Ratings based on 570 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Very cool hotel, but loves overcharging!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The design of the hotel is awesome! The staff is a little meh. They're nice and all, but it's basically their way or the highway. It's 6 minutes from the airport, which was great (and the reason we stayed the last night in Phuket to catch an early flight). They super overcharge for like everything. A nice car there is like 450tbh, regular car 200tbh, super over priced regardless. They let us check in early, which was amazing. But we had to still pay for a breakfast buffet at a good 700tbh/person. Like I said over priced. However, the breakfast is super tasty. Not much to do in the area, we checked out bangpae waterfall, a 25 min ride ... the car was 2700tbh round trip, again overpriced, they don't give you access to regular cabs ... so you kinda have no choice. Overall, if you need a nice place to stay near the airport coming in or leaving Phuket, this would be a great option. Also, the pool was under construction, so no swimming for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Wen , Hotel Management
Dear Carmen, Thank you very much for your time to review us on Expedia. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, our resort offers 3 pools it is a shame you didn't get to swim in the other 2. We hope if you do get the opportunity to stay longer with us you will be able to enjoy more what the resort has to offer like 7 dinning destinations, extensive recreation activities, local markets and temples. Hope to welcome you back. Warm regards The Slate management team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Were waiting to go sailing,only there 1 day. Met some nice people, real laidback.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Wen , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for noticing our unique property and bespoke service – we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Warmest Regards, The Slate management team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Fantastic hotel close to the airport

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We stayed at The Slate for night last year (after a stay on Phi Phi, we needed to be close to the airport) and we were blown away. We loved it so much that we returned this year for 10 nights. The resort is gorgeous and well managed. The restaurants are lovely, great variety from fine dining to more casual eating at the sports bar for example. The food is am as amazing. The breakfast buffet is top notch! The atmosphere is pure relaxation. The staff are fabulous, I can't give them enough praise. See you next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Wen , Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, Many Thanks for this fantastic review. We will be very pleased to welcome you back later this year. feel free to let us know if there is anything we can assist with to make your next stay just as memorable as the last. Warm regards The Slate management team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Queanbeyan Australia

Top place to stay

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Very, very minor things. Lack of teaspoons at breakfast, towels not being replaced after room cleaning. Not much at all to complain about.
Location: Beach is close, fair drive into Phuket town or Patong but we knew that and cabs are relatively cheap and very easy to get. Shuttle bus available
Fantastic place, close to airport, very quiet, great facilities. Staff are cheerful, helpful and knowledgeable. Variety of food available on site, half price cocktail hour, what more do you need?
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Wen , Hotel Management
Dear Rob, A grateful thank you for your lovely feedback – We hope we may have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future. Warmest regards, The Slate management team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great, far from it all and we just wanted to rest

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Convenient by the airport, resting on the beach or beach sport there is great.
Rested by the pool, great place for calm adults with no kids, no shopping just pleasure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Wen , Hotel Management
Dear Victoire, Thank you for sharing your great experience, hope to welcome you back for another pleasurable stay. Warm regards The Slate management team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Such a cool hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
A great hotel; amazing decor and staff that would do anything for you. They made us feel very spoilt for our honeymoon stay and the facilities are awesome- loved the gym and breakfast was sensational. It rained whilst we were there and I felt our room was a bit smelly because of this, however this would not deter me from returning. Great location near the beach and markets!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Best resort ever

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Cant think of anything
Location: 10 minutes from the airport,45 minutes from Patong,quiet,relaxing,fantastic restaurants on the beach
This is the second time we have stayed at The Slate and we would never stay anywhere else! The resort,the staff,the restaurants,eveything is top class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful, relaxing piece of paradise

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Location: Love that it's out of the hustle and bustle of Patong. Beach is beautiful.
Second time we have stayed here and will definitely be back. Staff are lovely, grounds beautiful and food delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid North Coast, NSW

Ultimate luxury

Posted Jul 9, 2017
This place is stunning. We had the BDuk room (I think it is the cheapest!) and it was perfection. Luxury.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel...wish it had a view

Posted Jul 5, 2017
I stayed in a One Bedroom Pool Villa and it was large and well appointed. The room had a butler service which was extremely attentive and helpful. The hotel is very nice but unfortunately doesn't have a view of the ocean. You can access the beach through the back of the hotel and cross a very small road. There are a few restaurants on the beach and a few little shops. A lovely place to explore for an hour or two. It has 3 beautiful pools, one is for kids and generally speaking, little kids, there are two other pools, one for 14+ and the other is 16+. It does make it a bit hard when you are travelling with older kids as you don't want to spend all your time with toddlers and babies. I did speak to the manager about it and he was happy if we went to the other pools, as long as the kids were quiet and well behaved. Unfortunately when we were there, there were only 2 restaurants open. The Tin Mine restaurant is OK. It really lacks anything exciting on the menu and two nights of dinner there was more than enough. The Black Ginger restaurant is beautiful. Food and service was amazing.