Ratings based on 678 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana.

Absolutely neat and affordable place to stay.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
It was awesome. Hotel manager Jay was very helpful. It was a cold winter night but heater was working fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pikesville, md

Posted Feb 13, 2017
I had a great weekend at the Howard Johnson. I will definitely stay there again. The room was nice and cozy. I loved the walk-in shower. The bed was comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the beltway.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
This was my business trip. I leave in the morning and come back at night for sleeping. I don't use any of the amenities. I don't think they have any. Breakfast was included.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The room was clean very confortable bed
Cons: Customer service
Location: there were a lot of stores and restaurants
It was ok but the staff could not process my information from AARP which they were disturbing me during my stay even though I paid for my room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is Howard Johnson's?

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Bullet proof window at check-in Marijuana permitting from worn out hallway rugs Multiple burn marks on bedsheets Stained furniture falling apart Dirty windows Watered down juice/coffee, cereal and bread at "continental breakfast"
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore MD

The staff was not nice this time.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: I like the customer service
Cons: your staff at the hotel need courtoisy, and also give gratification to your regular customers
I must say the customer service was very helpful to me. firstly I called the hotel to book my room, and I as told there was no vacancy, then I turned to Expedia online booking, I was able to book a room. I was given a confirmation number in order to be allowed to stay in the hotel, still the staff had turned me down, saying there is no space, and it was very cold outside less than 30 degree in Baltimore that night. The staff at the hotel made it so hard for me that night. But finally they gave us an accomodation ( room: 204 ), and we settled for the night. I must say the price was also too high for a regular customer that I am. Thank you for your consideration.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

(Respect) you never know who you're speaking to!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The hotel Manager/ Owner of the hotel was/is very rude, dispectful, and did not address any concerns of ours. All the rooms has cigarette burns in the sheets, non smoking clearly have been smoked in, bad lighting in room. His customers base living there is very sceptical! (Example): drug dealers hanging in the hall, weed smoking in the halls, looks like prostitution is occurring, and etc.... (We left and never returning)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a fan

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
The furniture is very old and wobbly. There was a bug that bit my shoulder and its swollen and red.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Weekend at HJ Pikesville

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Hotel shows age and lack of upkeep. Free "Breakfast" offers a narrow selection.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ups and Downs hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
I travel often and quite frequently stay at low priced hotels. I don't expect much but this hotel didn't even met what meager expectations I had. Check in was unpleasant as the employee at the counter barely spoke to me and instead just kind of tossed my license and other paperwork around when I handed it to him. As I made my way to my room, I couldn't help but notice large pieces of wall paperwork just falling off the walls of the hallway exposing a tremendous amount of mold underneath. That made me feel slightly uneasy, but onto the room. The room wasn't too bad compared to others I have stayed in. It was roomy, which was good, and besides the fact that the air conditioner and a few other items in the room looked like they hadn't been cleaned in three decades everything else looked alright. The bed was fairly comfy but then again I'm not that picky. Now some positives. Plenty of parking. The checkout staff in the morning was real personable and friendly, A+ rating for them. The price was good.