Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Special

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful property with traditional features and all amenities. Excellent hosts. Lack of wifi would be only criticism.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Cozy and quaint cottage right next to the shore. Loved watching the waves crash on rugged volcanic beach right from the window. Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet village with a great bakery and nice neighbors. This is a terrific place to stay if you're looking for something outside of Madalena.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Swindon, UK

Lovely house in nice quiet village location

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: The nice old, but renovated building, in peaceful location.
Cons: Washer/dryer in the house we stayed in - I think some of the other houses do.
Location: Quiet, peaceful, good for exploring, lovely walks on the island. Pico mountain to climb on, volcanic caves near Madelana are interesting.
The house we stayed in was newly renovated to a high standard with everything we needed except washer/dryer which would have been useful. I think some of the houses do, this one didn't. It's very peaceful and quiet there and Prainha is a nice quiet village in a good location for exploring Pico. The village has a supermarket, cafe, ATM and a very nice restaurant, good for fish and accommodating for vegetarians. The accommodation owners, Sofia and her husband are very helpful. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and Sofia gave us lots of information for things to do, places to walk and where to eat and made bookings for us for whale watching and a guide for Pico mountain. Nothing was too much trouble. This enabled us to get things organised quickly and easily without the hassle of investigating ourselves, so we were able to get out and explore quicker making best use of our time. If you stay here make sure to listen out for the Coreys Shearwater making their strange sounds after dusk, odd at first then very entertaining when you realise what the noise is, even if you are not a twitcher! We very much enjoyed our stay with Adegas do Pico and would definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcester

Not quite what we expected

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: The view
Location: Not much happening
are a number of properties that are let out spread over the area. I'd assumed that the one in the photo in the booking confirmation was the one we'd booked - but not so. It was OK and we weren't helped by poor weather but the property was dark and felt damp.Not a lot to do without a car journey
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, cute cottage--but musty and damp

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
Rural accommodation. Perfect location. Walking distance to village (and great restaurant) as well as walking distance to a pizza restaurant and bar. Sylvia is professional and helpful. Free WiFi in office space which is always open for guests. Cute stone cottage--nicely furnished and equipped. Full kitchen. Big bathroom with modern fixtures. On the down side, the cottage was musty and damp. Quilted wall hangings, cushions, old bedroom dressers, etc were musty smelling. The dampness left our clothes and the bedding feeling cold and clammy. The cottage has been left with stone wall interior which may contribute to dampness and mustiness. Critters came alive at night, seemed to be frolicking in the rafters. Morning we were leaving, a mouse scurried from under fridge to under clothes washer. Dozens of dead crustacean-like insects began to appear on second day (mostly on kitchen floor). Unfortunately, would not return or recommend this particular cottage. Disappointing that the cottage was not comfortable because it is quite a lovely spot and (in appearance) a quaint cottage. Sealing the interior walls and running a dehumidifier continually and having heaters in each room (with fans)would really help with this cottage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vaduz from rio de janeiro, brazil

amazing house in the countryside

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: everything and anything
Cons: just need a internet conexion and a better tv.
Location: it's a small village, but you are just minutes away - driving - from everywhere. actually, the island itself is very small
amazing tradicional house made of stones. very confy, cosy, with 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms, kitchen and everything else. fells like home.
5 out of 5
by Jason Broersma from Caledon, Canada

Seaside retreat during the off-season

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed on Pico in the one bedroom seaside stone house during March and had a wonderful time. The traditional house makes for a quiet base for exploring the entire island assuming you have a rental car; the village was a bit sleepy at this time of year, but this is the off-season for tourism so that is to be expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful - we had no problems whatsoever. The kitchen was well-appointed and the facilities were very clean. If you love falling asleep to the sound of the ocean waves crashing onto the rocks, you will love it here - you truly feel as though you have your own little slice of paradise. An overall excellent value that we feel happy to recommend to any future travellers to Pico.
5 out of 5
by Bernd and Elke from Toronto, Canada

Great starting point for hiking and exploring

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels
The two bedroom house (self catering) where we were staying in was surrounded by banana trees. The view was stunning (weather permitting). The only beach on Pico Island was a 5 minute walk away and worth the visit. The house was clean and well equipped. The Reception Staff was very courteous and extremely helpful. We will definitely recommend your place to all our (hiking) friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Camille from Los Gatos, CA

Restored centuries-old stone house near ocean

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Such a tiny house, but it has everything you need, including a full kitchen and a little patio overlooking the Atlantic. This cottage has charm and history galore. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. What a great experience we had!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2012 on Hotels