Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Overall we enjoyed our stay. The host was most welcoming and provided tea and cake on arrival. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful with lots of choice. The dog - Tilly - was also very welcoming and friendly. Property could with a bit of TLC and unfortunately we both found the bed to be a bit past its best and overly comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Nice hotel close to town centre

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Off road parking and we had a fabulous breakfast
Cons: Top rooms needs to be refurbished
Location: Close to railway and the beautiful Yorkshire moors
Mix up over the rooms owner sorted the problem out by giving us a refund
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Warmth of welcome and willingness to make things as comfortable for us as possible.
Cons: The evening meal would benefit from having only two courses as far as we were concerned.
Location: In Pickering with easy access to the countryside.
We chose this hotel because we thought it a good base for exploring the North Yorkshire Moor National Park, and so it proved to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Pickering steam railway station

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Location
Cons: Blackout blinds at Windows
Had a great stay.. Hotel is about a 10 minute walk to Pickering. Amenities great. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were really friendly .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brigg North Lincolnshire

Lovely hotel - local amenities in walking distance

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pleasant hotel very welcoming. Whole experience really lovely. Comfy room and excellent breakfasts. Would definitely return
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Generally very good. Very hospitable and well furnished. I would question the use of blinds rather than curtains in the bedroom as it was quite bright by 06.00. A shelf and towel rail in the bathroom would be inexpensive but very useful improvements. Pickering is a lovely small town with good facilities. I would certainly recommend.
5 out of 5
by kenneth heard

enjoyable break

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the manse,food is excellent. Pickering an ideal place to visit all places of interest, York,the Moors and the coast.Val Gardiner makes you feel very welcome.
5 out of 5
by lorraine

Brilliant location, excellent food,friendly staff.

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
The welcome was very good, it was a raining so we went to take bags to the room, within a few minutes the phone rang to ask if we would like a hot drink. The location is brilliant, in the heart of Pickering but away from any noise from public houses. the breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice.Our room was small but had every thing we required
5 out of 5
by susan

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
excellent small hotel in quiet area yet close to amenities and attractions. Hosts most obliging, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast varied and plentiful, hot breakfast well cooked. Would stay again if in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved our stay

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Ebookers
Really nice place, clean, lovely rooms. Big quality breakfast! We would definitely stay here again