hotel close to beach

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Liked that it was on a quiet road, away from the busy main beach road. Pricing was very cheap, not a luxurious hotel, but I only went there to sleep.
Location: The hotel is located on a quiet road, just a short walk to the beach. I loved the fact that there's a family mart right next door.