Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good location excellent staff

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The staff were very professional in a freindly way
Cons: Not a lot
Location: Though the road out side was busy, there was very little inside. Just across the road is the town centre and very nice it was too
Good two night break, good food of all kinds in the town centre. Excellent location to tour the north Yorks moors to the coast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romford

Centrally placed.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable. Good parking.
Cons: Separate dining room.
Location: Just 10 minute walk to North York Moors Railway.
Welcoming staff. Good facilities. Slightly disappointed there was no separate residents' dining room. If I had eaten in on the Saturday night I would have had to have shared with a 100+ wedding.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sunderland england

Central position

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Central position Friendly staff
Good parking Duvet to heavy for summer use. Modern bathroom taps difficult to use. Cooked breakfast portions undercooked
5 out of 5
by Allan

A Pleaure to Stay Here

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
We loved this hotel. Friendly. Great location in small town of Pickering (only 10 mins to station for North York Moors railway) Room (superior) comfortable, good size and good standard of traditional furnishings and decoration. Great food both for breakfast and evening meals. Exceptional staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from teeside

Amazing weekend gigs in Dalby and hotel stay

Posted Jun 26, 2017
lovely stay in a friendly hotel.imaculate and comfortable.hotel manager couldn't do enough to help organised our taxi to a concert in the forest at short notice.bar staff and room staff friendly and approachable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Great location

Posted Jun 8, 2017
We chose this location because Castle Howard and Whitby within driving distances. The town has supermarket. It situated at the corner of the town with its own parking lot. Gas station down the road. Staff very helpful, great food in dining room with ambiance, and lovely backyard for your cocktail.
5 out of 5
by Alison

Excellent stay once again !

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Have stayed at the Forest and Vale many times and we're never disappointed Friendly, helpful staff, lovely rooms overlooking beautiful garden Haven of peace and quiet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Visit to The Malton Food Festival

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Staff, food, everything.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: Perfect for Pickering centre. Plenty of places to explore.
Freindly and efficient check-in. Lovely grounds. perfect break hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, delilcious dinners, AND a beautiful garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands, England

Excellent hotel at the centre of Pickering

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Good situation. Friendly, attentive staff. Good and well-prepared breakfast menu.
Location: Steam railway within easy reach. Interesting and attractive places to visit, such as Scampston Hall. Lots of good walking.
We spent a week in Pickering, staying at the Best Western Forest and Vale. Our stay was excellent in every way. The room was well-appointed and clean, there was a good and varied breakfast menu, and the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. Although the hotel is at the centre of town, our room overlooked a very pleasant garden, and we were not disturbed by traffic noise. Good car parking facilities.