Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From Chicago,IL. USA

Good stay

Posted Feb 19, 2017
In the beginning on the first day things were not to good. However, once I let staff know about some issues they took care of them right away. As a courtesy they upgraded me and I was very satisfied. Even the free shuttle service to the beach was on time everyday. I will stay in this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Value for money, nice hotel & great staff.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Service!
Cons: If only we could smoke in our rooms that'd be great!
Location: It's pretty much 15mins away from the beach if you're walking, 5mins by bike. There's a BBQ place near Family Mart, cheap and tasty!
The hotel is a little dated but for a 2-Star hotel it is value for money, the service is excellent and prompt. When we arrived, we were told the lift was out of service but the staff carried our luggages all the way up to level 3 without hesitation. But this is a no smoking hotel, you can't smoke in the rooms but you can smoke in the lobby. Good if you're keen on making friends. From the pictures the hotel looks a fresh but I guess it's been a couple of years they need to start replacing some of their furnitures and they need to replace their pillows, it's originally 1 pillow per person but the pillows were flat so we requested extra pillows and they sent it better ones less than 5 minutes. They have really amazing service. The Pizza place, beside the hotel has really good food if you're lazy on somedays. And there's a tour agency the other side of the hotel Katekawn (can't remember) but they are working with the hotel so you don't actually have to give up your passport to rent a bike which is also a plus. Overall we loved our stay with The Color Kata!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Clean

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
I found the front desk to be very attentive to my needs. The room was Very spacious. I prefer more natural light in my room. And so when I checked in and there was no window. I was allowed to switch rooms and get a place with a front window which helped me a lot.
4 out of 5
by Louise from Hong Kong

Decent price

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
A phone charger I had plugged in went missing.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jining, China

Excellent on a budget. Highly recommended.

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: The value for the dollar was best. The staff and cleanliness were also great.
Cons: Reclining patio chairs in the common area near the front office.
Location: Island massage, Swiss Tiger
We were very pleased with The Color. The staff was awesome and the room was great. Housekeeping kept the property and our room clean. High speed Wifi was available in our room. The front desk staff was quick to answer our questions. And a free shuttle was available to take us to and from the beach between 9 AM and 6 PM. We were equally pleased with other businesses across the street. A massage/spa business directly across the street provided wonderful services. The Swiss Tiger was good for a few drinks each night. And two restaurants next to the Swiss Tiger served great breakfasts. The travel service to the left of The Color provided good rates for trips and to rent a motorbike. To experience truly local food don’t miss the breakfast served at the little store two or three store fronts to the right of The Color. We tried many of the restaurants in the area and was not once disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, florida

Nice hotel close to the beach and shopping

Posted Jul 7, 2015
It was great, friendly staff, close to restaurants and shopping. I will definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisset S.

Cute Hotel, Great location

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Orbitz
I read some reviews about this property being far from the beach and that couldn't be further from the truth (unless you're incredibly lazy and can't walk 5-10 minutes). It's near bars and restaurants, but most importantly the staff here was amazing! Always friendly and happy to help. Very cute hotel - both the lobby and the rooms. The only downside were the beds which were the hardest I've ever come across, although with this being said I actually slept really well. Maybe hard beds aren't necessarily bad? Great hotel. Should I return to Phuket I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dom

Nice Micro Hotel!

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: It was well priced and conveniently located. Not to mention it was clean!
Location: We went to a yoga class at Kata Hot Yoga which was a 10 min walk from the hotel.
The room was clean and the staff were very friendly. It was only for one night when we arrived before we moved to another area but the hotel was exactly what were looking for. Clean, slightly modern, conveniently located, and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Paul Quinn from USA

Frame of reference

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels
It's not Club Med or the likes but it's not too bad. Takes a little getting used to. The shower/sink combo is a unique use of space but in practice leaves a bit to be desired. The mattress was the firmest mattress I've ever slept on but the room was neat and clean. You'll save a great deal over the trendier places which means more money for nights out. Overall I'd rate it a 3.5
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nadia from Los Angeles, CA

HOTEL KATA

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: Modern and clean
Cons: More people speak english and understand customers
Location: Lots of beaches, grocery store, massage..
Overall great place especially that they have a shuttle to the beaches, clean rooms,,,