Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016
My second time there in 15 years. Rooms upgraded and comfortable. Had to change rooms because of faulty air-conditioning though. Grounds and restaurant are excellent. Game park very nice and guides knowledgeable and courteous. Tour jeep very good. A bit pricey but worth it. Check out Sun City nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington New Zealand

Fantastic stay at Bukabung!!!

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Everything - especially the personal touch and the passion of the staff
Cons: Nothing
Words can not explain our wonderful experience at Bukabung!!! We travel a lot and stay in lodges and hotels alll over the globe and Bukabung rates among our top 5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney

BAKUBUNG ABOVE EXCELLENT

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: BAKUBUNG is a three hour approximate drive from Johannesburg Airport. There are numerous activities available Game Drives daily,also Sun City.
The service from hotel staff could not be faulted, as with our our accomodation and facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Wonderful place - can't wait to go back! Perfect place to stay to experience and enjoy Pilanesberg Nat'l Park. Extra thanks to game driver tour operator Eugene, whose expert navigation of the park and commentary ensured that we not only saw many animals, but understood what we were seeing. Outstanding!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, but not at all worth it.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Cons: Communication beforehand regarding what is included and offered, the times, etc.
Visiting in July. The guided tour times were different than posted, also there was no follow up after booking regarding any of the guided safaris - no information as to what times they are operating, etc. If you have your own car, go on your own. Not worth the staff cattle drive safari. Food was very disappointing on the dinner buffet, and because there were several groups in the hotel, we had to eat outside. The Saturday braai was the most disappointing of all. We were told to be in the lobby for pick up at 6:20. They showed at 7. We were the last few there, and got terrible seating, terrible service, and had an HOUR to try and squeeze in eating with the buffet lines, finishing the wine we ordered, and trying to relax in any manner. Not worth the cost. Not at all. Very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Great location, excellent food. We really enjoyed the bush braai after our game drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by George, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your kind feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our excellent food and the bush braai expereience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards George Mokotedi Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff UK

Fantastic Game Lodge

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Didnt check anything else out but would go back and do a Hot Air Balloon experience and a Bush BBQ. All can be arranged through the Wildlife Centre.
We upgraded to an executive room and had a fantastic ground floor room with un interrupted views to the watering hole .Room No.314. Well worth the extra. We saw monkeys, wilderbeast and warthogs around the lodge, but not much else, except for butterflies and a few birds. Lovely large outdoor pool area, water very cold though. We were half board and the food was excellent. Drinks very reasonable. We had 2 game drives included, one at 6.am and one at 4pm. We saw much more on the 6.00am drive, elephant, rhino, giraffe and many more, and close up too. The 4pm drive was very interesting but didn't see anywhere near the amount of animals, so worth getting up early. Cannot fault the Game Lodge and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Lovely setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

One of the best Safari Lodge

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Location, Staff, Bed & Breakfast package.
Cons: The food. It is good but buffet only (breakfast and dinner).
Location: This place is to do the Safari only. Sun City no thank you.
We spent two nights here. Arrived from Cape Town to Lanseria Int.l Airport and rent a car (2 hours drive). The Lodge is wonderful. Nice staff, nice rooms, it is literally inside the Pilanesberg Park. We were 2 adults and 2 kids. For each night there is one dinner, one breakfast and one safari included. We did one evening safari and one morning safari. Both wonderful. Swimming pool is small but very nice. This place is malaria free, it is smaller than Kruger but we were so lucky and saw 4 of big 5: Elephant, Rhino, Lion and Buffalo. We did not see the Leopard but the Cheetah instead.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No upgrade. Ammenity a mistery.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Installations old. Water in faucet had a smell, humidity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Great game reserve experience

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Rustic setting, well laid out with excellent facilities.
Cons: Would have liked an a la carte option for evening meals at least some nights.
Location: Location is superb, close to Johannesburg, not in a malaria zone so no need for malaria prophylaxis. Also adjacent to Sun City with golf courses.
Good hotel/bush lodge with great breakfasts and good buffet dinners at night. Excellent location adjacent Sun City and with great game drives, morning and evening for big game viewing. Highly recommended. During our stay we saw all the big five with exception of cheetahs, close up in their natural habitat. Game guides were all excellent and knowledgeable.