Ratings based on 1,403 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid Wales.

Very convenient for Piccadilly Stn & city centre

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Very comfortable, large room with all one could want provided. Beautiful large pillows and v comfy beds. Breakfast absolutely excellent. Could find no faults.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brentwood Essex

Good facilities. Good Location. Service Poor

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The room
Cons: The service was poor.
This is a large hotel close to Piccadilly Statiion. It has large rooms and good facilities. Unfortunately the customer service was very poor. We stayed on a Saturday night and the hotel was obviously very full. We tried to check in at 1.00pm to be told our room was not ready and “check in is at 3.00”. No apology, no “would you like to wait?”, no “we’ll get you room ready as soon as possible”. Just a short abrupt statement. Later in the evening we ordered room service. The club sandwich arrived luke warm, a pint of lager became half a pint and was also warm, the coke arrived in a sealed bottle with no bottle opener and the ice cream was melted. All in all terrible and not what you expect at this price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Not so good anymore

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Redecoration and a new approach to being a proper hotel rather than a boarding lodge for large groups
I have stayed at this hotel many times and it has always been good value, clean and generally a good hotel. This will be my last visit as it is now showing it's age. The rooms have not been updated or refreshed and wallpaper and bathrooms are looking grubby and tired. Prices have gone up dramatically and the staff are not the same calibre they were. They seem to bulk out occupation with big group bookings which means there is a very empty atmosphere throughout the public areas. On this particular visit I was given a twin room when I had booked a double. The room was tired and grubby and when I used the bathroom I realised I was in a disabled room which was more like a hospital than a hotel. The staff were totally unhelpful and disinterested. All this for almost £200. There are much cheaper hotels that offer cleaner rooms and other hotels at around £200 that offer a real hotel atmosphere plus service and comfort. Macdonald hotel you have become a poor quality travel lodge and I will not stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Marius, Hotel Management
Hi Mark, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am truly sorry about the issues you have experienced as this is not the level of service we aim to offer. I have addressed the mentioned issues with my team to avoid recurrence. Once again I am sorry for the issues and please let us know if there is anything else we can do to change your opinion about our hotel. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South East Ireland

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Location: The location is good - walking distance to city centre and just around the corner from train station.
Stayed just for one night - two adults and two children. We booked a double double and it was a lovely spacious room., We had driven to Manchester and the hotel was really easy to find and had ample parking. Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had food in the bar which was very good. There was a slight delay with one of the mains because of an error but we were immediately offered a complimentary drink even thought I said it was not necessary - I thought this was a nice touch. I would recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Marius, Hotel Management
HI J, Thank you very much for your kind words. I do hope we will have the chance to see you again soon. Kind Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staffing

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Staff were fine, but not enough of them. Obviously hotel operating on too tight a budget.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Marius, Hotel Management
Hi There, Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for any issues encountered and please rest assured that this is not the usual standards we aim to offer. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from horley

fabulous location and lovely stay

Posted Oct 26, 2017
stayed with my fiancé and his dad before going for tour of old trafford. fab hotel delicious breakfast. staff were so friendly. room was stunning and so comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Marius, Hotel Management
Hi Catey, Thank you very much for your review. It's great to see you've had such a good time. I hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

expensive bar

Posted Oct 23, 2017
expensive bar ok for cocktails but not pints, staff had no idea how to pull one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Marius, Hotel Management
Hi There, Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the bar experience. Happy to see that overall you had a good stay. Kind Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

The location is not good.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Queues for 15 mins to check in and again to collect out bags on leaving. Asked to check out at 12 and they said they would charge £20 for just one hour. Not sign very well. Car park expensive. 15 minute walk to city centre. I'm a busy road. Rooms are lovely and great bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Marius, Hotel Management
Hi Susan, Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the waiting at reception we do try and address this on very busy nights. I am happy that all the other aspects of your stay were good. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrington

Amazing

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: whats not too like?
Cons: The bathroom was very long because it was so big and took us a while to walk from the bathroom door to the toilet.. but alcohol probably didn't help
Location: we stayed for warehouse project on store street, so it was a prime location for this. 4 minutes walk
Amazing hotel, great staff. Great service. Room was perfect very clean and tidy. couldnt have asked for a better hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Marius, Hotel Management
Hi Luke, Thank you so much! I hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indonesia

Close to tram and train station

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Nice hotel and have nice scottish steak restaurant, but the restaurant service is slow
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Marius, Hotel Management
Hi Freddy, Thank you for your review. It's good to see that overall you had a nice stay. Kind Regards