Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible first room, extremely disappointed.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
The initial room that we were given on Check in on Sunday October 1, rm# 05, will be evaluated separately. Overall rating, terrible. Hotel staff, she was not able to help us as she didn't have the authority to make changes. Room cleanliness, terrible, there was a visible layer of dust on all the surfaces. The upholstered chairs were dusty and dirty. The curtains to the sliding door and one window were hanging off the hooks. The window was not openable and the sliding door did not move smoothly on the track. The knobs to the dresser were lose and almost coming off. The bedside lamp and clock were not working. The bed had two huge indentation on it that were visible on entering the room. The bed mattresses was extremely lumpy and uncomfortable. The next morning we spoke to Claire at Guest Services and she was able to place us in another rm # 205, Quaker Lodge, for the same rate. That room was in keeping with a superior room. However, We were disappointed that Claire stated that she didn't have the authority to check on the the condition of the room, as it is the responsibility of the Housekeeping Supervisor . Claire did say that there have been issues with the housekeeping supervisor and asked us to send her a copy of the photographs that we showed her of the condition of the room. My wife and I were extremely disappointed with what was supposed to be a well deserved, long awaited break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Enjoyable Days

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Although it was late in the season we thought that the gardens, vineyard, shrubs could use a little more TLC.
Location: Great area and the wineries are our focus.
Very much enjoyed the facilities, the peaceful surroundings, the food and the service - great staff who took personal interest in us, Heather in particular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brampton, ON

It is a nice hotel close to Picton

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Everything you need is there, you also can take cooking lessons.
Cons: Nothing to improve
Location: The city of Picton is close, it has nice little stores and good restaurants. The beach is about 20 minutes away, and it is a nice country drive.
The staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean. There are two great restaurants on the property, both serve great food. It is close to everything, like shopping in the quaint city of Picton.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Good, but a little expensive

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Lot of space in the room
Cons: Maintenance could be ameliorated
Location: Good location for the sandbanks park and its beautiful beach.
Nice room, good facilities. Lot of space. But need a little more maintenance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Issues

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Was given the wrong room for what I paid. The staff working there at reception have no experience. After much waiting and arguing , blaming Expedia for putting g wrong descriptions , prices and pictures, we finally got an upgrade to the room that I originally paid extra for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal Can

Great food poor bed and room was musty

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Wood stay only in new section if I was going back. Will eat there anytime
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington Ontario

Close to our function in Cherry Valley

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Do not stay in room 11. It had a jacuzzi tub with a hand held shower. It was dangerous to climb into and I had to kneel to use shower head because the hose was short. Not a good experience. No refrigerator. This was in the older section. They have a newer area. Restaurant had same specials 2 nights in a row. Bar and restaurant on site. Overall it was a beautiful place and would come back but would stay in another room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds with lovely walking areas, Located back from the road so it is very quiet and peaceful.
Cons: Coffee maker did not work. Old heavy window in the room fell down and crushed my hand (pain!) Especially dangerous for children. That should be fixed.
Location: Perfect location in the heart of wine country. Near Regent Theatre and many vineyards, great shopping, great restaurants.
We had a wonderful time and will definitely return. Our room had a comfortable bed, really nice bathroom, free wifi, and a two person hot tub on our private veranda. Bathrobes were even provided. There are 2 great restaurants right on the property, one is fine dining (Amelia's Garden) and the other is a pub with live entertainment 5 nights a week. Our first day we went to a show at the nearby Regent Theatre then had dinner at Amelia's Garden. I had the catch of the day and my husband had the lamb. Both meals were absolutely delicious. There dessert menu looked inviting and I did want to order something but the waitress was a bit distracted and that didn't happen. It didn't look too busy but maybe they were short staffed that night. The next morning the included breakfast was also delicious and huge. The place was full and the waitresses were very busy but so happy, friendly, and attentive. They were truly exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to things we wanted to see

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Winneries
We booked the Waring house because it was close to things we wanted to see in the area. The Wading House was absolutly fabulous knowledgeable staff, frendly and efficient. Our meals were delicious served in a timely manner, good presentation and excelent value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, Ont.

Good Location

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location and charm.
Cons: Hand held shower difficult to manage in a very deep tub. Some minor touch ups advised. The room very crowded with two large wing back chairs.
Location: Visit the towns and vineyards.
Hotel is in a good location to travel around Prince Edward County. Hotel met expectations, after it had advised room booked had no walk in shower - only hand held. Pub and dining room convenient.