Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Location

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Location, pool, room, grounds and spectacular views.
Cons: Thailand is the land of smiles and after visiting many times, it was a first for us to not experience that many at the Secret Cliff.
Location: Between Patong and Karon Beach. Songthaews are between 200 & 300 Baht from the hotel.
This is a nice Hotel, set in a great location but disappointing. On arrival, after being greeted by two helpful porters, we were met by a surly female receptionist. No hello, just name,credit card and told to sit and wait. We knew we would not be able to check in until 2pm so, went and had a drink at the bar. From here you have a great view of Karon Beach. We were taken to our room via a golf buggy as it was on the opposite side of the road, a very nice touch. Our room was nice, clean had a reasonable view of the sea except for the corrugated roof but we were happy enough. A few days into our 10 night stay, on going for breakfast we discovered there was very little food. When we asked, we were told more was on the way so, we had our coffee and waited. In total, we waited over 30 minutes but nothing arrived. At reception, we asked for an explanation. This was met with distain until we requested to see the Manager. Again, he was dismissive but finally agreed to give us lunch later in the day. Last comment concerns an extra guest. On returning we told the Porter about our guest. Thinking, they had our card details this would not be a problem. It was like world war three with phone calls and visits to the room demanding immediate payment. Very unprofessional and in the end our guest decided not to stay, we still had to pay. On arrival you signed a form giving authorisation for extras including guests, hence our disappointment. Nice hotel but sadly, we would not return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guernsey, Channel Islands, GB

Enjoyable stay

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Wonderful view from the restaurant and an excellent choice of Thai and western food at breakfast Beautiful gardens Room was clean and comfortable, even had a beach bag for your use. Excellent value for the deal we had. Happy to visit again Read the location as the hotel is as the name suggests, cliff top! Own transport is recommended which you need anyway to enjoy the island s full potential
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Dirty uncomfortably

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Lastminute
•When we check in we had no hot water and I had to organise someone to come set it up for us. • We asked of one double bed when we arrived there was 2 single beds we pushed them together ourselves but this made our sleep very uncomfortable. •The walls are dirty with what looks like food or vomit on them. •We couldn't use the towel rack because it looks like it's about to fall off the wall. •The toilet water leaked out all day everyday. Very unhealthy. •We had no power for one hole day and was not offered any compensation. •We had no tv for one hole day and again was not offered any compensation. •The beds are very hard and uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An old and tired hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
When I booked this hotel I was looking forward to a nice property. I was disappointed. The room was old and tired. The bathroom had hand prints on the wall. The toilet didn't work. The internet was unreliable and inconsistent. I would have to call the front desk up to 4 times to get a problem fixed. I am normally not a problem guest, but I ran into recurring problems. The location was not good, as you had to cross a major highway to get to the front desk, which was a bit dangerous. The ocean views were distant and included electric lines. I would not stay there again. There are better places for less money and better value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and friendly staff

Posted Aug 11, 2016
This was my 3rd visit to the secret cliff and I absolutely love it. Staff are friendly, facilities are great and also a great location. Your not in the busy area of Patong but yet its only a 5min taxi. Will definitely be back next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The staff was very nice and helpful. The resort is very large and beautiful but I think two swimming pool is too small.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Ocean View

Posted May 12, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: View from Balcony
Cons: cleanness of room, urine smell all time, water flow in shower, lizard ans ants in all rooms as per reception staff. Cannot recommend to other people.
Never Stay in Superior Ocean View Room. Our 7 nights stay was horrible. Urine smell every single day, very slow running water in shower and lizard in room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2016 on Wotif
Very bad hygiene standards, Bad odour from bathroom through out the stay