Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Beautiful resort, great staff and restaurant

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Lovely staff, clean, comfortable room, great food at the restaurant, good spa amenities, refreshing pool, beautiful Thai decor all around resort.
Cons: Mosquitoes were intense.
Location: Walking distance to Kata Beach, restaurants, bars, shops, convenience stores.
Beautiful resort nestled off of a city street a short distance from Kata Beach in Phuket. The resort staff are very friendly and helpful with anything you need. Get the buffet breakfast; it is delicious with lots of options. The restaurant has good authentic Thai food and other more American food options as well. The pool is fresh and cool and there is a swim up bar for refreshments. The rooms are air conditioned with comfortable beds and free wi-fi. I stayed in a garden view room and it was slightly cramped because of the king size bed but then again, I didn't want to spend much time in the room any way. Everything about this resort was great except there are a lot of mosquitoes there. I forgot to put on bug spray one morning when I went to breakfast and I got about 20 bites on my feet and ankles in about 15 minutes. You cannot hang out around the resort without bug spray on unless mosquitoes don't like you for some reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
We stayed 8 nights in Sawasdee hotel and we loved it! The layout of the hotel is unique and easy to get around. The beach is just a 10 minute walk or a 2 minute free shuttle bus! The food is also delicious - yum! Lots of cafes/restaurants and markets walking distance. Pool is beautiful and relaxing! I would totally recommend this hotel - very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: Quite a mosquito problem while stayed there, but they seemed to be taking steps to deal with it
Location: The hotel is on a pretty nondescript street 10 mins walk from the beach. Doesn't look much from the outside, but lovely inside.
Lovely hotel tastefully decorated with lots of trees plants and water fountains etc give a very natural effect. Lighting in the evening also creates a lovely effect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very close to markets and beach

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Hotel had good food menu, beer in minibar is very cheap compared to restaurants, 5 mins walk to kata beach from the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice hotel, beautiful grounds close to the beach

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Landscaping and decor, location, breakfast, cleanliness
Cons: Shower area
Location: Beach, shopping, restaurants
We stayed in one of the garden rooms (not the villas) and it was very nice. The bed was comfortable, they provide things to deal with mosquitos, and the wood decor is very nice. The bathroom, particularly the shower, left something to be desired. There was a plexiglass "skylight" in the shower area that had dead bugs on the outside and had a hole for the shower head to come through that left plenty of space for bugs to get through. There were ants crawling around the door frame between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. The toilet/sink area was very nice, though. The grounds are gorgeous as is the breakfast area. The food was good and plentiful. The only real issue we had was the staff. During our check-in, the staff were not rude but not at all welcoming. The person who took our bags from our taxi (without asking) refused to leave our room without a tip, which was not our experience in the rest of the country. It left a sour impression. Lastly, it is very close to the beach, but Club Med is huge and makes the walk to the beach a bit of a longer process, but still very doable. But overall, the place is very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

comfortable hotel, very nice location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Quite, comfortable, easy access to market, street food.
Cons: Pool is closed early 7pm, I expect 9pm. Breakfast was weak. Could be richer.
Location: Best thing is location. Street food, beach, restaurants , convenience stores.
I really liked the hotel. Our room was in the garden section. I especially liked the location. I like street food and going out walking. Kata beach is 10m walking away. If you like clubbing, patong is 25m drive away. Location/hotel was very quite. Breakfast was not very rich. Pool is closed at 7pm. It was early for me. Overall we were happy but it I think it was overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Stunningly beautiful grounds - a real treat!

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The grounds - stunning!
Cons: The pool was a little cold for me because it is shaded most of the day. To some people this will be fine.
Location: The location is perfect - just around the corner and walking distance to the beach and restaurants but far enough away to be very quiet.
The rooms themselves were nice but a little small for Thai standards but had everything you need. We did have a look at the villas and they are huge and stunning but a little out of our price range. The resort grounds are stunning - a real experience! Close enough to the action but just around the corner and quiet. Everything you need in the street. Highly recommend to anyone staying in Kata. I had read reviews that commented on the mosquitos. They are around because of the setting but the staff are extremely proactive in spraying each day and making sure they don't become an issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G.

Honeymoon trip 1 night in Kata Beach

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Simply put this hotel is gorgeous. Unassuming from the outside...down a little side street from Kata Beach. The walk to the water isn't too far, maybe 15 mins, they have a shuttle that takes you down there but we wanted to walk and see the town. The staff is very polite and courteous, basic English is spoken enough to get by. The rooms were a little on the smaller side but the air conditioner works really well. I had to get up and turn it off in the middle of the night because I got too cold. My favorite part is the quietness and relaxing vibe this hotel has. It's like. Garden oasis and has traditional Thai architecture. The pool is to die for. I really wish we had done more than 1 night here. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and I'm picky. I would love to stay here again. Also DO NOT MISS the breakfast in the morning. The food is delicious Thai cuisine and the breakfast room is beautiful. On a side note I did not get bit by a single mosquito here...whi,he I had read reviews about there being a mosquito problem..but we are here in Feb so maybe that's why.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Never seen a hotel like this. I HIGHLY recommend the Villa. Its unbelievable. 1,000% worth it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maine

Loved the Villa!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Spacious room, staff was very helpful, pool in the room was different and fun
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: It is on a side street with a lot of massage salons- we had 3 massages and thought they were great. Shopping, food and the beach nearby.
We rented the Villa. It was very spacious and nicely decorated. The downstairs had a living room area with the entry to the pool. We enjoyed the direct access to the pool. The bedroom was beautiful with a giant king bed and marble tub. Definitely worth the price. The grounds were pleasant and it is located close to a lot of shopping and food options. We walked to the beach without any problem and there are shops along the way. We did have a spa treatment and it was fine but nothing special. We would recommend this hotel.