Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Ehhh

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Nothing special about this hotel. It's inconvientely on top of a mountain just like everything else in the neighborhood. So lots of climbing stairs and inclines. There was no wifi connection in the room and the front desk wasn't in a hurry to do anything about it. They finally came to the conclusion that one of the hotspots were down and that it won't be up for a few days.. by that time I would be gone so it was a moot point. The air conditioner wasn't the best quality. Took a while to cool off the room. There is no safe in the room. They only give you one key to the room. I would recommend the hotel updating to a card key system. The pool was nice, good temp. Checking out was a bit of a hassle since they inspect your room as you are checking out. My brother got charged for a towel that was already ripped and shredding because they claimed he stained it and it won't wash out (it was dirty but nothing a little wash and bleach can't get out). Overall what can you expect from a 3 star hotel. Only stayed there for a few days and it sufficed but if I had to do it again I would pick another place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was okay but the standard rooms are old and very noisy. Our friends stayed in upgraded rooms and then it's fantastic. A lot of stairs in the hotel though so be prepared for exercise....
2 out of 5
by Anthony from Houston, TX

We would stay elsewhere next time

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for a week here. The location was good for us, walking distance to Kata and Kata Noi beaches. But this hotel didn't allow us to flush our toilet paper. This is gross, and not expected from a 3.5 star hotel. The A/C went out one night, so we slept in the heat. We realized at 11 pm, and didn't want to wait for someone to fix it (if they even could). We just wanted to sleep. We told them the next morning, and they fixed it. Two days later, we accidentally broke a coffee cup. We didn't think this would be an issue, since we slept in the heat one night. In my mind these are easily not the same thing, and the coffee cup a very minor inconvenience for them. They did nothing for us, except charge us for the coffee cup and the saucer. The young lady at the counter argued like a trained pro, saying these issues are not related. We were tired and had a plane to catch, so we went. I wrote them an email to give them a chance to make it right. They didn't respond so I wanted to let people know that we would rather stay somewhere else. Wifi only in public areas.
2 out of 5
by m

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Brano from Sydney

Nice service

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels
Very rich breakfast, nice room with view although the hallway looks not as good. Pool is good as well. Overall I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in Kata Beach. It is much nicer than dirty Patong. Hire scooter and ride the whole island and have fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roles from Melbourne

Nice/Clean & Close to the Beach, Friendly Staff

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The staff we kind, friendly & helpful. The rooms were clean & roomy. The breakfast was delicious!
Cons: If you can't walk up stairs or a steep climb I wouldn't recommend this resort.
Location: The beach is great & there are loads of places to eat. We didn't have a bad meal in 9 days. Try the After the Beach Bar for an amazing sunset view.
We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. On a steep hill & has great sunset views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sonya from Delta, Canada

Best of all Worlds

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The staff, pool, location, and view.
Cons: Nothing! Don't change a thing!
Location: The beach is very close, and so are many shops and restaurants. A great location for many reasons.
Our stay at this hotel was wonderful, and we couldn't have asked for more. My two boys, aged 3 and 9, loved the pool, and the staff, who treated them so kindly. Our room was very nice, with a fabulous view of the ocean. And the proximity to the beach, shops and restaurants was most helpful. The staff here are amazing, and went above and beyond to make sure we were always comfortable. Just wish we could've stayed longer. We'll be returning, that's for certain! Many thanks to everyone at the Orchidacea!
4 out of 5
by Nicole from USA

Clean and a good value, lots of stairs

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels
Very clean, beds are not as comfortable, pleasant staff and a 5 minute walk to the beach. Lots of stairs to climb to your rooms but they provide a ride to the top of the resort. Seems like an older place.
5 out of 5
by Rik from London

Good comfotable stay

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels
Great service, good sized rooms and great location. Only slight compliant is the accessibility as I had to walk up a lot of stairs. That said, the view from my room as a result was excellent
2 out of 5
by Clay from Tokyo

Can't recommend it.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: The only good thing about Orchidacea was its proximity to Kata and Kata Noi beaches. You could walk to either in less than five minutes.
Cons: The staff need to be able to provide the information guests need. There were usually ten people around, but none of them knew anything about Phuket.
Location: Kata and Kata Noi beaches are beautiful. At the Orchidacea's end of Kata, there's great snorkeling and the best restaurant we could find, Kata Mama.
We got a decent deal on our room, so I can't really complain that it was tiny and at the top of a mile of stairs, but the staff at the Orchidacea were utterly worthless. If you asked three people the same question, you'd get three different answers, none of them right. One example: when we asked the bellboy how long it would take to get to the tiger park, probably one of the most famous tourist attractions in Phuket, he told us there wasn't one. I don't think I saw a single member of the staff smile in the five days my girlfriend and I were there, which kinda went along with the clientele, who were some of the rudest people I've ever encountered.