Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roles from Melbourne

Nice/Clean & Close to the Beach, Friendly Staff

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The staff we kind, friendly & helpful. The rooms were clean & roomy. The breakfast was delicious!
Cons: If you can't walk up stairs or a steep climb I wouldn't recommend this resort.
Location: The beach is great & there are loads of places to eat. We didn't have a bad meal in 9 days. Try the After the Beach Bar for an amazing sunset view.
We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. On a steep hill & has great sunset views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sonya from Delta, Canada

Best of all Worlds

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The staff, pool, location, and view.
Cons: Nothing! Don't change a thing!
Location: The beach is very close, and so are many shops and restaurants. A great location for many reasons.
Our stay at this hotel was wonderful, and we couldn't have asked for more. My two boys, aged 3 and 9, loved the pool, and the staff, who treated them so kindly. Our room was very nice, with a fabulous view of the ocean. And the proximity to the beach, shops and restaurants was most helpful. The staff here are amazing, and went above and beyond to make sure we were always comfortable. Just wish we could've stayed longer. We'll be returning, that's for certain! Many thanks to everyone at the Orchidacea!
2 out of 5
by Clay from Tokyo

Can't recommend it.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: The only good thing about Orchidacea was its proximity to Kata and Kata Noi beaches. You could walk to either in less than five minutes.
Cons: The staff need to be able to provide the information guests need. There were usually ten people around, but none of them knew anything about Phuket.
Location: Kata and Kata Noi beaches are beautiful. At the Orchidacea's end of Kata, there's great snorkeling and the best restaurant we could find, Kata Mama.
We got a decent deal on our room, so I can't really complain that it was tiny and at the top of a mile of stairs, but the staff at the Orchidacea were utterly worthless. If you asked three people the same question, you'd get three different answers, none of them right. One example: when we asked the bellboy how long it would take to get to the tiger park, probably one of the most famous tourist attractions in Phuket, he told us there wasn't one. I don't think I saw a single member of the staff smile in the five days my girlfriend and I were there, which kinda went along with the clientele, who were some of the rudest people I've ever encountered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mr from Scotland

Nice hotels with clean rooms.

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: clean rooms with good service
Cons: some rooms do not have safes and have adjoining doors to next room
Location: location was good as it was slightly outwith the center of the town and consequently was not affected by noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Drew from Melbourne Australia

Excellent place to stay.

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Nice pool and gardens, great view of Kata beach from some the rooms.
Cons: Some of the gym equipment needs a little repairing.
Location: Locaton is great, very close to Kata beach and a short work to the main restaurants in Kata
The hotel is very clean and well maintained, staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast on offer offers a nice selection to suit all travellers. Its not a 5 star resort however offers very good value for money and a nice, safe place to relax while in Phuket.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good place for 3 star

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Pros: pool
Cons: internet
Location: very good location
this hotel provides only one computer for free internet !!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

average

Posted Sep 29, 2010
We are overall disappointed. Even though the Pool was beautiful, the Hotel had nothing special to offer. was relatively close to Kata beach. Kata itself was quite boring though. we mostly went to Patong to go out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Charming Hotel, Nice Staff, Right Price

Posted Jan 20, 2010
We were very satisfied with this hotel. It was clean, the staff was exceedingly gracious, the grounds were nicely manicured. We had a gorgeous view of the coast from our balcony. It's about a 10 minute walk from the beach, which I didn't mind at all. But if it is important to you to be right on the beach, this place is a short walk. But, the advantage is that you get the nice view from the hillside. Also, the staff was able to help us arrange travel to and from the airport which was appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal

clean but far from beach

Posted Jan 16, 2010
The hotel is extremely clean and the staff was nice but a little far from the beach and at the top of a hill. It is in an interesting part of town with lots of shopping and restaurants but the street to get there doesnt really have a sidewalk so a little dangerous walking at times. The view from the pool is not as spectacular as I thought it would be - internet is expensive as far as going rates in the neighborhood. Overall I would stay there again if it was cheap otherwise I would rather be closer to beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Middlesex

Will return to this hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2006
The hotel is about 45 mins drive from Phuket airport. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms comfortable with great views of Kata Beech, and the Andaman Sea. Many Restaurants in close proximity to hotel, as well as restaurants in the hotel. Leisure facilites ok, but gym was small, very basic and dated. This was my only disappointment.