Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Sep 23, 2019
Great, personalized service at a really unique property. Breakfast was fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2019 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stellar review. It is gratifying to hear that the extra boutique touches that we pride ourselves on, were thoroughly enjoyed by you. We will pass this on to our staff. We hope to host you again soon. Kind Regards, Guest Services
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2019
Service was good. Breakfast was excellent. I had the artsy room with the chair on the ceiling. I found it difficult to relax in that room- needs a throw rug or something. The room was too bright at night with street lamp out side the window. They offered complimentary night blinders and ear plugs. This was a good thing as the walls are very thin and the doors need to be slammed to be closed. Not a very restful night. Maybe worth trying to stay there and be specific what room you want. The rest of the house is very nice, as well as the grounds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2019 by Michael Seguin - Guest Services, Hotel Management
Our sincerest apologies for our delay in responding to your review. This is not how we like to do business and is truly not a reflection of how we look after our guests. I am unsure how we missed your review and sincerely apologize for our late response. Thank you very kindly for your review and we appreciate it. Your concerns and thoughts are very important to us and our future guests. I have duly noted them and will bring it to the attention of our owner and General Manager. I do apologize that we did were not able to make you comfortable while you were here staying with us. We strive to make all our guests at Merrill House a memorable one and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please visit us again. Kind Regard, Michael Seguin Guest Services
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2019
Beautiful property.Fabulous customer service.Wonderful food.Warm friendly service.A GEM.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2019 by Michael Seguin - Guest Services, Hotel Management
Our sincerest apologies for our delay in responding to your review. This is not how we like to do business and is truly not a reflection of how we look after our guests. I am unsure how we missed your review and sincerely apologize for our late response. Thank you very kindly for your review and your very kind words, we appreciate it. I will be happy to let the staff aware of how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make all our guests at Merrill House a memorable one and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please visit us again. Kind Regards, Michael Seguin Guest Services
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2019 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2019 by Michael Seguin - Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hi Phillip, Our sincerest apologies for our delay in responding to your review. This is not how we like to do business and is truly not a reflection of how we look after our guests. I am unsure how we missed your review and sincerely apologize for our late response. Thank you very kindly for your review and we appreciate it. We strive to make all our guest at Merrill House a memorable one and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please visit us again. Kind Regards, Michael Seguin Guest Services
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service par excellence!

Posted Aug 9, 2019 on Hotels
The staff made us feel welcomed and even if busy, made sure that we were well looked after during our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2019 by Michael Seguin - Guest Services, Hotel Management
Our sincerest apologies for our delay in responding to your review. This is not how we like to run our business and is truly not a reflection of how we look after our guests. I am unsure how we missed your review and sincerely apologize for our late response. Thank you very kindly for your review and we appreciate it. I will be happy to let our staff know about your review We strive to make all our guests at Merrill House a memorable one and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please visit us again. Kind Regards, Michael Seguin Guest Services
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Posted Aug 8, 2019
Unique old property with recent enhancements - B+ for effort. Basic problems with cleanliness of glassware in room, no fridge, no dresser for storage, noisy room emanating from space below in evenings. If one is sensitive to scents then don't go here! Towels reek of dryer sheets, the hand soap is outlandishly scented and they offer a "Pillow Scenting" service! Television service is reserved only for those who understand all forms of streaming media - Netflix, Prime, Crave, etc. If you don't get these services, then you will be confused. There is no basic television service and attempts at getting news proved useless. Not going back at any price, and this one is very overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2019 by Michael Seguin - Guest Services, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Dave, Our sincerest apologies for our delay in responding to your review. This is not how we do business and is truly not a reflection of how we look after our guests. I am unsure how we missed your review and sincerely apologize for our late response. Truly, your concerns are important to us and our future guests. I have noted them and have passed it on to both our owner and our General Manager. I am very sorry your stay was not memorable and that we have missed the mark on making you comfortable here at Merrill House. Thank you very kindly for your review and for bring these concerns to our attention. We strive to make all our guests at Merrill House a memorable one. Kind Regards, Michael Seguin Guest Services
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aylesbury

Posted Aug 7, 2019
This property is a beautifully and sympathetically refurbished home. Set in great location near to the local town. Breakfast was scrumptious and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Free parking is available also on site.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2019 by Michael Seguin - Guest Services, Hotel Management
Our sincerest apologies for our delay in responding to your review. This is not how we like to do business and is truly not a reflection of how we look after our guests. I am unsure how we missed your review and sincerely apologize for our late response. Thank you very kindly for your review and we appreciate it. I will share with our staff your kind words. We strive to make all our guest at Merrill House a memorable one and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please visit us again. Kind Regards, Michael Seguin Guest Services
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2019
The staff were amazing, it felt like a home away from home. The room was bright, beautiful, clean and serene, although the food may be the best part, next to the hospitality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2019 by Michael Seguin - Guest Services, Hotel Management
Our sincerest apologies for our delay in responding to your review. This is not how we like to do business and is truly not a reflection of how we look after our guests. I am unsure how we missed your review and sincerely apologize for our late response. Thank you very kindly for your review and we appreciate it. We are very blessed to have Chef Sullivan and our amazing staff. We strive to make all our guest at Merrill House a memorable one and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please visit us again. Kind Regards, Michael Seguin Guest Services
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Jul 31, 2019 on Hotels
It’s a lovely place. The renovation is great, friendly staff, delicious food and very comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2019 by Michael Seguin - Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hi Fern, Our sincerest apologies for our delay in responding to your review. This is not how we like to do business and is truly not a reflection of how we look after our guests. I am unsure how we missed your review and sincerely apologize for our late response. Thank you very kindly for your review and we appreciate it. I will make Chef Sullivan and the staff aware of your kind words. We strive to make all our guest at Merrill House a memorable one and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please visit us again. Kind Regards, Michael Seguin Guest Services
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2019
The place is quite nice but it is a bit over priced to my taste.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2019 by Michael Seguin - Guest Services, Hotel Management
Our sincerest apologies for our delay in responding to your email. This is not how we like to do business and is truly not a reflection of how we look after our guests. I am unsure how we missed your review and sincerely apologize for our late response. I wish to thank you for your feed back in regards to your stay here at Merrill House. We strive to ensure all our guest have a memorable stay and truly take your thoughts into consideration which will be passed on to our Management team. Kind Regards, Michael - Guest Services