Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The most amazing experience in the most amazing accommodations EVER!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Monicad, Hotel Management
Dear Jamey, Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate all feedback received. I am delighted to see that you were able to have such a wonderful time with us in the tranquility of the bush and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung soon. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Amazing Safari experience!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Wonderful Hotel, wonderful stay, will recommend to all. We were a big group and we were taken care of right away! Food was covered with great hospitality. Room service was excellent, everything was perfect! Their safari was alao truly asventurous. We saw all big 5 on the 1st safari itself! Definately recommend this hotel to all!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Monica, Hotel Management
Dear Dhru, Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience with us. I am delighted to see that you were able to have such a wonderful time with us and that you were lucky enough to see all Big 5 on your first game drive. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung soon. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by AJ

Great family breakaway

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
We went to Bakubung for a family breakaway with our 3 kids. Bakubung is a very comfortable lodge inside Pilanesberg Reserve. Game drives were excellent, with very knowledgeable guides. Saw all of the big cats in a matter of 2 days. Food was great, service was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017
Dear AJ, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We appreciate all feedback received from our guests. I am delighted to hear that you were able to thoroughly enjoy our game drives and that our guides were able to impart with you their knowledge. Our Chef is also elated to hear that you enjoyed our food. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung for yet another memorable bush experience. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

A little luxury in the bush

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Lastminute
The hotel stay was lovely and the included game drive was a bonus. The rooms were very comfor table and the food was sumptuous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Monica, Hotel Management
Dear Janet. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate all feedback received from our esteemed guests. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our food and that you found our rooms to be comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung in the near future. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely bush lodge

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Had some maintenance issues with room but were resolved by management and I was given complimentary spa treatment for my troubles. Great location. Great comfort. Great variety and quality of food. I recommend the bush dinner. Hotel a little noisier than I expected for quiet bush lodge, given layout of hotel and conference groups.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Monica, Hotel Management
Dear Exp traveller, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend my sincere apologies once again for the maintenance issues experienced. I can assure you that this is not our standard and our Maintenance Manager has been made aware and will be taking the necessary corrective action. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Spa treatment as well as the bush braai. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung in the near future. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by Carole

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel rooms are small and very dark. We specifically asked for a room on the ground floor but they gave us one on the first floor (my husband is very frail and struggles to get upstairs)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017
Dear Carole. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were not given a ground floor room as per your request. The Front Office Manager has been made aware of your comment and will be taking the necessary corrective action. I truly hope you and your husband were able to enjoy the other aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung in the near future. Warm regards
4 out of 5
by Irina

Nice weekend away close to Johannesburg

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice weekend away with family, friendly staff and very helpful. Very good food around the thematic evenings organised by the hotel. Lots of activities as well for the kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017
Dear Irina, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us on Expedia. It is always such a pleasure to receive such amazing feedback from our guests. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us as well as our varied themed buffets. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung in the near future. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel, staff and location

Posted May 28, 2017
The hotel was amazing!!! The staff are fantastic, the food was an amazing selection including Kudu!!! And the location was perfect. The best part was waking early morning and sitting on the lawn outside our room watching over the water hole watching it come to life with wildlife!!! The night safari was fantastic. Well apart from the rudest Indian people that would not be quiet when stopping to view the animals. The tour guides and tourists were all yelling at them to shut up. I highly recommend not getting on the truck with any Indian people as they were so rude and would not be quiet. Zac was a great game driver!! The other thing is Expedia advised the check in for this hotel was 4pm. However check in is at 2pm and the night safari starts at 3:30pm so we only just made it on the night safari because of the amazingly helpful staff. Will definitely come back and recommend to everyone!!!! Well worth the money which includes any amazing breakfast, dinner and game drive!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by MonicadaE, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Sevelj, Thank you for taking the time provide us with this amazing feedback. We appreciate all feedback received from our esteemed guests and are elated to hear that you had such a phenomenal stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the experience you had with the other guests on the game drive, as much as our Rangers try, there is unfortunately only so much they can do. I hope that this did not completely ruin your game drive. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung Bush Lodge in the near future. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by Don from Randburg

Long weekend at Bakubung

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
very nice,attitude of staff a bit dissapointing
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017
Dear Don,' Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the manner in which the staff carried themselves. This is definatley not the standard of Bakubung and all senior management will be made aware, in order to address the issue at hand. We do hope to welcome you back warmly to Bakubung in the near future. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for giving us such an amazing review on Expedia. I am delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with such a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung in the near future. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager