Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely historic hotel on the Midlands Meander

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, nice hotel
Cons: Reliable water supply
Lovely hotel with quite a nice restaurant and very well priced meals and drinks. Major issue is that for two of the three nights there, we had no water. Apparently the local council do not supply reliable water access for some parts of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Yolanda

Great Hotel.

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in the Midlands.
4 out of 5
by peter

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Nice rooms and friendly staff. No lift so you have to carry luggage upstairs but its only one flight.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slightly unhappy

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
For a four star I expect my luggage to be carried to my room and get room service when I need it.Not to be charged R55.00 for a bucket of ice to be brought to my room. I think I got far better from the 3 stars like Manhattan Hotel in Pretoria.
4 out of 5
by justin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, UK

Lovely hotel close to Pietermaritzburg.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Amazing staff, very welcoming. The hotel was very clean and tidy and the staff were also very helpful and polite. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The hotel was situated in a lovely area with plenty to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Melinda, Hotel Management
Dear Graham, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Hilton through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a VALUED GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon! Sincerely, MELINDA NAKEDI Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
4 out of 5
by Neil

Great Hotel to stay

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was great it is a pity the bathroom is so small and compact and only has a shower while the room was huge. Very cramped bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Neil, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding this issue. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will share your message appropriately within the organization. Sincerely, MELINDA NAKEDI Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
1 out of 5
by Chandru

Sleepless in Hilton (Protea)

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
The music from their bar area didn't stop until after midnight making it very difficult to get to sleep. Was then woken early in the morning (6am) by the most hideous shrieking sound emanating from their water pipes. Another room had activated their shower which created this hideous noise. Was the most uncomfortable night I have spent at any establishment in many years.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

No elevator and funny smell

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Orbitz
I was placed on an upper floor with tons of luggage and no elevator. Not a big deal if you where warned ahead of time. The hotel has an old musky smell. Staff was nice and rooms were clean and spacious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, comfortable and clean rooms.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: rooms are clean and comfortable
Cons: the food at the restaurant during dinner was terrible, and the steak we had was un-edible and we returned it.
Location: great coffee shop across from the hotel called Ground coffee, and a door thai restaurant called taste of thai nearby.
Good hotel, comfortable and clean rooms. Food at the restaurant for dinner was terrible. Your best option would be to go to restaurant near by in Hilton, just a few minutes away. Breakfast was good.