Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by LocSin

In need of renovations

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is old and it shows. Pretty much everything is in really bad condition and dirty. The staff can't a lick of English and therefore they ignore you as far as they can. The one good thing is the restaurant Ratta, which had very good service and good food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stay,Else where

Posted Jan 18, 2017
If you need to stay where the front line staff, speak English. Stay some where else. if you need true in what there web site reads, don't believe this hotel web site, While the words may have been true at one time, i stayed their for ten days in early Jan 2017,the words used in the hotel web site. Do not ring true if you need hotel speaking English staff, Require food area for breakfast to meet Mid - High standard, so if your standard is Low, then they may meet that. if you want your fry egg to be 55% cooked only then you are on a winner. The hotel in general needs a good Reno, the main guest that stayed at the hotel while i was their, were Thai. The sister hotel on the other side of the Island, is the hotel to stay at. I when there to arrange tours and other stuff. So if i travel to Phuket again, I would arrange to stay at Merlin in Patong.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aus

English

Posted Jan 16, 2017
If you come here do not expect staff to under stand English, as a 2nd or 3rd lang. As to advice about what to do, forget it. I had to go to the sister hotel in Patong for this advice. So if you do not speak Thai, go to Paying hotel. There web site has lots of miss info, so be aware this.
2 out of 5
by Alasdair

No kettles in the rooms!!!

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
No kettle or coffee in the room. Seriously?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by James from Sydney

A great place to save

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel represents value for what you pay for, comparatively to other hotel prices within a 15 km radius, during peak season. However, any awards that the hotel may have one most likely finished in 1984 when the decor, renovations and styling were fixed in time. If you want to pay off peak prices during peak season this is the hotel for you, however, if you are coming to Phuket during off peak, I would advise to pick a less retro hotel. About the same standard as a rural motel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok considering other hostels in the area

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Cons: Lack of translation
Not so great english language but that is my fault, not theirs. Should not be expected in a foreign hotel in my opinion. Clean hotel but no wireless and not a great location but one of the cleanest hotels i found in thailand, but should be so considering the price. Really comfy bed. Water not very hot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2012 on Hotels
Very service minded hotel staff! Excellent breakfast! But rooms did not feel clean and were not cosy in any way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, U.K.

Clean & Convenient if you are in Phuket Town

Posted Dec 6, 2011
Location: Travelled late November 2011 Patong Beach is the stereotypical tourist trap...Beach on one side and bars & souvenirs on the other. Very pushy salespeople and everyone wants to be you new best friend and take you on a guided tour! I preferred Phuket Town a lot less touristy, but the best if you can afford it is Mai Khao beach....WOW!
We arrived at night but check-in was a breeze. The hotel is next to a night club so there was noise until about 1am but after that it was quiet. We had breakfast included and this was a choice of Continental, American (Continental plus Eggs), or Asian breakfasts. Good food and quick service. Overall very nice and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Phuket Merlin

Posted Oct 21, 2011 on Hotels
Aside from the lack of wireless internet, the hotel got the job done.