Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heavy construction going on with hotel, bad customer service, avoid

Posted Dec 31, 2010
there is constant & heavy construction going on with the hotel. we pre-paid for our stay here for over 10 days but left early, with heavy frustration. The local hotel mgmt didnt notify nor update their hotel info online to indicate the current condition of the hotel, and were totally unapologetic and very non-customer centric. It ruined out experience in Phuket. with the construction noise that starts at 8am and goes well past 11pm daily, you will want to avoid this place until the local hotel mgmt team gets this in livable condition. However, the local staff is very hardworking and nice, but be aware, this is not a place you want to camp down week long during your stay. It is more like a hostel, place where you bunk over if you are a backpacker on a budget and pay a price in that range. also there are no elevators, so if you have lots of luggage, get ready to climb the stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sandy from Houston, TX

Clean, quiet and friendly

Posted Sep 9, 2009
It was very nicely decorated and the staff was really friendly. It's only a 3 minute walk to the beach. The room was large and had free internet. I'll stay there next time!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bronx, New York

Good place for budget travelers !!

Posted Jul 8, 2009
+ Good location ( 15 mins walk from Bangla road,Patong beach),reasonable breakfast,internet included, nice staff and moderately quieter accomodation. - Taxi drivers had trouble finding it,a little run down,no elevators etc,
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Warrington

Good Hotel at budget prices

Posted Jun 25, 2009
Spent 6 nights at this hotel recently. No complaints at all. You pay for what you get. Situated in a quieter part of Patong, but close to the beach. Many bars and restaurants close by. Bangla Road maybe 10-15 minutes walk. The room was clean, and comfortable. Satellite TV, many channels. It's a 3 star hotel, so if you expect 4 or 5 star room don't book it. But I thought it was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX.

Amanta House Patong Beach

Posted Nov 22, 2008
My stay at Amanta house was enjoyable. The hotel is a small gusest house with only 10 or so rooms. They do not have a lift so stairs are invovled for most rooms. The hotel is decorated in a Chinese theme which was very interesting. The daily breakfast included in the stay was at the restraunt next door. The food was good and they are open until 1pm in case you sleep in. The thing I like the most about the hotel was the staff. They were very friendly and helpful. Each day I would practice my limited Thai and they tried to help me learn more. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and about 10 minutes from Bang LA Rd. It is in a quiet area but not far from everything you might need. They do have free internet in the rooms which was a nice bonus.The only drawback is the lack of a pool but the beach is so close it really isn't nedded. Amanta House is a good choice if you want a safe,quiet, friendly hotel where they get to know you unlike a big chain hotel. I would stay there again no problem!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Basic, but nice enough and good value for money

Posted Jun 16, 2008
Amanta House is a reasonable standard accomodation, basic but good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

superb service

Posted Dec 14, 2007
I couldn't fault the service, friendliness and the flexibility of the staff. The place appeared to be family run. I'd stay there again for that price range. Free internet! If I were to offer constructive feedback it would be about the room locks. Although fit for purpose they were more like bathroom door locks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Beautiful hotel, not well known....

Posted Sep 21, 2007
This is a cute little boutique hotel very close to the main strip in Phuket. I was very impressed with the decor etc, and although the staff did not have a strong grip on English, they were friendly and as helpful as they could be. The one thing I would say is that no one seems to know where this hotel is! We took a cab from Krabi to Phuket and our driver arrived and asked 5 locals for directions and no one had heard of it. He ended up having to phone the reception number on our booking form for directions. This was fair enough, but what was more concerning was that when we tried to get a taxi/tuk-tuk back to our hotel at night noone knew where it was either which meant that we ended up walking. Although it is close to the main section, we were walking away from the lights and people through an area that seems to be under construction which meant it was quite desolate. As two young women this was quite an intimidating experience. I would still recommend the hotel but definitely get the staff to write you out directions in Thai or get a detailed map.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Yangon

ok room

Posted Apr 25, 2007
Not bad location, quiet. A bit overpriced
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Clean and good value

Posted Mar 30, 2007
Amanta House is very good value. Our room was clean and quiet. Didn't sample breakfast as had to leave early next morning. Our room was nicely decorated, although a bit dark, and had a great TV and bed. Great location to walk to Patong Beach and all beachfront attractions. Shower was very noisy but nice. No hairdryer in the whole hotel. Would recommend to anyone - not too posh but our price through expedia was very good value.