Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY

Amazing Thailand oaisis.

Posted May 14, 2017
The Slate is an easy 8 minute 200 Thai Bhat cab from the airport. Arrival is greeted with a beautiful welcome. The hotel has style and the rooms are cleanly modern and well equipped with amenities. Great pools, one with a wonderful swim up bar. Cocktails at ReBar were also fantastic. Couldn't be happier to have stumbled upon this Thai oaisis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Great stay for adults couples as well as families

Posted May 9, 2017
Very kids friendly but also attractive for couples seeking quietness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Amazing hotel, close to beautiful beach

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: The attention to detail and that the resort is only 5 mins from Phuket Airport
Location: Behind the resort is a lovely quiet street with shops and restaurants and a chemist etc. and a fantastic clean swimming beach with white sand.
Staff are fantastic, nothing is to much trouble. Food at the resort is wonderful with lots of variety The pools have staff that keep bringing icy cold water to the guests all day. ( thanks Ian) We could not fault The Slate , we loved our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous luxury hotel, steps from the beach

Posted Apr 15, 2017
AMAZING!! This place is a paradise and unlike any other hotel u will stay, incredibly beautiful and artistic with so much to see. We got a complimentary upgrade to a suite which was breathtaking, but all of the rooms are luxurious. Service is top notch! Several Restaurants including fabulous buffet breakfast, 3 separate gorgeous pools designed for either adults or families and a security gate that leads directly onto the local beach where u can find activities, shops, atms/exchange, restaurants just steps away. Bonus is a 5min cab from airport. However if you are lookig for nghtlife in phuket, pa tong city is a good 45-1hr south. Highly recommend the slate for anyone though, couples, families or singles alike. There is somethig for everyone here and the grounds are so spacious and private you will never feel crowded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Todmorden, West Yorkshire

Superb facilities and wonderful staff

Posted Apr 13, 2017
There were a few delays in checking in, but the staff were genuinely apologetic and when we came back to the room later on there was a letter of apology and sparkling wine on ice. The concierge service is amazing, taxi, tours, local information very friendly, knowledgeable staff. I had booked a tour online and needed to phone and confirm they took care of everything. The breakfast is phenomenal. A wide range of freshly prepared fruit, yoghurt, bakery items, crepes, cheese, meats, cereals and even a vegan section. The breakfast dining area is set amongst the tropical plants and flowers - delightful! We used 2 of the pools, the adults only with swim up bar was fantastic. The snacks, meals available at the poolside were delicious and the service excellent. Little touches like having iced water brought to your sunlouger helped to cool you down and keep you relaxed. The turn down service was very useful, our made ensured fragrant candles were lit and a mosquito coil lit on the verandah. We only saw a couple from mosquitoes the whole time we were there. Overall a calm, relaxed environment which my daughter and I really enjoyed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg FL

Comfortable & quiet top resort

Posted Apr 4, 2017
I was wrapping up a separate vacation trip to Phuket and wanted a nice place near the airport for the 3 nights before I could fly out. I found this on Tripadvisor, with a deal from Expedia. In my younger years I worked in hospitality, so I'm a bit jaded about hotels, especially resorts. But I thought I'd go for the experience and am pleased to say that the Slate exceeded all expectations. In over 60 years of travel, I'd be hard pressed to say that I've had better service, cleanliness and meals in any hotel setting. I enjoyed the Thai Modern Brutalist architecture, the grounds, and the infinity lap pool. Best of all was that in a few steps, you can be out on the beachfront road with its modest stretch of street food carts, restaurants and so on. Cyclists can rent a bike from the hotel, runners can easily fit in a nice 5k along the beach road. For families, there are 2 pools for all ages, the beach, and plenty of activities in and around the property. And lastly, a hotel shuttle for a modest rate, that took me to the airport at 1am for a 3am flight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great place to stay, right on the beach

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Very co fortable rooms, great for family. Very nice breakfast buffet spread. Restaurants are nice, but there are otber good places just as you step out on to the beach with tables laid out on the beach for dinner. Just that its about half an hour taxi ride from patong, phuket. Best if you are looking for a place to relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucharest

Great design hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Very good breakfast, great pools, even good cocktails.
Cons: Room bathroom layout is pretty terrible. The prison-style toilet... not cool.
Location: Tons of good restaurants on the beach - 3-5 minute walk.
I was expecting more of a kitchy faux-industrial setting - but turns out the place was really cool (like in nyc-cool). Which blends really well with the Thai sun, palm trees and everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KL Malaysia

This is one gorgeous designer hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
No details overlooked this hotel is gorgeous, the food is sublime and staff are lovely. We would go back in a second.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful experience

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Hotel is right on the mist beautiful beach. Great staff. Great food