Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

was very quiet

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Spent a good amount of time working in my room enjoyed that it was quiet. Staff was very helpful and calm. Seemed to be a family run hotel. Could take more care in there appearance as this is the first thing a person sees. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by gm, Hotel Management
we are glad you enjoyed your room and stay. we are working on improving our appearance it just takes time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice room

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Drifters restaurant--fantastic food
Nice, confortable bed. Good breakfast. Good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by john, Hotel Management
Thank you we do have some great restaurants within walking distance. we have all new beds and they are great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

easy access

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Quiet
Location: Close to restaurants most within walking distance.
The Governor's Inn has easy access to the main highway. Good parking, friendly staff, clean rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by john, Hotel Management
thank you yes we have some great restaurants within walking distance
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rapid City

Bad motel

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Sheets didn't fit the king mattress so the popped off. Pool and hot tub very grungy looking. Carpet dirty. Unappetizing breakfast. Lumpy waffle mix. Cheap icky syrup. No butter, just fake. Overall a very poor choice to stay there and cost was 100.00.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by gm, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If you have any recomendations to make our breakfast better let us know. we enjoy hearing feed back from our guest.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Okay hotel close to the river.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Good location close to the park. Easy to find. Continental breakfast was okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
thanks for taking the time we appreciate any feed back. We have been trying new things out for our breakfast finding out what people like and dislike.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel room 136 needs some work

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Available, close to where I needed to go for business meetings.
Cons: Fix the above mentioned items.
Location: Excellent location.
The black plastic rubber at the bottom of the door has come off in the middle and it drags. The fan in the bathroom has signs of mold. The fire sprinkler head above the shower head shows signs of rust. The room is dark, only the overhead lights above the bed and the lights above the sink. Need an extra lamp near the other door.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by jp, Hotel Management
Glad you took time to review, housekeeping mention the door and that was fixed right away.we are waiting for more sprinkler heads and the fan was dusty but has been cleaned. thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Enjoyed my evening at the Governor's Inn. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2016 by john, Hotel Management
thank you for taking the time to comment and rate us. Hope you enjoyed the new beds and carpet we just put in. We are always trying to improve our guest stays. thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alpine, ca

Governor's Inn

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Very easy to find. Close to everything we needed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed steaks at Mad Mary's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2015 by john, Hotel Management
glad you enjoyed things thanks for taking the time to let us know how things went
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Rude Staff/Pleasant Staff

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: n/a
Cons: front desk service of certain staff members
Location: n/a
Hung up on by the front desk after asking about check-out and obtaining a receipt, I was told that was not possible because I booked through Expedia. When I questioned that, a staff member hung up on me. When I called again, someone else answered and the problem was solved immediately. Other than that, everything was ok, it's an average place and I was there during their busiest season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2015 by john, Hotel Management
sorry about the attitude i will do some checking at the desk thanks for taking the time to let me know
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Good amenities and spacious room

Posted Jul 26, 2015
After a long day in the hot sun riding motorcycle I was very happy to arrive to a spacious clean air conditioned room. We had a room that had an outside door as well which came in handy. Hottub and pool were great at the end of the day, coffee in the room wonderful, breakfast omlettes and burrito in the morning, and extra towel pieces for wiping down the bike. Within walking distance to the river and several restaurants. Check out the American Legion on the river with a nice deck. Good price and useful amenities. We would stay there again easily.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2015 by john, Hotel Management
Glad you like it and hope to see you again